As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Generation Game - The Legend Press Collection - cover

The Generation Game - The Legend Press Collection

Sophie Duffy

Publisher: Legend Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'A brave, bold, rich, amusing, engaging novel', Hello Magazine 
Philippa Smith is in her forties and has a beautiful newborn baby girl. She also has no husband, and nowhere to turn. So she turns to the only place she knows: the beginning. 
Retracing her life, she confronts the daily obstacles that shaped her very existence. From the tragic events of her childhood abandonment, to the astonishing accomplishments of those close to her, Philippa learns of the sacrifices others chose to make, and the outcome of buried secrets. 
Philippa discovers a celebration of life, love, and the Golden era of television. A reflection of everyday people, in not so everyday situations. 
What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
'Sophie Duffy has written a powerful first novel & shows huge promise.' Katie Fforde 
'A warm, moving, wonderful read.' Wendy Holden 
'An extraordinary story...A born storyteller with a gift for characterisation, she writes with warmth, lovely earthy detail and a pathos which keeps a lump lodged in the throat...echoes of Victoria Wood.' The Daily Mail 
'Sophie Duffy is a talent to be reckoned with. She writes with empathy, clarity and huge skill. Read The Generation Game and enjoy!' Margaret Graham 
'A brave, bold, warm, rich, amusing, engaging novel which sits well alongside more established authors like Kate Atkinson's Behind the Scenes at the Museum.' Hello Magazine 
'Deftly written, very moving.' The Bookbag 
'This is a beautifully written book... The characters are quite simply brilliant.' Vanity Case Books

Other books that might interest you

  • Only the River - A Novel - cover

    Only the River - A Novel

    Anne Raeff

    • 0
    • 20
    • 1
    For fans of sweeping historical and family sagas like those by Michael Ondaatje, Sarah Blake, or Claire Lombardo's recent debut, The Most Fun We've Ever Had, as well as for fans of Anthony Marra or Anthony Doerr, and fans of Jewish historical fiction
    Anne Raeff tells her story not in linear time, but instead by weaving into her chapters the different families' generations, exploring the parallels and echoes between them; the structure is ambitious, and the award-winning author pulls it off
    Raeff always writes about exiles in her fiction, beginning with the Flannery O'Connor Award-winning story collection The Jungle Around Us. In Only the River, this theme becomes deeply personal, as Raeff draws from aspects of her own grandparents' history of fleeing Vienna
    A compelling, engrossing read perfect for book clubs, with moving characters who charm, complicated family relationships (including among mothers and their children, siblings, and second families rebuilding after the loss of their first), and vivid settings that range from the Soviet Union to a remote riverside village in Nicaragua, to New York City
    Raeff's fiction so brilliantly reads like real experience, lyrically, intimately attentive to the wide variety of lives at hand: hers are often queer characters, mixed race characters, New Yorkers who move back and forth between English and Spanish; they are people the reader quickly feels at home with, swept up in their worlds
    In the 1930s and 1940s, not all Jews fled the persecution of the Nazis to North America from Europe; instead, some Jews landed in Central and South America first. Only the River follows the reverberations of one Jewish family's flight to Nicaruagua, before they move on to Manhattan. 
    Raeff lives in the Bay Area, CA
    Acquired by Counterpoint editor in chief, Dan Smetanka
    
     
    Bookseller Praise for Only the River
    
     
    "This book delighted me by both its elegance and its excellence. The story begins and ends with Pepa, whose doctor parents escaped Nazi persecution and fled with her to Nicaragua. As a teen, she flourished and fell in love with Guillermo, only to be uprooted again to New York. Over the ensuing years, their family's lives continue to entwine with neither Pepa nor Guillermo knowing all that the reader knows. Though the book is only three hundred pages, it's a feast." —Susan Buschmann, Anderson's Bookshop (Naperville, IL)
    
     
    "Spanning the world from Vienna to Nicaragua to New York, Only the River is a love story, and a story of revolution, as well as what happens when a family moves to avoid trouble but ends up causing pain and anger. I felt for Pepa—being moved around without her consent and losing the young love of her life. The side story of her parents’ attempts to rid the small town of El Castillo of the yellow fever plaguing the area near San Juan River was insightful and went a ways toward forgiving them for taking Pepa away from her love. This story is focused on family trials as well as current world affairs. I learned a lot and you will, too, while you enjoy the skill and insight displayed by this award-winning author." —Linda Bond, Auntie's Bookstore (Spokane, WA)
    
     
    "Loved it!" —Anne Holman, The King's English Bookshop (Salt Lake City, UT)
    Show book
  • The Procession - cover

    The Procession

    Kahlil Gibran

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A collection of poetry by Kahlil Gibran, Eastern literature’s most prolific thinker and the author of The Prophet, one of the most renowned books of the last century. Kahlil Gibran’s reflections on the wistful beauty, lofty majesty, and abiding peace of Eastern wisdom revolutionized Arab literature. This collection of dramatic poems uses the dialogue between age and youth as a platform to discuss deep subjects such as freedom, death, and the eternal soul. From “Of Life and Sorrow” to “Of Science and Knowledge,” Gibran’s vision transcends boundaries of religion and culture, finding beauty and wisdom in the universal struggles of everyday life.
    Show book
  • The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue Hunter Novel - cover

    The Immortal Hunter - A Rogue...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    Even vampires need a vacation. But Decker Argeneau's ends abruptly when he's asked to help hunt the group of rogue vampires targeting mortals -- one that might include a defector in his own family. Before he can worry about that, though, he's got to rescue the latest victim. It's all part of the job, including taking a bullet for a beautiful doctor. 
    Dr. Danielle McGill doesn't know if she can trust the man who just saved her life. There are too many questions, such as what is the secret organization he says he's part of, and why do his wounds hardly bleed? However, with her sister in the hands of some dangerous men, she doesn't have much choice but to trust him. 
    Except now Decker's talking about life mates and awakening a passion that's taking Dani beyond anything she's ever known. Being undead may not be half-bad...especially if it means spending forever with a man who would love her with his mind, body, and immortal soul.
    Show book
  • A Melanie Dickerson Collection II - The Silent Songbird and The Noble Servant - cover

    A Melanie Dickerson Collection...

    Melanie Dickerson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Two novels from New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson are now available in a low-priced, one-volume e-collection! 
    The Silent Songbird 
    Evangeline is gifted with a heavenly voice, but she is trapped in a sinister betrothal until she embarks on a daring escape and meets brave Westley le Wyse. Can he help her discover the freedom to sing again? More than Evangeline’s future is at stake as she finds herself entangled in a web of intrigue that threatens England’s monarchy. Should she give herself up to protect the only person who cares about her? If she does, who will save the king from a plot to steal his throne? 
    The Noble Servant 
    Magdalen lost everything to the scheme of an evil servant. When a handsome shepherd befriends her, Magdalen and the shepherd uncover a sinister plot. She might just gain what she’s always wanted . . .if she makes it in time. New York Times bestselling author Melanie Dickerson beautifully re-imagines The Goose Girl by the Brothers Grimm into a medieval tale of adventure, loss, and love.
    Show book
  • Vampires Are Forever - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampires Are Forever - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 16
    • 0
    Inez Urso is beginning to have her doubts. Her business associate Thomas Argeneau has some interesting traits, like an allergic reaction to the sun, excellent night vision, and not much of an appetite for food. And to top it all off, he just tried to bite her neck . . . but maybe that was a sign of passion. If so, she'd be happy to experience more, despite her determination not to mix business with pleasure. 
    Well, if not forever, at least two hundred years. Inez is the most beautiful woman he's seen in centuries. Those luscious lips, seductive curves, and her elegant neck . . . he just couldn't resist the temptation of one little bite. Now Thomas will do anything to convince her that only an immortal like him can satisfy her all night long . . .
    Show book
  • The Queen of the Tearling - A Novel - cover

    The Queen of the Tearling - A Novel

    Erika Johansen

    • 12
    • 43
    • 0
    “Call it The Hunger Games of Thrones. Erika Johansen’s debut novel is a genre mashup: medieval fantasy meets dystopian future. . . . The setting, combined with Johansen’s deft hand with character and plotting, really does work. . . . An addictive and enjoyable adventure. . . . The Tear is just as easy to get sucked into as Westeros or Hogwarts or Panem.” —USA Today 
     
    Magic, adventure, mystery, and romance combine in this epic debut in which a young princess must reclaim her dead mother’s throne, learn to be a ruler—and defeat the Red Queen, a powerful and malevolent sorceress determined to destroy her. 
     
    On her nineteenth birthday, Princess Kelsea Raleigh Glynn, raised in exile, sets out on a perilous journey back to the castle of her birth to ascend her rightful throne. Plain and serious, a girl who loves books and learning, Kelsea bears little resemblance to her mother, the vain and frivolous Queen Elyssa. But though she may be inexperienced and sheltered, Kelsea is not defenseless: Around her neck hangs the Tearling sapphire, a jewel of immense magical power; and accompanying her is the Queen’s Guard, a cadre of brave knights led by the enigmatic and dedicated Lazarus. Kelsea will need them all to survive a cabal of enemies who will use every weapon—from crimson-caped assassins to the darkest blood magic—to prevent her from wearing the crown. 
    Despite her royal blood, Kelsea feels like nothing so much as an insecure girl, a child called upon to lead a people and a kingdom about which she knows almost nothing. But what she discovers in the capital will change everything, confronting her with horrors she never imagined. An act of singular daring will throw Kelsea’s kingdom into tumult, unleashing the vengeance of the tyrannical ruler of neighboring Mortmesne: the Red Queen, a sorceress possessed of the darkest magic. Now Kelsea will begin to discover whom among the servants, aristocracy, and her own guard she can trust. 
    But the quest to save her kingdom and meet her destiny has only just begun—a wondrous journey of self-discovery and a trial by fire that will make her a legend . . . if she can survive.
    Show book