Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold murder mystery - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Out Comes the Evil - A Cotswold murder mystery

Cameron Stella

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Second in the traditional British mystery series featuring rural inn owner and amateur sleuth Alex Duggins: an intriguing departure for bestselling romantic suspense author Stella Cameron.

Once again Alex Duggins and her veterinarian friend Tony Harrison are thrown into a major murder investigation. An almost fresh body is discovered in a disused well among the ruins of a 14th-century manor house … the motive for the killing a baffling mystery. The victim was a widow who had lived quietly in the picturesque Cotswolds village of Folly-on-Weir for the past ten years. Who on earth could want her dead, and by such brutal means?

As rumour and speculation engulf the town, another woman is attacked – and Alex  discovers that behind a tranquil face lurks a cunning and vengeful mind. Despite warnings from the police to stop interfering, she finds herself in the sights of a ruthless killer who has decided she knows too much … 
 
The Alex Duggins series will appeal to fans of Louise Penny and Elizabeth George.

Other books that might interest you

  • Jack Taggart Mysteries 9-Book Bundle - Art and Murder The Benefactor Corporate Asset and 6 more - cover

    Jack Taggart Mysteries 9-Book...

    Don Easton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All nine books of the Jack Taggart Mystery series are gathered together in this bundle, including the latest mystery, Art and Murder. 
     
    
    
    “Ripped from the headlines … Easton, an ex-Mountie, knows his police work.” 
    
    — Globe and Mail 
     
     
    
    “One of the best hard-nosed series in Canada.” 
    
    — Hamilton Spectator 
     
     
    
    “Swift action, sudden violence and compassion told in a style that keeps you turning the pages. Easton is a writer at the top of his game.”  
    
    — Hamilton Spectator 
     
     
    
    “Filled with moments of sheer terror that will keep the readers turning pages faster and faster as it builds.” 
    
    — Bookgasm.com 
     
     
    
    Includes: 
     
    
    
    Art and Murder — Jack Taggart Mystery #9 (NEW!) 
    
    Undercover operative Jack Taggart of the RCMP is on a mission to find the murderer of a fellow officer. Posing as a pimp, he infiltrates an international crime syndicate led by a mysterious figure known only as the Ringmaster. His plan to find the killer is going well … until the killer IDs him first. 
     
    
    
    The Benefactor — Jack Taggart Mystery #8 
    
    Jack Taggart finds himself involved with an Asian organized crime syndicate when he begins investigating a fatal hit-and-run accident. Unbeknownst to Taggart, the murder was arranged at the request of a rogue Chinese spy, who has drawn up a deadly plan to hide his trail. 
     
    
    
    Corporate Asset — Jack Taggart Mystery #7 
    
    Undercover operative Taggart descends into a world of white-collar crime and murder. Setting himself up as bait to be murdered, Taggart races against time to stop a rapist and catch a serial killer. 
     
    
    
    And 6 more Jack Taggart titles: 
    
    Birds of a Feather — Jack Taggart Mystery #6 
    
    Dead Ends — Jack Taggart Mystery #5 
    
    Samurai Code — Jack Taggart Mystery #4 
    
    Angel in the Full Moon — Jack Taggart Mystery #3 
    
    Above Ground — Jack Taggart Mystery #2 
    
    Loose Ends — Jack Taggart Mystery #1
    Show book
  • The Good Wife - cover

    The Good Wife

    Jane A. Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    A chilling murder ruins a fun day at the races in the fifth historical mystery featuring Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone.  
    1929. Police surgeon Dr Clive Mason is devastated when his wife Martha is found dead in an empty horsebox at Southwell Races, her handbag stolen. The Masons were enjoying a day out at the races with their friends, Dr Ephraim Phillips and his wife Nora, when Martha went to speak to a face she recognized in a crowd - and disappeared.  
    As Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone and Sergeant Mickey Hitchens investigate, it's clear this wasn't a robbery gone tragically wrong - Martha was deliberately murdered. Why did the life of this well-respected, popular member of the community meet such a tragic end? Henry and Mickey soon learn that the Masons' marriage was not what it seemed, and make a number of shocking discoveries. Who was Martha Mason, and what secrets was she hiding?
    Show book
  • Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone Thriller—Book 4) - cover

    Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone...

    Jack Mars

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    “One of the best thrillers I have read this year. The plot is intelligent and will keep you hooked from the beginning. The author did a superb job creating a set of characters who are fully developed and very much enjoyable. I can hardly wait for the sequel.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Any Means Necessary)
    
    OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling Luke Stone thriller series, which begins with ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1)!
    
    A small arsenal of U.S. nuclear weapons are stolen from a NATO base in Europe. The world scrambles to figure out who the culprits are and what their target is—and to stop them before they unleash hell on humanity.
    
    With only hours left before it is too late, the President has no choice but to call in Luke Stone, the former head of an elite FBI para-military team. Finally getting his life back in order, and with devastating news on his own family front, Luke does not want the job. But with the newly elected female President desperate for his help, he realizes he cannot turn his back on her.
    
    In the action-packed, international cat-and-mouse chase that follows, Luke, Ed and his former team will have to be more daring, and break more rules, than ever before. With the fate of the world at stake, Luke heads into the murky fog of war and espionage, and discovers the culprit is not who he thinks it is after all.
    
    A political thriller with non-stop action, dramatic international settings and heart-pounding suspense, OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling and critically-acclaimed Luke Stone series, an explosive new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #5 in the Luke Stone series will be available soon.
    Show book
  • Sacred Clowns - cover

    Sacred Clowns

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    During a kachina ceremony at the Tano Pueblo, the antics of a dancing koshare fill the air with tension. Moments later, the clown is found bludgeoned to death, in the same manner a reservation schoolteacher was killed only days before. 
    Officer Jim Chee and Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn believe that answers lie in the sacred clown's final cryptic message to the Tano people. But to decipher it, the two Navajo policemen may have to delve into closely guarded tribal secrets—on a sinister trail of blood that links a runaway, a holy artifact, corrupt Indian traders, and a pair of dead bodies.
    Show book
  • Suffer the Little Children - cover

    Suffer the Little Children

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An assault on a pediatrician reveals a web of corruption and deception in the New York Times–bestselling, Silver Dagger Award–winning series.   When Commissario Brunetti is summoned in the middle of the night to the hospital bed of a senior pediatrician, he is confronted with more questions than answers. Three men—a young Carabiniere captain and two privates from out of town—have burst into the doctor’s apartment in the middle of the night, attacked him, and taken away his eighteen-month-old baby boy.   What could have motivated an assault by the forces of the state so violent it has left the doctor mute? Who would have authorized such an alarming operation? At the same time, Brunetti’s colleague Inspector Vianello discovers a moneymaking scam between pharmacists and doctors in the city. But it appears as if one of the pharmacists is after more than money . . .   This is a smart, suspenseful novel in the series set in a beautifully realized Venice, a glorious city seething with small-town vice.   “Leon deserves her place not only with the finest international crime writers (Michael Dibdin and Henning Mankell, for example) but also with literary novelists who explore the agonies of the everyday (Margaret Drabble and Anne Tyler, among others).” —Booklist
    Show book
  • The Seventh Link: An English village cosy featuring The Colonel - cover

    The Seventh Link: An English...

    Margaret Mayhew

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The village of Frog End may be peaceful, but that doesn't mean that the Colonel’s life there is quiet – not with his friendly but nosy neighbour Naomi, desperate to know what he’s keeping in his new shed; the curious Miss Butler, who tracks his every move with her German U-boat captain’s binoculars; and the attentions of the local vicar, who’s keen to involve him in church affairs. That’s not forgetting the demands of the aloof, imperious cat Thursday, who seems to have adopted the Colonel.So the Colonel is pleased when his old friend Geoffrey Cheetham invites him up to the village of Buckby for the weekend, to coincide with a RAF reunion event. After depositing an outraged Thursday at the Cat Heaven cattery, he drives up, and meets his fellow guests at the Cheethams’ B&B: including a Lancaster bomber crew, reunited for the first time. But everything is not as it seems, and the Colonel finds himself taking on the reluctant role of sleuth once more when tragedy strikes . . .
    Show book