"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller - cover

The Moscow Sleepers - A Liz Carlyle Thriller

Stella Rimington

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

For fans of Homeland and The Night Manager, the latest thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling espionage series sees Liz Carlyle investigating a sinister Russian plot. 
 
A Russian immigrant lies dying in a hospice in upstate Vermont. When a stranger visits, claiming to be a childhood friend, the FBI is alerted and news quickly travels to MI5 in London. 
 
Liz Carlyle and her colleague Peggy Kinsolving are already knee-deep in conspiracies, and as they unravel the events that landed the man in the hospital, Liz learns of a network of Russians and their plot to undermine the German government. Liz and Peggy set out to locate and stop this insidious network, traveling the world from Montreal to Moscow.  
 
The latest expertly plotted thriller in Stella Rimington's bestselling series, The Moscow Sleepers is a white-knuckle ride through the dark underbelly of international intelligence, simmering political animosities, and global espionage.

Other books that might interest you

  • Goodbye Janette - cover

    Goodbye Janette

    Harold Robbins

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    A dynasty of women triumphs in the fiercely male-dominated world of high fashion amid the ruins of war. A daughter honors her mother’s ultimate sacrifice—by becoming a ruthless businesswoman who will stop at nothing to raise high her family’s name. Another daughter seeks to flee the toxic legacy of her family and live in peace. And both daughters have a date with destiny in a vault filled with Nazi gold… treasure that will alter the course of both their lives… 
    Goodbye, Janette is a late masterpiece by Harold Robbins, America’s most commercially successful and era-defining author of pulp fiction. The creator of erotic and ferocious turbocharged narratives of the soul-stricken rich and famous, Harold Robbins was in his day a close runner-up to Shakespeare and the Bible in numbers of books sold. Today, his ability to create an unstoppable, mesmeric tale—someone famously said about him, “In Harold’s books, the pages turn your fingers”—pushes him to the front ranks of pop novelists as new generations discover his awesome power. 
    Epic and intimate, moving from the icy nighttime streets of the Nazi occupation to the decadent beaches of St. Tropez, from the showrooms of Manhattan to the runways of Paris, Goodbye, Janette is a hypnotically gripping, mythic family saga of the power of blood to bind, to oppress, and finally to set free. Full of the shocking U-turns and unexpected revelations that make Harold Robbins a master storyteller, Goodbye, Janette transports the reader to a chic, dreamlike world where everyone wants an all-access pass… but the penalties for staying may be severe.
    Show book
  • Conan Doyle's Wide World - Sherlock Holmes and Beyond - cover

    Conan Doyle's Wide World -...

    Andrew Lycett

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With fascinating extracts from his own writings, this book reveals the captivating travels and adventures of Arthur Conan Doyle - the creator of Sherlock Holmes. 
     
    Arthur Conan Doyle was not simply the creator of the world's greatest detective; he was also an intrepid traveler and extraordinary travel writer. His descriptions of his journeys and adventures--which took him to the Arctic and the Alps, throughout Africa, Australia and North America, and across every ocean in between--are full of insight, humor and exceptional evocations of place. Until now, these captivating travelogues have never been gathered together. In this ground-breaking book, Andrew Lycett, Conan Doyle's celebrated biographer, collects and annotates the best of his writings from around the world, which illuminate not just the places he visited, but the man himself.
    Show book
  • Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 2) - cover

    Death and a Dog (A Lacey Doyle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    DEATH AND A DOG (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 2) is book two in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, has made a drastic change: she has walked away from the fast life of New York City and settled down in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Spring is in the air. With last month’s murder mystery behind her, a new best friend in her English shepherd, and a budding relationship with the chef across the street, it seems like everything’s finally settling into place. Lacey is so excited for her first major auction, especially when a valuable, mystery artifact enters her catalogue.
    
    All seems to go without a hitch, until two mysterious bidders arrive from out of town—and one of them winds up dead.
    
    With the small village plunged into chaos, and with the reputation of her business at stake, can Lacey and her trusty dog partner solve the crime and restore her name?
    
    Book #3 in the series—CRIME IN THE CAFE—is also available for preorder!
    Show book
  • The Geneva Trap - A Liz Carlyle novel - cover

    The Geneva Trap - A Liz Carlyle...

    Stella Rimington

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    At a tracking station in Virginia, U.S. Navy officers watch in horror as  one of their communications satellites plummets into the Indian Ocean  and panic spreads through the British and American intelligence  services. 
     
    When a Russian intelligence officer approaches MI5 with  vital information about the cyber sabotage, he refuses to talk to  anyone but Liz Carlyle. But who is he, and how is he connected to Liz? 
     
    Is  this a Russian plot to disable the West's defenses? Or is the threat  coming from elsewhere? As Liz and her team search for a mole inside the  Ministry of Defense, the trail takes them from Geneva, to Marseilles,  and to Korea in a race against time to stop the Cold War from heating  up.
    Show book
  • Crime in the Café (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 3) - cover

    Crime in the Café (A Lacey Doyle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    "Very entertaining. I highly recommend this book to the permanent library of any reader that appreciates a very well written mystery, with some twists and an intelligent plot. You will not be disappointed. Excellent way to spend a cold weekend!"
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (regarding Murder in the Manor) 
    
    CRIME IN THE CAFE (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 3) is book three in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, has made a drastic change: she has walked away from the fast life of New York City and settled down in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Summer is nearly here, and Lacey has fallen more in love with the town and with her chef boyfriend. She has even made a best friend: the new owner of a local B&B. And when her friend needs her services for the decoration of her inn, buying nearly everything in Lacey’s antique shop, her business even gets an extra boost.
    
    Everything’s going perfectly—until someone mysteriously dies in her friend’s new B&B.
    
    Their village turned upside down and her new friend’s livelihood now in jeopardy, it’s up to Lacey and her dog to get to the bottom of the mystery.
    
    Book #4 in the series will be available soon!
    Show book
  • The Execution of Sherlock Holmes - And Other New Adventures of the Great Detective - cover

    The Execution of Sherlock Holmes...

    Donald Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Drugged, manacled, condemned to a dank cell in the depths of London’s infamous Newgate prison, the world’s greatest literary detective awaits execution by a vengeful crew of formidable enemies. Escape is impossible; death, a certainty. But not for Sherlock Holmes, who, in a stunning display of intellect and derring-do, will elude his hangman’s noose and live to fiddle, spy, and ratiocinate another day.
    Show book