As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Baghdad Clock - cover

The Baghdad Clock

Shahad Al Rawi

Translator Luke Leafgren

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

  • 4
  • 22
  • 0

Summary

SHORTLISTED FOR THE INTERNATIONAL PRIZE FOR ARABIC FICTION 2018
 
A HEART-RENDING TALE OF TWO GIRLS GROWING UP IN WAR-TORN BAGHDAD
 
Baghdad, 1991. The Gulf War is raging. Two girls, hiding in an air raid shelter, tell stories to keep the fear and the darkness at bay, and a deep friendship is born. But as the bombs continue to fall and friends begin to flee the country, the girls must face the fact that their lives will never be the same again.
 
This poignant debut novel reveals just what it's like to grow up in a city that is slowly disappearing in front of your eyes, and how in the toughest times, children can build up the greatest resilience.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Queen's House - A Social History of Buckingham Palace - cover

    The Queen's House - A Social...

    Edna Healey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “lively” tour of the royal residence: Readers “will delight in this well-written chronicle of the House of Windsor.” —Publishers Weekly  In this social history of Buckingham Palace, Edna Healey mines the royal archives to take the reader into its moonlit gardens, up the grand staircase, and inside its tapestried walls. Dr. Johnson again holds forth in the library, Queen Victoria encores Mendelssohn in the music room, and Fanny Burney wrestles once more with protocol in the royal chambers.  Written with the assistance of the royal family, this lively and colorful biography of a house reveals not only the changing facade of the palace but also the changing face of a nation’s culture, morals, fashions, and tastes.
    Show book
  • Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him - cover

    Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him

    Tracy Borman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The acclaimed historian presents a “beautifully perceptive and dynamic reassessment of Henry VIII…in this highly engrossing biography” (Booklist, starred review).   Henry VIII is best known for his tempestuous marriages and the fates of his six wives. But his reign and reputation were hugely influenced by his confidants, ministers, and even occasional rivals—many of whom have been underplayed in previous biographies. Exploring these relationships in depth, Tracy Borman offers a fresh perspective on the legendary king, revealing surprising contradictions in his beliefs and behavior. Henry was capable of fierce but seldom abiding loyalty, of raising men up only to destroy them later. He loved to be attended by boisterous young men like his friend Charles Brandon, who shared his passion for sport. But the king could also be diverted by men of intellect, culture, and wit, as his longstanding interplay with Cardinal Wolsey and his reluctant abandonment of Thomas More attest. Eager to escape the shadow of his father, Henry was easily led by male advisors early in his reign. In time, though, he matured into a profoundly paranoid and ruthless king. Recounting the great Tudor’s life and signal moments through the lens of his male relationships, Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him sheds fresh light on this fascinating figure.
    Show book
  • Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and Times - cover

    Mikhail Bulgakov - The Life and...

    Marietta Chudakova

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Marietta Chudakova is an expert on Soviet literature and on the works of Mikhail Bulgakov in particular. Her biography of Bulgakov was first published in 1988 and remains the most authoritative and comprehensive study of the writer’s life ever produced. It has received acclaim for the journalistic style in which it is written: the author draws on unpublished manuscripts and early drafts of Bulgakov’s novels to bring the writer to life. She also explores archive documents and memoirs written by some of Bulgakov’s contemporaries so as to construct a comprehensive and nuanced portrait of the writer and his life and times. 
     
    Marietta Chudakova casts light on Bulgakov’s life with an unrivalled eye for detail and a huge amount of affection for the writer and his works.
     
    Mikhail Bulgakov: The Life and Times will be of particular interest to international researchers studying Mikhail Bulgakov’s life and works, and is recommended to a broader audience worldwide. 
     
    Translated from the Russian by Huw Davies
     
    Published by arrangement with ELKOST Intl. Literary Agency
     
    Published with the support of the Institute for Literary Translation, Russia
     
    Introduction by J.A.E. Curtis
     
    Proofreading by Kevin Bridge
     
    Publishers Maxim Hodak & Max Mendor
    Show book
  • Dark History of the Kings & Queens of England - 1066 to the Present Day - cover

    Dark History of the Kings &...

    Brenda Ralph Lewis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite its reputation as the longest established in Europe, the history of the English monarchy is punctuated by scandal, murders, betrayals, plots, and treason. Since William the Conqueror seized the crown in 1066, England has seen three civil wars; six monarchs have been murdered or executed; the throne of England has been usurped four times, and won in battle three times; and personal scandals and royal family quarrels abound. Dark History of the Kings & Queens of England provides an exciting and dramatic account of English royal history from 1066 to the present day. This engrossing book explores the scandal and intrigue behind each royal dynasty, from the ‘accidental’ murder of William II in 1100, through the excesses of Richard III, Henry VIII and ‘Bloody’ Mary, to the conspiracies surrounding the death of Diana, Princess of Wales, in 1997, William and Kate Middleton’s on-off courtship before they married, and Prince Harry’s years of partying, girlfriends and Las Vegas strip poker, before his 2018 marriage to American divorcée Meghan Markle. Carefully researched, superbly entertaining and illustrated throughout with more than 200 colour and black-and-white photographs and artworks, this accessible and immensely enjoyable book highlights the true personalities and real lives of the individuals honoured with the crown of England—and those unfortunate enough to cross their paths.
    Show book
  • Queens Consort - England's Medieval Queens from Eleanor of Aquitaine to Elizabeth of York - cover

    Queens Consort - England's...

    Lisa Hilton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A compelling trek through English history in the company of some remarkable women.” —Kirkus Reviews Though their royal husbands occupy the lion’s share of history books, the queens of early England are fascinating subjects in their own right. Lisa Hilton’s Queens Consort vividly evokes the lives and times of England’s first queens, from Matilda of Flanders and the Norman conquest of England to Elizabeth of York and the beginning of the Tudor dynasty. By profiling twenty different queens, Hilton provides an intricate and dramatic composite of the English monarch: from the ruthless Isabella of France, who violently gained control of England by dispatching Edward II, to the beloved Matilda of Scotland, known for her intelligence and devotion despite her philandering husband, Henry I; and from a girl who was crowned at the age of nine to a commoner who climbed the social ladder at the most opportune moment. Queens Consort dispels many of the myths that have surrounded these women for centuries, while simultaneously illuminating lesser-known facts about their lives. 
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book