As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Whispering in French - A Novel - cover

Whispering in French - A Novel

Sophia Nash

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Award-winning romance author Sophia Nash makes her women’s fiction debut with a beautifully crafted, funny, and life-affirming story set in the Atlantic seaside region of France, as one woman returns to France to sell her family home and finds an unexpected chance to start over—perfect for fans of Le Divorce and The Little Paris Bookshop.  
Home is the last place Kate expected to find herself… 
As a child, Kate Hamilton was packed off each summer to her grandfather’s ivy-covered villa in southern France. That ancestral home, named Marthe Marie, is now crumbling, and it falls to Kate—regarded as the most responsible and practical member of her family—to return to the rugged, beautiful seaside region to confront her grandfather’s debts and convince him to sell.  
Kate makes her living as a psychologist and life coach, but her own life is in as much disarray as Marthe Marie. Her marriage has ended, and she’s convinced that she has failed her teenaged daughter, Lily, in unforgiveable ways. While delving into colorful family history and the consequences of her own choices, Kate reluctantly agrees to provide coaching to Major Edward Soames, a British military officer suffering with post-traumatic stress. Breaking through his shell, and dealing with idiosyncratic locals intent on viewing her as an Americanized outsider, will give Kate new insight into who—and where—she wants to be. The answers will prove as surprising as the secrets that reside in the centuries-old villa. 
Witty and sophisticated, rich in history and culture, Sophia Nash’s novel vividly evokes both its idyllic French setting and the universal themes of self-forgiveness and rebuilding in a story as touching as it is wise.  
  
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Vampires Are Forever - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampires Are Forever - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 16
    • 0
    Inez Urso is beginning to have her doubts. Her business associate Thomas Argeneau has some interesting traits, like an allergic reaction to the sun, excellent night vision, and not much of an appetite for food. And to top it all off, he just tried to bite her neck . . . but maybe that was a sign of passion. If so, she'd be happy to experience more, despite her determination not to mix business with pleasure. 
    Well, if not forever, at least two hundred years. Inez is the most beautiful woman he's seen in centuries. Those luscious lips, seductive curves, and her elegant neck . . . he just couldn't resist the temptation of one little bite. Now Thomas will do anything to convince her that only an immortal like him can satisfy her all night long . . .
    Show book
  • Tall Dark & Hungry - cover

    Tall Dark & Hungry

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 19
    • 0
    “Take a bite into fresh, fun vampire comedy…read Lynsay Sands.”—Carly Phillips Nobody does vampire romance quite like Lynsay Sands! Tall, Dark & Hungry is the fourth book in her insanely popular Argeneau vampire series—and she brilliantly blends laughter with steamy passion in this story about a British lass who falls hard for a tasty immortal in-law she meets when she crosses the ocean to attend a cousin’s New York wedding. Paranormal romance is hot, hot, hot! And Lynsay Sands is not only one of the pioneer authors of this subgenre…she’s one of the very best!
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 9
    • 49
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau’s bed? He’s not dessert—he’s the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there’s another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course, it doesn’t hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger’s bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That’s a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Meow - cover

    Meow

    Skye MacKinnon

    • 4
    • 17
    • 0
    Assassin. Private Investigator. Cat shifter.
     
    Kat is used to killing people, but for a blank cheque, she's willing to do the opposite and help solve a murder - even though it sounds boring as hell. That is, until she finds some body parts in her fridge, makes friends with the neighbourhood cats and realises there may be an assassin better than her…
     
    Suddenly, things have become purrfectly exciting.
     
    An urban fantasy full of cats, secrets and murders. This is a slow-burn reverse harem where Kat will find her love interests over time. Book one in the Catnip Assassins series.
    Show book
  • The House on Widows Hill - cover

    The House on Widows Hill

    Simon R. Green

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    Ishmael Jones investigates a haunted house . . . but is haunted by his own past in the latest of this quirky paranormal mystery series.
    
    "That house is a bad place. Bad things happen there . . ."
    
    Set high on top of Widows Hill, Harrow House has remained empty for years. Now, on behalf of an anonymous prospective buyer, Ishmael and Penny are spending a night there in order to investigate the rumours of strange lights, mysterious voices, unexplained disappearances, and establish whether the house is really haunted.
    
    What really happened at Harrow House all those years ago? Joined by a celebrity psychic, a professional ghost-hunter, a local historian and a newspaper reporter, it becomes clear that each member of 'Team Ghost' has their own pet theory as to the cause of the alleged haunting. But when one of the group suddenly drops dead with no obvious cause, Ishmael realizes that if he can find out how and why the victim died, he will have the key to solving the mystery.
    Show book
  • Death Notes - cover

    Death Notes

    Sarah Rayne

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    Introducing professional researcher Phineas Fox in the first of a brand-new series of chilling mysteries.
    
    Phineas Fox has mixed feelings when he's asked to research the infamous 19th-century violinist Roman Volf for a TV documentary. Hanged for his part in the assassination of Tsar Alexander II in 1881, Volf was a notorious criminal and womaniser, whose glittering talent was undermined by his scandalous private life. However, on uncovering evidence which suggests that Volf could not have been involved in the Tsar's murder, Phin's investigations lead him to the west coast of Ireland - and a series of intriguing, interlocking mysteries reaching from 1881 to the present day.   
    
    Was Roman Volf executed for something he didn't do? And what is his connection with the reclusive Maxim Volf now living in County Galway? Phin's enquiries will unearth a number of dark secrets which lurk below the surface of the quiet Irish village of Kilcarne.
    Show book