Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
1960Now - Photographs of Civil Rights Activists and Black Lives Matter Protests - cover

1960Now - Photographs of Civil Rights Activists and Black Lives Matter Protests

Sheila Pree Bright

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A “powerful photo collection” documenting the Black Lives Matter movement and its parallels to the historic fight for civil rights (Publishers Weekly). 
 
The fight for equality continues, from 1960 to now. Combining portraits of past and present social justice activists with documentary images from recent protests throughout the United States, #1960Now sheds light on the parallels between the 1960s Civil Rights Movement and the Black Lives Matter movement of today. Shelia Pree Bright’s striking black-and-white photographs capture the courage and conviction of ‘60s leaders and a new generation of activists, offering a powerful reminder that the fight for justice is far from over. #1960Now represents an important new contribution to American protest photography. 
 
“Visually arresting . . . activism photography shot across the U.S., from Ferguson, Missouri, to Atlanta to Philadelphia.” —Essence 
 
“While millions of cellphone photos are generated each day—some forceful testaments to racial violence and injustice—few possess the grace and quiet lyricism of her images.” —The New York Times Lens blog
Available since: 10/23/2018.
Print length: 160 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Nationalized Politics - Evaluating Electoral Politics Across Time - cover

    Nationalized Politics -...

    Jamie L. Carson, Joel Sievert,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the United States, politics has become increasingly nationalized in recent years as voter decision-making is now driven by partisan or national political forces rather than the attributes of individual candidates. Indeed, voters now seem more concerned with which of the two national parties will be in power across all levels of government as opposed to which candidate will represent them individually.Nationalized Politics asks and answers the question, "how has nationalization influenced elections across different political eras?" Jamie L. Carson, Joel Sievert, and Ryan D. Williamson look at historical variation in nationalization through an analysis of congressional elections from 1840 to 2020. By examining roughly 180 years of elections, the authors leverage considerable differences in electoral competition, electoral rules, nationalization, polarization, and partisan advantage via the incumbency advantage. Moreover, Carson, Sievert, and Williamson employ a unique survey design to capture citizen attitudes toward the nationalization of politics to further consider the question of how nationalization is currently shaping politics. Providing a comprehensive history of US congressional elections, Nationalized Politics illustrates the roots of the current electoral landscape in the US.
    Show book
  • Bootstrapped - Liberating Ourselves from the American Dream - cover

    Bootstrapped - Liberating...

    Alissa Quart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An unsparing, incisive, yet ultimately hopeful look at how we can shed the American obsession with self-reliance that has made us less healthy, less secure, and less fulfilled  
    The promise that you can “pull yourself up by your bootstraps” is central to the story of the American Dream. It’s the belief that if you work hard and rely on your own resources, you will eventually succeed. However, time and again we have seen how this foundational myth, with its emphasis on individual determination, brittle self-sufficiency, and personal accomplishment, does not help us. Instead, as income inequality rises around us, we are left with shame and self-blame for our condition. 
    Acclaimed journalist Alissa Quart argues that at the heart of our suffering is a do-it-yourself ethos, the misplaced belief in our own independence and the conviction that we must rely on ourselves alone. Looking at a range of delusions and half solutions—from “grit” to the false Horatio Alger story to the rise of GoFundMe—Quart reveals how we have been steered away from robust social programs that would address the root causes of our problems. Meanwhile, the responsibility for survival has been shifted onto the backs of ordinary people, burdening generations with debt instead of providing the social safety net we so desperately need. 
    Insightful, sharply argued, and characterized by Quart’s lively writing and deep reporting, and for fans of Evicted and Nickel and Dimed, Bootstrapped is a powerful examination of what ails us at a societal level and a plan for how we can free ourselves from these self-defeating narratives. 
    Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.
    Show book
  • The First-Time Manager - cover

    The First-Time Manager

    Loren B. Belker, Gary S....

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What's a rookie manager to do? Faced with new responsibilities, and in need of quick, dependable guidance, novice managers can't afford to learn by trial and error. The First-Time Manager is the answer, dispensing the bottom-line wisdom they need to succeed. A true management classic, the book covers essential topics such as hiring and firing, leadership, motivation, managing time, dealing with superiors, and much more. Written in an inviting and accessible style, the revised sixth edition includes new material on increasing employee engagement, encouraging innovation and initiative, helping team members optimize their talents, improving outcomes, and distinguishing oneself as a leader. Packed with immediately usable insight on everything from building a team environment to conducting performance appraisals, The First-Time Manager remains the ultimate guide for anyone starting his or her career in management.
    Show book
  • The Education of a Radical - An American Revolutionary in Sandinista Nicaragua - cover

    The Education of a Radical - An...

    Michael Johns

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “An uncompromising look at his younger self and the Nicaraguan revolution . . . that compels readers to question their own motivations and beliefs.” —The Americas    When Michael Johns joined a Sandinista militia in 1983, a fellow revolutionary dubbed him a rábano, a radish: red on the outside but white on the inside. Now, more than twenty-five years later, Johns appreciates the wisdom of that label as he revisits the questions of identity he tried to resolve by working with the Sandinistas at that point in his life. In The Education of a Radical, Johns recounts his immersion in Marxism and the Nicaraguan sojourn it led to, with a painful maturation process along the way.   His conversion began in college, where he joined a student group called the Latin American Solidarity Association and traveled to Chiapas, Mexico, for research on his senior thesis. Overwhelmed by the poverty he witnessed, he experienced an ideological transformation. When a Marxist professor later encouraged him to travel to Nicaragua, the real internal battle began for him, a battle that was intensified by the U.S. invasion of Grenada and its effect on the Sandinistas, who believed they were the next target for an imminent American invasion. Before he knew it, Johns was digging trenches and learning how to use an AK-47. His intellectual ideals came face-to-face with revolutionary facts, and the results would perplex him for years to come.   Bringing to life a vivid portrait of the sometimes painful process of reconciling reality with romanticized principles, The Education of a Radical encapsulates a trove of truths about humanity, economics, and politics in one man’s memorable journey.
    Show book
  • More India and Less China - Germany Needs a New Policy on Asia - cover

    More India and Less China -...

    Urs Schoettli

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The global economy and global politics have turned the spotlight on two rising powers, China and India. The pecking order of the two states with their billion-plus populations seems obvious. China is already being seen as a new superpower that is on a par with the US. And whilst India may not be a world power, it dominates South Asia and the Indian Ocean.
    
    That is why the Europeans have devoted far more time and energy over the past few years to China, which is a totalitarian regime, than to India, which is a democracy. However, in the recent past moves have been afoot to upgrade the status of India. Whilst it is still too early to speak of a new trend, there are very good reasons why Germany and Europe should cooperate with India. It could be a reliable partner at the start of the "Asian Century" on account of its cultural similarities, common economic and (security) policy interests, and above all as a result of a shared set of values based on democracy and the rule of law.
    Show book
  • Coming to the King - cover

    Coming to the King

    Frances Ridley Havergal

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A collection of poems by Frances Ridley Havergal and others, all describing different aspects of our walk with God, from 'Coming to the King' to 'Under the Shadow.' Summary by Esther ben Simonides.
    Show book