Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Two Sketches of Disjointed Happiness - cover

Two Sketches of Disjointed Happiness

Simon Kinch

Publisher: Salt

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A young man sits on a bench looking out at the harbour of a ­French-Spanish border town. Ahead of him, either a ­cash-strapped existence strolling the sun-baked avenues of Seville, where deep shadows conceal a sense of uncanny potential, or the cooler embrace of the daily grind back in the US. Granville, cut adrift in Europe by circumstance, has a choice to make.  
His solution is not to. 
This daring, experimental novel addresses the existential dilemma of location, how the regret of a choice not made may overpower the satisfaction of one taken. In his debut, Simon Kinch explores the nature of longing and unfulfilment, romance and rejection, freedom and opposition.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Legends of King Arthur and His Knights - cover

    The Legends of King Arthur and...

    Sir James Knowles

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    The beloved tales of Camelot, Merlin, the Round Table, the quest for the Holy Grail, and more. Today, the figure of King Arthur lives on in everything from fantasy novels to comedy films, but the legends surrounding him date back to somewhere in post-Roman times and were first collected by Geoffrey of Monmouth in the twelfth century. Edited for the modern reader by Sir James Knowles, Monmouth’s original collection features familiar tales of wizardry and prophecy, loyalty and leadership, battle and quest. With mystery still surrounding the historical origins of these romantic legends, this volume is an intriguing and absorbing journey into the medieval imagination.
    Show book
  • Nemesis - A Harry Hole Novel - cover

    Nemesis - A Harry Hole Novel

    Jo Nesbo

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    “Nesbø’s storytelling abilities are incomparable. Nemesis is crime novel as art form and great entertainment.” 
    —USA Today 
    The #1 international bestseller from one of the most celebrated crime writers in Europe—the New York Times bestselling author of The Snowman—Jo Nesbø’s extraordinary thriller Nemesis features Norwegian homicide detective Harry Hole, “the next in the long line of great noir crime detectives,” (San Diego Union-Tribune) in a case as dark and chilling as an Oslo winter’s night. The second Harry Hole novel to be released in America—following the critically acclaimed publication of The Redbird—Nemesis is a superb and surprising nail-biter that places Jo Nesbø in the company of Lawrence Block, Ian Rankin, Michael Connelly, and other top masters of crime fiction. Nesbø has already received the Glass Key Award and the Booksellers’ Prize, Norway’s most prestigious literary awards. Nemesis is proof that there are certainly more honors in this extraordinary writer's future. 
    *Edgar Nominee for Best Novel of the Year
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 16
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • The Dying of the Light - A Novel - cover

    The Dying of the Light - A Novel

    Robert Goolrick

    • 3
    • 13
    • 0
    From the author of the bestselling A Reliable Wife comes a dramatic, passionate tale of a glamorous Southern debutante who marries for money and ultimately suffers for love—a southern gothic as written by Dominick Dunne. 
    It begins with a house and ends in ashes . . . 
    Diana Cooke was "born with the century" and came of age just after World War I. The daughter of Virginia gentry, she knew early that her parents had only one asset, besides her famous beauty: their stately house, Saratoga, the largest in the commonwealth, which has hosted the crème of society and Hollywood royalty. Though they are land-rich, the Cookes do not have the means to sustain the estate. Without a wealthy husband, Diana will lose the mansion that has been the heart and soul of her family for five generations. 
    The mysterious Captain Copperton is an outsider with no bloodline but plenty of cash. Seeing the ravishing nineteen-year-old Diana for the first time, he’s determined to have her. Diana knows that marrying him would make the Cookes solvent and ensure that Saratoga will always be theirs. Yet Copperton is cruel as well as vulgar; while she admires his money, she cannot abide him. Carrying the weight of Saratoga and generations of Cookes on her shoulders, she ultimately succumbs to duty, sacrificing everything, including love. 
    Luckily for Diana, fate intervenes. Her union with Copperton is brief and gives her a son she adores. But when her handsome, charming Ashton, now grown, returns to Saratoga with his college roommate, the real scandal and tragedy begins. 
    Reveling in the secrets, mores, and society of twentieth-century genteel Southern life, The Dying of the Light is a romance, a melodrama, and a cautionary tale told with the grandeur and sweep of an epic Hollywood classic.
    Show book
  • A Bond of Flame - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 2 - cover

    A Bond of Flame - Dragon Riders...

    Richard Fierce

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    Sometimes there’s a fine line between truth and a lie. 
     
    Eldwin’s quest to become a dragon rider seems hopeless, but he won’t let his dream to bond with a dragon die. A sell-sword job with a caravan promises a decent payment, and offers him a chance to continue his quest.
     
    The caravan he guards has a secret, and when he uncovers it, he can hardly believe his change of luck. However, despite the turn of events, his life only gets harder and a chance meeting with an enemy brings Eldwin to a moral dilemma.
     
    He must now face the truth, which will shatter everything he’s believed.
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    A Bond of Flame is the second episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror - May 2020
    Show book
  • The Jewels of Paradise - cover

    The Jewels of Paradise

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The New York Times–bestselling author of the Commissario Guido Brunetti series takes readers beyond the Venice police force in her first standalone novel.   Caterina Pellegrini is a native Venetian, and like so many of them, she’s had to leave home to pursue her career. With a doctorate in baroque opera from Vienna, she lands in Manchester, England. Manchester, however, is no Venice. When Caterina gets word of a position back home, she jumps at the opportunity.   The job is an unusual one. After nearly three centuries, two locked trunks—believed to contain the papers of a baroque composer—have been discovered. Deeply connected in religious and political circles, the composer died childless; now, two Venetians, descendants of his cousins, each claim the inheritance. Caterina’s job is to examine any enclosed papers to discover the “testamentary disposition” of the composer. But when her research takes her in unexpected directions, she begins to wonder just what secrets these trunks may hold. From a masterful writer, The Jewels of Paradise is a superb novel, a gripping tale of intrigue, music, history, and greed.   “Commissario Brunetti is allowed to take a vacation once in a while, but only if his replacements are as wry and erudite as Caterina.” —The Washington Post   “Fascinating . . . Boasts the same sensitivity to human behavior that distinguishes her Guido Brunetti series.” —Booklist   “A veteran mystery maven weaves present-day Venice into a 300-year-old puzzle in this engaging stand-alone . . . Packs the charms of Venice into a smart whodunit.” —Kirkus Reviews   “Elegant prose, with humorous, wonderfully detailed descriptions as seen through the eyes of her heroine.” —Opera News
    Show book