Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
We Love Queenstown - cover

We Love Queenstown

Singapore Urban Sketchers

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Originally a backwater swamp housing the Ying Fo Lut and Boh Beh Kang kampongs, Queenstown became Singapore’s first satellite town. It was named in commemoration of Queen Elizabeth II’s coronation in 1953. 
As this grand old dame of an estate celebrates her 60th anniversary in 2013, the artists from Urban Sketchers Singapore capture the enduring landmarks and scenes of everyday life in the neighbourhood. 
Take a trip down memory lane and imagine the late Queenstown cinema and bowling alley in its heyday. Visit Stirling Road to view Singapore’s first HDB blocks and enjoy the unique personality of each HDB terrace house. Admire the religious harmony and architectural diversity of Queenstown’s churches, temples and mosques. To escape the heat, slip into the cool oasis of Queenstown Community Library, which remains in the middle of winding Margaret Drive.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Monkman and Seagull Quiz Book - cover

    The Monkman and Seagull Quiz Book

    Eric Monkman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    You probably know them best from March’s electrifying University Challenge semi-final, which saw two of the series’ most memorable contestants, dapper Bobby Seagull and fan favourite Eric Monkman, go head-to-head in a Cambridge derby between Emmanuel and Wolfson colleges. In this new quiz book, however, Monkman and Seagull are on the same team – and their opponent is you!
    
    Containing over 540 questions - FROM THE MOST DIFFICULT, TO ONES DESIGNED FOR YOUNGER READERS, this book will see the devilish wits of TV’s brainiest boffins put to the page for the first time, with tricks and tests to taunt even the smuggest sofa-shouter. From puzzles to pop quizzes on everything from particle physics to philharmonics, it’s sure to perplex even Paxman.
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    When Rosie Anderson's boss suddenly assigns her to go incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being shut down, her dreams of a Christmas holiday with her son are shattered. And, for the life of her, Rosie has no idea why she's got to go.
     
    It's chaos from the start – after hours in the car, Rosie arrives at the inn to find that there are no rooms left. She isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale.
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer 
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic Hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book
  • Beekeeper's Lab - 52 Family-Friendly Activities and Experiments Exploring the Life of the Hive - cover

    Beekeeper's Lab - 52...

    Kim Lehman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Very informative and fun . . . Science, art, bee care, 52 different labs to entertain, delight, educate and inspire everyone in your family." —A Net in Time 
     
    Beekeeping's popularity as a hobby continues to skyrocket. And now, with Beekeeper's Lab, you can fill the year ahead with weekly activities from around and about the hive—including art projects, recipes, experiments, garden activities, and more! 
     
    Bees are important to local ecosystems,now more than ever. Whether you're already a beekeeper, or are still considering getting your first hive, Beekeeper's Lab has projects perfect for you. This extensive guide book features 52 beekeeping and hive-inspired projects to keep you involved with your buzzing friends all year long. 
     
    The tutorials are brief, accomplishable, rewarding, and best of all, they are presented in afriendly lab-style format. Try a new technique each weekwith how-tos and sidebars with tips that are perfect for the whole family. Beekeeping is a fun hobby to enjoy, plus, who doesn't want their own supply of honey?
    Show book
  • The Starter Garden Handbook - A Cook's Guide to Growing Your Own Food - cover

    The Starter Garden Handbook - A...

    Alice Mary Alvrez

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of The Going Green Handbook gives you tips for growing vegetables, reducing your food budget, eating organic, and being eco-friendly.   Here in one pretty package is everything you need to know to have your garden and eat it, too! Inside, you’ll find tips for greening up all areas of your garden. Learn surprising facts about your impact on the environment and change your habits with do-it-yourself ideas in The Starter Garden Handbook.   Organic gardener, environmentalist, and pop-up chef Alice Mary Alvrez will help you start with small changes, like growing basic herbs, and work your way up to raising bees. Learn how to raise many kinds of vegetables and fruits, and get tips on composting weeds, clippings, and leftovers so you have nutrient-rich soil. Whether you are at the green rookie level, eco-master, or full-on gardening guru, you can learn to grow your own food and help the planet every week of the year with The Starter Garden Handbook.   If you’re a fan of The Vegetable Gardener’s Bible, you’ll love The Starter Garden Handbook!   “Nowadays people think they have to quit their day job and toil in the hot sun all day. Not true! Most gardening is in the planning and once you have established your plot, I promise you, it will become your Happy Place. Nothing feels better than serving a delicious dish from plants you grew from seeds.” —Susannah Seton, author of Simple Pleasures of the Garden
    Show book
  • Plan and Organize Your Life - Achieve your Goals by Creating Intentional Habits and Routines for Success - cover

    Plan and Organize Your Life -...

    Beatrice Naujalyte

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Design your days intentionally with this smart, inspiring guide from the creator of the Bliss Bean podcast and YouTube channel. This comprehensive and interactive “planning bible” is packed with proven advice on how to get organized, embrace simple habits, and work your way toward true self-improvement and personal development.   Beatrice Naujalyte introduces us to the four pillars of an intentional life: planning, organization, productivity, and routines. With these simple tools, you’ll be able to master everything from effective note taking to minimalist workspace organization.   This book is the ultimate guide to developing a planning system to effectively execute your daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly goals. Whether you have professional, personal, or creative planning to do, this book helps you accomplish your smallest and biggest goals by creating new habits and setting realistic expectations—with a system that works for you. Included are: · Organizational tips and prompts for your everyday success · Time and task management tools to help guide you · Productivity tips for your ultimate lifestyle change
    Show book
  • Welcome to the Club - 100 Parenting Milestones You Never Saw Coming - cover

    Welcome to the Club - 100...

    Raquel D'Apice

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From an Emmy Award–winning comedy writer: “An absolute must for every parent who needs to laugh so they don’t cry.” —Bunmi Laditan, author of Confessions of a Domestic Failure 
     
    From the comedian behind the popular parenting blog The Ugly Volvo comes a refreshing spin on the baby milestone book. Instead of a place to lovingly capture the first time baby sleeps through the night, this book commemorates baby’s first poop explosion; first time baby says a word you didn’t want her to say; and first time you forget the details of childbirth enough to consider having a second kid. 
     
    Accompanied by distinctive illustrations, these one hundred rarely documented but all-too-realistic milestones provide comfort, solidarity, and comic relief for exhausted and terrified new parents.
    Show book