Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Twelve Years A Slave - cover

Twelve Years A Slave

Solomon Northup

Publisher: Solomon Northup

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Twelve Years a Slave, sub-title: Narrative of Solomon Northup, citizen of New-York, kidnapped in Washington city in 1841, and rescued in 1853, from a cotton plantation near the Red River in Louisiana, is a memoir by Solomon Northup as told to and edited by David Wilson. It is a slave narrative of a black man who was born free in New York state but kidnapped in Washington, D.C., sold into slavery, and kept in bondage for 12 years in Louisiana. He provided details of slave markets in Washington, D.C. and New Orleans, as well as describing at length cotton and sugar cultivation on major plantations in Louisiana.

Other books that might interest you

  • Look What You made Me Do - Fathers Who Kill - cover

    Look What You made Me Do -...

    Megan Norris

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    One Australian woman is hospitalised every three hours and two more lose their lives each week as a result of family violence. But for some women there is a punishment more enduring than injury or their own death.
     
     This book is a timely exploration into the evil done by vengeful fathers who kill their own flesh and blood in order to punish wives who have chosen to end abusive relationships.
     
    Focussing on seven different but equally harrowing cases of ‘spousal revenge’, author  Megan Norris draws on her own observations as a former court and crime reporter, examining the murders of thirteen innocent children who became collateral damage in callous crimes committed by angry dads whose real targets were the children’s mothers.
     
    From the harrowing 1993 kidnap and murder of three-year-old Kelly East in WA, to the chilling murder of Darcey Freeman whose dad hurled her from Melbourne’s West Gate Bridge in 2009, these stories highlight the chilling connection between intimate partner abuse and retaliatory homicide. 
     
    They show it’s not only mothers who are in danger when domestic violence turns deadly.
    Show book
  • A Basque Diary - Living in Hondarribia - cover

    A Basque Diary - Living in...

    Alex Hallatt

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When cartoonist Alex Hallatt wanted to learn Spanish, she moved to the Basque Country. She thought she might stay a few months and ended up there for over two years, living in a small town near San Sebastian.
    
     
    This is the illustrated account of her years in Hondarribia. It is a useful resource for anyone planning on spending time in the Basque Country, detailing what to expect in each month and how to make the most of the geographical, culinary and cultural attractions on offer.
    Show book
  • Bertrand Russell: The Works - cover

    Bertrand Russell: The Works

    Bertrand Russell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Russell led the British "revolt against idealism" in the early 20th century. He is considered one of the founders of analytic philosophy along with his predecessor Gottlob Frege, colleague G. E. Moore, and his protégé Ludwig Wittgenstein. He is widely held to be one of the 20th century's premier logicians. Russell was an anti-war activist; he went to prison for his pacifism during World War I. Later, he campaigned against Adolf Hitler, then criticised Stalinist totalitarianism, attacked the involvement of the United States in the Vietnam War. In 1950 Russell was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature. The Books: The Problems of Philosophy [1912] Mysticism and Logic and Other Essays [1914] Our Knowledge of the External World As a Field for Scientific Method In Philosophy [1914] Political Ideals [1917] Proposed Roads To Freedom [1918] The Practice and Theory of Bolshevism [1920] The Analysis of Mind [1921] Free Thought and Official Propaganda [1922] The Problem of China [1922]
    Show book
  • Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories from Ancient Greece and Rome - cover

    Of Gods and Men - 100 Stories...

    Daisy Dunn

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Daisy Dunn offers a deeply researched collection of stories reflecting the eclectic richness and depth of the classical literary canon. 
     
    Striking a balance between the 'classic classic' (such as Dryden's translation of the Aeneid) and the less familiar or expected, Of Gods and Men ranges from the epic poetry of Homer to the histories of Arrian and Diodorus Siculus and the sprawling Theogony of Hesiod; from the tragedies of Aeschylus and Euripides to the biographies of Suetonius and Plutarch and the pen portraits of Theophrastus; and from the comedies of Plautus to the the fictions of Petronius and Apuleius. 
     
    Of Gods and Men is embellished by translations from writers as diverse as Queen Elizabeth I (Boethius), Percy Bysshe Shelley (Plato), Walter Pater (Apuleius's Golden Ass), Lawrence of Arabia (Homer's Odyssey), Louis MacNeice (Aeschylus's Agamemnon) and Ted Hughes (Ovid's Pygmalion), as well as a number of accomplished translations by Daisy herself.
    Show book
  • Nordic Tales - Folktales from Norway Sweden Finland Iceland and Denmark - cover

    Nordic Tales - Folktales from...

    Books Chronicle

    • 9
    • 43
    • 1
    Trolls haunt the snowy forests, and terrifying monsters roam the open sea.A young woman journeys to the end of the world, and a boy proves he knows no fear.This collection of 16 traditional tales transports readers to the enchanting world of Nordic folklore. Translated and transcribed by folklorists in the 19th century, and presented here unabridged, the stories are by turns magical, hilarious, cozy, and chilling. They offer a fascinating view into Nordic culture and a comforting wintertime read. Ulla Thynell's glowing contemporary illustrations accompany each tale, conjuring dragons, princesses, and the northern lights.
    Show book
  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book