As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Love in the Time of Affluenza - cover

Love in the Time of Affluenza

Shunali Khullar Shroff

Publisher: Bloomsbury India

  • 1
  • 7
  • 1

Summary

“He never wants to touch me any longer, Natasha. It's like he's impotent or something.” 
“That's not impotence, that's just what being married is like!” 
  
Raising three beautiful children in her beautiful Bombay home with her aristocratic husband of 15 years – every bit the prince you read about in fairy tales – Natasha has it all. But when her closest friend drops the bombshell that she's isn't entirely fulfilled by her family and is having an affair, Natasha begins to ask some difficult questions about her own seemingly perfect life.   
  
From the bestselling author Shunali Shroff comes a novel about being a wife, a mother and the woman you used to be before that. 
 
 
Featured in 50 Books to Look Out for in 2019 by Huffington Post

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lost Family - A Novel - cover

    The Lost Family - A Novel

    Jenna Blum

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The Lost Family is an extraordinary read, the kind of book that makes you sob and smile, the kind that gives you hope…. It is compassionate, masterful and disturbingly contemporary."—Tatiana de Rosnay, bestselling author of Sarah’s Key 
    The New York Times bestselling author of Those Who Save Us creates a vivid portrait of marriage, family, and the haunting grief of World War II in this emotionally charged, beautifully rendered story that spans a generation, from the 1960s to the 1980s. 
    In 1965 Manhattan, patrons flock to Masha’s to savor its brisket bourguignon and impeccable service and to admire its dashing owner and head chef Peter Rashkin. With his movie-star good looks and tragic past, Peter, a survivor of Auschwitz, is the most eligible bachelor in town. But Peter does not care for the parade of eligible women who come to the restaurant hoping to catch his eye. He has resigned himself to a solitary life. Running Masha’s consumes him, as does his terrible guilt over surviving the horrors of the Nazi death camp while his wife, Masha—the restaurant’s namesake—and two young daughters perished. 
    Then exquisitely beautiful June Bouquet, an up-and-coming young model, appears at the restaurant, piercing Peter’s guard. Though she is twenty years his junior, the two begin a passionate, whirlwind courtship. When June unexpectedly becomes pregnant, Peter proposes, believing that beginning a new family with the woman he loves will allow him to let go of the horror of the past. But over the next twenty years, the indelible sadness of those memories will overshadow Peter, June, and their daughter Elsbeth, transforming them in shocking, heartbreaking, and unexpected ways. 
    Jenna Blum artfully brings to the page a husband devastated by a grief he cannot name, a frustrated wife struggling to compete with a ghost she cannot banish, and a daughter sensitive to the pain of both her own family and another lost before she was born. Spanning three cinematic decades, The Lost Family is a charming, funny, and elegantly bittersweet study of the repercussions of loss and love.
    Show book
  • Koush Hollow - cover

    Koush Hollow

    Leigh Goff

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    After her father’s untimely death, Jenna Ashby moves to Koush Hollow, a bayou town outside of New Orleans, dreading life with her wealthy mother. As the sixteen-year-old eco-warrior is introduced to the Diamonds & Pearls, her mother’s exclusive social club, she comes to the troubling realization that secrets are a way of life in Koush Hollow: How do the Diamonds & Pearls look so young, where does their money come from, and why is life along the bayou disappearing? As Jenna is drawn into their seductive world, her curiosity and concerns beg her to uncover the truth. However, in this town where mysticism abounds and secrets are deadly, the truth is not what Jenna could have ever imagined. 
    Show book
  • Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 1 - cover

    Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders...

    Richard Fierce

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    Dragons can be dangerous …
     
    … if you don’t bond with them first.
     
    Eldwin wants to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a Dragon Guard, but not for the glory. With his family dead and their lands dying, the opportunity to join the dragon rider school is all he has. But before Eldwin can bond with a dragon and guard the skies, he must pass three tests to prove his worth.
     
    Compassion, magical aptitude, and armed combat.
     
    He’s determined to pass, but his maimed arm is a constant reminder of his disadvantage. Will the obstacles Eldwin faces keep him from reaching his dreams, or will he finally see what it’s like to ride the skies?
     
    Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
     
    Trial by Sorcery is the first episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
     
    Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
     
    Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
     
    Book 2: A Bond of Flame
     
    Book 3: The Warrior's Call
     
    Book 4: The Coin of Souls
     
    Book 5: Wings of Terror - May 2020
    Show book
  • Galactic Mercenaries Omnibus - A Space Opera Series - cover

    Galactic Mercenaries Omnibus - A...

    Richard Fierce

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Some jobs will turn you into a zombie. Literally.
     
    Episode 1: Captain Jayde Thrin of the cargo ship Determination has one goal: make enough money to retire in style. Her small mercenary crew travels the universe taking odd jobs, but when a botched gig lands them in hot water, it’s up to Jayde to figure out their escape – and their survival.
     
    Episode 2: A genetically designed plague has ravished the birthplace of humanity, leaving millions of undead wandering the planet. Jayde and her crew volunteer to retrieve the antidote and do the job for free, but ruined planets, aliens with ulterior motives, and the threat of invasion will stretch the crew beyond anything they have ever known.
     
    Episode 3: Jayde Thrin and her mercenary crew return to Earth to find a lost cause. The government has given up on the planet and turned its focus to the war brewing at the edge of humanity’s borders. A small group of survivors are still on Earth fighting for survival and it’s up to Jayde and her crew to rescue them, but an army of undead and alien worshippers are all that stand in their way. 
     
    Galactic Mercenaries is a space opera series about zombies, space battles, alien invasion, and a misfit crew trying to survive in a dangerous universe.
    Show book
  • Dark Side of the Road The - A country house murder mystery with a supernatural twist - cover

    Dark Side of the Road The - A...

    Simon R. Green

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Introducing Ishmael Jones - a detective with a difference - in this compelling murder mystery.
    
    Ishmael Jones is someone who can’t afford to be noticed, someone who lives under the radar, who drives on the dark side of the road. He’s employed to search out secrets, investigate mysteries and shine a light in dark places. Sometimes he kills people.
    
    Invited by his employer, the enigmatic Colonel, to join him and his family for Christmas, Ishmael arrives at the grand but isolated Belcourt Manor in the midst of a blizzard to find that the Colonel has mysteriously disappeared. As he questions his fellow guests, Ishmael concludes that at least one of them – not least Ishmael himself - is harbouring a dangerous secret, and that beneath the veneer of festive cheer lurk passion, jealousy, resentment and betrayal.
    
    As a storm sets in, sealing off the Manor from the rest of the world, Ishmael must unmask a ruthless murderer before they strike again.
    Show book
  • A Laodicean by Thomas Hardy (Illustrated) - cover

    A Laodicean by Thomas Hardy...

    Thomas Hardy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This eBook features the unabridged text of ‘A Laodicean’ from the bestselling edition of ‘The Complete Works of Thomas Hardy’.  
    Having established their name as the leading publisher of classic literature and art, Delphi Classics produce publications that are individually crafted with superior formatting, while introducing many rare texts for the first time in digital print. The Delphi Classics edition of Hardy includes original annotations and illustrations relating to the life and works of the author, as well as individual tables of contents, allowing you to navigate eBooks quickly and easily.eBook features:* The complete unabridged text of ‘A Laodicean’* Beautifully illustrated with images related to Hardy’s works* Individual contents table, allowing easy navigation around the eBook* Excellent formatting of the textPlease visit www.delphiclassics.com to learn more about our wide range of titles
    Show book