Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Homesick - cover

Homesick

Sela Ward

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The vibrant and beloved star of Once and Again and Sisters offers a story about her journey home to recapture the magic of youth in the deep South for her children and to make peace with the death of her mother. At a time when much of America is yearning to recapture the spirit and feelings of a more innocent era, comes the paperback edition of this exceptional book, from one of our most beloved actresses: a story of one woman’s journey to reconnect with the landscape of her childhood.  
Though best known today as the star of the television series Once & Again and Sisters, Sela Ward considers herself first and foremost a small-town girl. The eldest of four children, she was raised by a father who helped her believe in herself, and by a mother who taught her a sense of the importance of virtues like self-respect, grace, and sacrifice. In her hometown of Meridian, Mississippi, within a tightly-knit community of neighbors and kin, Sela learned ways that would remain with her throughout life—humble virtues that were ‘forged in the hearth of a loving home.’  
Long after she had established herself as a successful model and Emmy Award winning actress, Sela started her own family, and found herself pining for the comforts of her small-town childhood. In an effort to balance her children’s West Coast upbringing with a taste of a more natural way of life, she and her husband built a second home on a farm in Meridian, Mississippi so that her family could retreat there several times each year. 
Even as Sela was reconnecting with the rhythms of home, though, her world was rocked by a crisis the family had long anticipated but never quite prepared for—the death of her mother. As her family gathered around her mama’s bedside, Sela’s simple journey home became something far deeper: a turning point in her own life, as she pondered her mother’s complicated legacy, and came to terms with just what it was she herself was searching for. 
Filled with warmth, storytelling, and laughter, Homesick is a book to treasure: an exploration of the lessons we carry away with us from childhood, and a celebration of the bittersweet legacy of home.  

Who read this book also read:

  • Perfect Murder Perfect Town - cover

    Perfect Murder Perfect Town

    Lawrence Schiller

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In Perfect Murder, Perfect Town, Lawrence Schiller thoroughly recreates every aspect of the complex case of the death of JonBenét Ramsey. A brilliant portrait of an inscrutable family thrust under the spotlight of public suspicion and an affluent, tranquil city torn apart by a crime it couldn't handle, Perfect Murder, Perfect Town uncovers the mysteries that have bewildered the nation. 
    Why were the Ramseys, the targets of the investigation, able to control the direction of the police inquiry? 
    Can the key to the murder be found in the pen and writing pad used for the ransom note? 
    Was it possible for an intruder to have killed JonBenét?
    Show book
  • For the Love of the Royal Family - A Companion - cover

    For the Love of the Royal Family...

    Roger Bryan

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Did you know…
     
    • William IV was wont to speak his mind and could sometimes lack tact, which is said to have inspired the nickname ‘Silly Billy’?
     
    • Edward III banned all sports, including football, on Sundays, so that his subjects could be free to concentrate solely on their archery?
     
    • Coronation chicken was invented for foreign guests to enjoy at Elizabeth II’s coronation?
     
    This rich miscellany celebrates the fascinating history of the British Royal Family, from the reign of Egbert, King of Wessex, to the monarchy of the present day. Full of titillating trivia, little-known facts, bite-size biographies and memorable quotations, it paints a colourful picture of how the kings and queens of this noble land have shaped the way we live today.
    Show book
  • The Writing Life - cover

    The Writing Life

    Annie Dillard

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Annie Dillard has written eleven books, including the memoir of her parents, An American Childhood; the Northwest pioneer epic The Living; and the nonfiction narrative Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. A gregarious recluse, she is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.
    Show book
  • Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife - cover

    Paranormal - My Life in Pursuit...

    Raymond Moody, Paul Perry

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”
    Show book
  • Vampira - Dark Goddess of Horror - cover

    Vampira - Dark Goddess of Horror

    W. Scott Poole

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The new book from award-winning historian W. Scott Poole is a whip-smart piece of pop culture detailing the story of cult horror figure Vampira that actually tells the much wider story of 1950s America and its treatment of women and sex, as well as capturing a fascinating swath of Los Angeles history.In Vampire, Poole gives us the eclectic life of the dancer, stripper, actress, and artist Maila Nurmi, who would reinvent herself as Vampira during the backdrop of 1950s America, an era of both chilling conformity and the nascent rumblings of the countercultural response that led from the Beats and free jazz to the stirring of the LGBT movement and the hardcore punk scene in the bohemian enclave along Melrose Avenue. A veteran of the New York stage and late nights at Hollywood's hipster hangouts, Nurmi would eventually be linked to Elvis, Orson Welles, and James Dean, as well as stylist and photographer Rudi Gernreich, founder of the Mattachine Society and designer of the thong. Thanks to rumors of a romance between Vampira and James Dean, his tragic death inspired the circulation of stories that she had cursed him and, better yet, had access to his dead body for use in her dark arts.In Poole's expert hands, Vampira is more than the story of a highly creative artist continually reinventing herself, but a parable of the runaway housewife bursting the bounds of our straight-laced conventions with an exuberant display of camp, sex, and creative individuality that owed something to the morbid New Yorker cartoons of Charles Addams, the evil queen from Disney's Snow White, and the popular, underground bondage magazine Bizarre, and forward to the staged excesses of Madonna and Lady Gaga. Vampira is a wildly compelling tour through a forgotten piece of pop cultural history, one with both cultish and literary merit, sure to capture the imagination of Vampira fans new and old.
    Show book
  • Above Suspicion - cover

    Above Suspicion

    Joe Sharkey

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture starring Emilia Clarke and Jack Huston: The “uncommonly trenchant account of the only known FBI agent to confess to murder” (Kirkus Reviews). When rookie FBI agent Mark Putnam received his first assignment in 1987, it was the culmination of a lifelong dream, if not the most desirable location. Pikeville, Kentucky, is high in Appalachian coal country, an outpost rife with lawlessness dating back to the Hatfields and McCoys. As a rising star in the bureau, however, Putnam soon was cultivating paid informants and busting drug rings and bank robbers. But when one informant fell in love with him, passion and duty would collide with tragic results.   A coal miner’s daughter, Susan Smith was a young, attractive, struggling single mother. She was also a drug user sometimes described as a con artist, thief, and professional liar. Ultimately, Putnam gave in to Smith’s relentless pursuit. But when he ended the affair, she waged a campaign of vengeance that threatened to destroy him. When at last she confronted him with a shocking announcement, a violent scuffle ensued, and Putnam, in a burst of uncontrolled rage, fatally strangled her.   Though he had everything necessary to get away with murder—a spotless reputation, a victim with multiple enemies, and the protection of the bureau’s impenetrable shield—his conscience wouldn’t allow it. Tormented by a year of guilt and deception, Putnam finally led authorities to Smith’s remains. This is the story of what happened before, during, and after his startling confession—an account that “should take its place on the dark shelf of the best American true crime” (Newsday).  Revised and updated, this ebook also includes photos and a new epilogue by the author.  
    Show book