Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
A Kind of Magic - Fairy Tale #3 - cover

A Kind of Magic - Fairy Tale #3

Shanna Swendson

Publisher: Shanna Swendson

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Dancing on Ice … 
The holiday season in New York City is supposed to be magical, but it’s not yet Thanksgiving, and what’s happening isn’t that kind of magic. 
The fairy world seems to be bleeding into the human world. Strange white horses carry people into the Central Park lake. Children are disappearing from their beds. Unearthly snow flurries pepper the air while odd pockets of summer appear randomly in Central Park. There’s even a suspicious wave of injuries among Broadway dancers and ballerinas, who feel like they’ve danced all night. 
Noticing this, outside enchantresses are converging on New York to stop what they think is a fae incursion. Sophie Drake knows the fae aren’t to blame, and she suspects that one of the enchantresses is up to no good, creating a situation that will put her in power. But revealing how she knows what’s happening would mean revealing her own fae ties to the anti-fae enchantresses. 
Not that she has time to deal with any of this. She’s been offered a major ballet role in The Nutcracker – a chance to revive her dance career. She can’t miss a step onstage as she tries to thwart the power play and balance the realms without running afoul of the fae or the enchantresses.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Golden Vial (Legends of the Realm Book #3) - cover

    The Golden Vial (Legends of the...

    Thomas Locke

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Lady Shona, the newly crowned queen of the realm, is a leader without a throne. Pursued relentlessly by a dark force, her small contingent of loyal followers must make a difficult choice--flee or fight. Determined to save her land from nefarious threats, Lady Shona decides that she must seek out the enemy and attack them head on--a strategy that leads back to the region of the Three Valleys where Hyam was born.Alas, Hyam has been struck by a mysterious illness that is silently sweeping through the realm. Known as the wasting disease, the sickness has no cure. But there is one shred of hope for Lady Shona and the realm--and it comes in the most unlikely of forms. A young orphan, untested and untrained, could well mean the difference between victory and total defeat.Thomas Locke concludes his epic trilogy with a gripping tale of courage that will inspire readers to persevere even when all seems lost.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Tales From The Perilous Realm - cover

    Tales From The Perilous Realm

    J.R.R. Tolkien

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    Available for the first time in one volume, this is the definitive collection of Tolkien’s five acclaimed modern classic ‘fairie’ tales in the vein of ‘The Hobbit’, fully corrected and reset for this edition.
    The five tales are written with the same skill, quality and charm that made The Hobbit a classic. Largely overlooked because of their short lengths, they are finally together in a volume which reaffirms Tolkien's place as a master storyteller for readers young and old.
    
    • Roverandom is a toy dog who, enchanted by a sand sorcerer, gets to explore the world and encounter strange and fabulous creatures.
    • Farmer Giles of Ham is fat and unheroic, but - having unwittingly managed to scare off a short-sighted giant - is called upon to do battle when a dragon comes to town;
    • The Adventures of Tom Bombadil tells in verse of Tom's many adventures with hobbits, princesses, dwarves and trolls;
    • Leaf by Niggle recounts the strange adventures of the painter Niggle who sets out to paint the perfect tree;
    • Smith of Wootton Major journeys to the Land of Faery thanks to the magical ingredients of the Great Cake of the Feast of Good Children.
    
    World-renowned Tolkien author and expert, Tom Shippey, takes the reader through the hidden links in the tales to Tolkien's Middle-earth in his Introduction, and recounts their history and themes.
    
    Lastly, included as an appendix is Tolkien's most famous essay, "On Fairy-stories", in which he brilliantly discusses fairy-stories and their relationship to fantasy.
    
    Taken together, this rich collection of new and unknown work from the author of The Children of Húrin will provide the reader with a fascinating journey into lands as wild and strange as Middle-earth.
    Show book
  • The Emperor's Men 1: Arrival - cover

    The Emperor's Men 1: Arrival

    Dirk van den Boom

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Shortly before the First World War, the German light cruiser Saarbrücken leaves the port of Wilhelmshaven to make its last big journey before being decommissioned. But near Portugal the old ship encounters a mysterious phenomenon, and the crew unexpectedly finds itself in the Mediterranean, 1500 years in the past, at a historical moment: It's the year 378, the beginning of the end of the Western Roman Empire, the start of Völkerwanderung…the crew of the Saarbrücken decides that to survive they must make friends of the Romans. They had been the Kaiser's men in the 20th century, and now, in the past, another emperor might need their services…
    Show book
  • Iron Dart - Dark Galaxy #2 - cover

    Iron Dart - Dark Galaxy #2

    Brett Fitzpatrick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Iron Dart is a tale of action and adventure in space. It is the second book in the Galaxy series, an epic story, set against the backdrop of a huge galaxy in the far future, where there are many sprawling civilizations and empires, political conflicts and intrigue. There are epic space battles, exotic locations, and a noble battle for the heart of an empire. 
    Iron Dart tells the adventures of three friends, a man named Knave, a woman named Altia and a robot who goes by the name of Jay. These three are forced, through no fault of their own, to take a stand against all the forces of a huge and corrupt star-spanning empire. They are bold, and trust and believe in each other, but it is an enormously challenging battle to fight. 
    The only reason they aren't immediately crushed, like so many who have tried to stand against the emperor before, is that the most powerful spaceship in the galaxy falls right into their lap. As the second book starts, they are coming to terms with the enormous task that lies before them. Their spaceship is faster and has weaponry superior to any imperial craft, and it also has a teleportation system that enables transport to the surface of planets. A technology no other spaceship has, an alien technology far beyond what humanity is capable of. 
    They are also aided by the fact that the empire has become bloated and corrupt. Rebellion is in the air, across the human quadrant of the galaxy. They are still just starting out on their quest to create a New Tarazet, worthy of its subjects. They are starting to realize that, even though they have awe-inspiring tools at their disposal, their fight is just beginning... 
    Iron Dart has a word count of 103,572.
    Show book
  • Even Villains Fall In Love - Heroes and Villains #1 - cover

    Even Villains Fall In Love -...

    Liana Brooks

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Which does he want more: the world, or the woman he loves?  
    If you believe the rumours, Doctor Charm, wickedly sexy super villain, retired in shame seven years ago after his fight with superhero Zephyr Girl. The fact that the charming Evan Smith--father of four and husband to the too-beautiful-to-be-real Tabitha--bears a resemblance to the defeated Doctor is pure coincidence. And please, ignore the minions. 
    The Smith household is perfect--until Tabitha announces that she's returning to work as a superhero. Evan was hoping to keep her distracted until after he rigged the presidential election, but--genius that he is--Evan has a backup plan. In his basement lab, Evan has a machine whose sole purpose is keeping Tabitha hungry for him. 
    But children and labs don't mix, and when they break the machine, Tabitha storms out. This time his genius isn't going to be enough--he's going to need both his evil alter-ego and the blooming super abilities of his children to save his wife. But even his most charming self might not be enough to save their marriage.
    Show book