Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Birdwatching With Your Eyes Closed - an introduction to birdsong - cover

Sorry, the publisher does not allow users to read this book from the country from which you are connecting.

Birdwatching With Your Eyes Closed - an introduction to birdsong

Simon Barnes

Publisher: Short Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Learning birdsong is not just a way to become a better bird-spotter. It is tuning in: a way of hearing the soundtrack of the planet earth... Why do birds sing? What are they trying to say? Birdsong is not just about natural history. It is also about our history. We got melody from the birds as we got rhythm from the womb. Birds are our music: they teach us to express emotion and beauty in sound. The first instruments ever made were bird-flutes. This vital book - with a free podcast - takes you from winter into deepest spring, teaching you to how recognise song after song as the chorus swells. You start with robin, and end up listening to nightingales. Along the way, you will learn something of the science of birdsong - the difference between song and call, the physiology of songbirds, what birdsong tells us about evolution, and indeed the very beginnings of life itself. The aim is to give you a flying start in birdsong so that, after reading this book, you'll be listening to order, not chaos, to Bach, not white noise. You will be more aware of the wild world, and better able to understand it.
Available since: 11/03/2011.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Intelligence and Consciousness of Octopuses - cover

    The Intelligence and...

    Sy Montgomery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Octopuses are highly intelligent, show their cleverness in myriad ways, and love to play. Montgomery describes befriending several of them over a number of years and shares how they can make remarkable connections with individual people. This is a most fascinating dialogue about the meeting of two very different minds, human and octopus.
    Show book
  • The Déjà Vu Enigma - A Journey Through the Anomalies of Mind Memory and Time - cover

    The Déjà Vu Enigma - A Journey...

    Marie D. Jones, Larry Flaxman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A deep dive into one of the most widely reported mysteries of the mind—both the scientific and paranormal theories—from the authors of The Grid. 
     
    You feel like you’ve done something before . . . even as you do it for the very first time. 
     
    You engage in a conversation and suddenly realize you’ve spoken those same words before . . . to the very same person. Yet you’re positive it’s the first time you’ve ever met. 
     
    Déjà vu is the eerie sensation of “remembering” an experience or situation that never occurred. Scientific research into déjà vu has revealed intriguing theories, ranging from short-term memory misfires to neurophysiological disorders. Yet other theories suggest more paranormal causes for déjà vu, such as glimpses into parallel realities. Perhaps the true explanation lies somewhere in between. 
     
    But déjà vu is only one of the many mysteries of the mind. The Déjà Vu Enigma also explores:Memory lapses, missing time, and fugue statesThe brain as both receiver and transmitter of realityAltered states of perception and consciousness, from hallucinations to religious visionsContagious thought, curses, demonic possession, and mass hysteriaDream states, lucid dreaming, and precognitive dreamsThe Grid and parallel universes as travel routes for mind trips, brain flips, and time slips 
     
    Come journey through a world as vast and uncharted as the Cosmos. A journey through the Inner Universe—the human mind. 
     
    “From the dynamic team of Marie D. Jones & Larry Flaxman who have brought us some many wonderful books on fringe subject matter . . . a completely thought-provoking study.” —HorrorNews.net
    Show book
  • Harmony - A New Way of Looking at Our World - cover

    Harmony - A New Way of Looking...

    Tony Juniper, Wales The Prince...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For the first time, His Royal Highness Charles, the Prince of Wales, shares his views on how mankind’s most pressing modern challenges are rooted in our disharmony with nature. In the vein of Al Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth and Van Jones’ Green Collar Economy, Prince Charles presents the compelling case that solutions to our most dire crises—from climate change to poverty—lie in regaining a balance with the world around us.
    Show book
  • Data Science on AWS - Unleashing the Power of Cloud Computing for Innovative Data Insights - cover

    Data Science on AWS - Unleashing...

    Saimon Carrie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Data Science on AWS: Unlocking Scalable Solutions" is an essential guide for data scientists, machine learning engineers, and IT professionals seeking to leverage the comprehensive capabilities of Amazon Web Services to enhance their data science projects. This book provides a detailed exploration of the AWS ecosystem, offering insights into how its powerful tools and services can be used to store, process, and analyze vast amounts of data efficiently. 
    Starting with a foundation in cloud computing concepts and the basics of AWS, the book guides you through setting up a secure and robust data science environment. From managing data storage options like S3 and Redshift to conducting exploratory data analysis with tools like Athena and QuickSight, this guide ensures you have the know-how to handle data at scale. 
    Dive deeper into the mechanics of building, training, and deploying machine learning models using Amazon SageMaker, and explore advanced techniques using AWS's cutting-edge services for deep learning and reinforcement learning. Learn about scalable data processing capabilities with services like EMR and AWS Glue, and discover strategies for real-time and batch processing to keep your projects agile and responsive. 
    "Data Science on AWS" also covers vital operational practices, including securing your data infrastructure, monitoring and automating deployments, and optimizing costs. With practical advice and real-world examples, this book is not just about theory but about applying what you learn to solve real business problems effectively. 
    Whether you're looking to start a new data science project on AWS, streamline existing processes, or scale your applications, this book will be an invaluable resource, providing you with the tools and knowledge needed to succeed in the evolving landscape of data science in the cloud. 
     
    Show book
  • How to Know the Birds - The Art and Adventure of Birding - cover

    How to Know the Birds - The Art...

    Ted Floyd

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Become a better birder with brief portraits of 200 top North American birds. This friendly, relatable book is a celebration of the art, science, and delights of bird-watching. How to Know the Birds introduces a new, holistic approach to bird-watching, by noting how behaviors, settings, and seasonal cycles connect with shape, song, color, gender, age distinctions, and other features traditionally used to identify species. With short essays on 200 observable species, expert author Ted Floyd guides us through a year of becoming a better birder, each species representing another useful lesson: from explaining scientific nomenclature to noting how plumage changes with age, from chronicling migration patterns to noting hatchling habits. Dozens of endearing pencil sketches accompany Floyd's charming prose, making this book a unique blend of narrative and field guide. A pleasure for birders of all ages, this witty book promises solid lessons for the beginner and smiles of recognition for the seasoned nature lover.
    Show book
  • Sierra Birds - A Hiker's Guide - cover

    Sierra Birds - A Hiker's Guide

    John Muir Laws

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The beginner’s birding book that covers species found in the Sierra Nevada—from the author of The Law’s Guide to Nature Drawing and Journaling. 
     
    As a naturalist managing the field studies program at the California Academy of Sciences, John Muir Laws noticed that novice birders often distinguish birds by color and size rather than species. This inspired him to create Sierra Birds: A Hiker’s Guide, a unique book that assumes no prior birding knowledge on the part of the reader. Color-coded keys eliminate the time-consuming frustration of thumbing randomly through a guide, and a cross-index is also included for more advanced birders. All this in a format that is simply organized and perfect to read on a smartphone or tablet. A first-rate naturalist, Laws is also an accomplished artist. His illustrations are lively, colorful, and accurate, and drawn to represent species in the manner in which one generally sees them in the field. 
     
    Praise for John Muir Laws 
     
    “For those of us who live in California, there are few resources that top the books by John Muir Laws. His Field Guide to the Sierra Nevada and his Pocket Guide to the San Francisco Bay Area combine beautiful illustrations with exacting biological information on birds, beasts, and plants.” —Sierra Magazine
    Show book