Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Riot Act - cover

The Riot Act

Sebastian Sim

Publisher: Epigram Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Questions abound in the aftermath of the Little India riot. Hashwini wonders if she triggered the chaos. Jessica asks if she should reveal what truly happened in the ambulance. Sharon thinks that the catastrophe could be what she needs to boost her political career. 
 
The lives of three women intertwine when accident and coincidence collide. In Gimme Lao!-style hilarity, they become wrapped up in a web of truth, deception and political connections. This is a perceptive, fast-paced romp that asks “what if” of the riot that recently shook Singapore.

Other books that might interest you

  • Like My Mother Always Said - Wise Words Witty Warnings and Odd Advice We Never Forget - cover

    Like My Mother Always Said -...

    Erin McHugh

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the caring to the crazy, a collection of wit and wisdom from real-life moms.   Their words can bring love and laughter and make us feel warm and safe . . . or, occasionally, completely confused. Now, the author of Like My Father Always Said . . .has crowd-sourced quotable quotes from countless moms—and gathers them in this hilarious, heartwarming volume.  “Every woman should have a nice gay man looking after her.”  “You’re not hungry. Your mouth is bored.”  “You like what you’re wearing?”  “Have a drink, you’ll perk right up.”  “Don’t be impressed by a man’s car—he may be living in it.”   Covering a variety of subjects including “Questionable Wisdom,” “Unconditional Love,” and “Good Manners & Bad Behavior,” Like My Mother Always Said . . . is the perfect book for anyone whose mom never gave up on them.
    Show book
  • The Herald Diary - Somebunny Loves You - cover

    The Herald Diary - Somebunny...

    Ken Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    So what did Scots have to smile about this year? When they watched Britain voting for Brexit, when they heard the constant arguments about independence, and when they saw a strangely coiffed son of a Scotswoman become President of the United States, they turned to their usual survival technique – they laughed. 
    When they saw Rangers stumble on their road back to the top, a Scot, Andy Murray, becoming a top world sportsman, and a Scottish horse winning the Grand National, they naturally made a joke or two. And in their quieter moments they recalled the patter of street traders, how they still cannot fathom the opposite sex, and why we all go mad at the first sign of sunshine. 
    All these and more made up The Herald’s funniest stories of the year, published every day in the newspaper’s ‘Diary’ column. And now the very best have been gathered here for you to enjoy all over again.
    Show book
  • Little Bitty Lies - A Novel - cover

    Little Bitty Lies - A Novel

    Mary Kay Andrews

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “A delightful and hilarious tale.”—Chattanooga Times Free Press 
    “Little white lies have never been so risky—or so much fun.”—Orlando Sentinel 
    New York Times bestselling author Mary Kay Andrews delivers another treasure of a comic novel. Little Bitty Lies is a tantalizing tale about an abandoned Atlanta housewife and mother who tells one tiny white lie that sets her world spiraling outrageously out of control. This winning and wonderful romp focuses on about all the important things in life: marriage and divorce, mothers and daughters, friendship and betrayal. Throw in small town secrets, one woman’s lifelong quest for home, and the perfect chicken salad recipe, and you have an ideal escape for fans of Fannie Flagg, Jennifer Crusie, Adriana Trigiani, Emily Giffin, and the Sweet Potato Queens. No lie!
    Show book
  • Airport & Aviation Humor - A Humorous Look at Passengers Tsa Airport and Airline Employees - cover

    Airport & Aviation Humor - A...

    Barney Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I thoroughly enjoyed the opportunity to share the lighter side of airport and aviation employees.  The vast majority of people I encountered at the airport [from all classes and careers], enjoyed humor.  Additionally, I found that the average person can recognize the difference between fact and fiction, truth and lies and more importantly, humor versus sarcasm.  As I mentioned earlier, humor has been determined to be a stress reducer, and often, a means of increasing morale.  
    
    Remember, I referred to actual passengers and employees in trying to encourage the innocent while protecting the guilty.
    Show book
  • Granny Knows Best - cover

    Granny Knows Best

    Joan Buckley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Once you become a granny, you have to learn the lingo - and here's where Granny Knows Best comes in. Straight from the mouths of the nation's grannies, it's a hilarious treasury of sensible advice, acerbic humour and homely warmth for you to enjoy, laugh at and impart to your grandchildren. With granny's tips on relationships ('never let the sun go down on an argument'), social interaction ('if you can't say anything nice, don't say anything at all'), housekeeping ('cleaning the house will not pay the rent') and much more, this book contains everything you - and your grandchildren - need to negotiate modern life. The book also answers some vital questions: Are you a go-getter granny or a glam-ma? Who was the world's strongest granny? What are grannies called around the world? It explores how to manage being a long-distance granny, essential granny grammar tips, and what never to say to the mother of your grandchildren. Bursting with grandmotherly wit and wisdom, this is your go-to guide for all things granny.
    Show book
  • Russell Howard: The Good News Bad News - The Biography - cover

    Russell Howard: The Good News...

    Abi Smith

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Good news, Russell Howard fans! 
    It's time to take a butcher's into the mad, rib-tickling, insane yet lovable world of the one of the UK's favourite comedians. 
    Abi Smith heads deep into the West Country to discover how people from as far as Midsomer Norton, Somerset to Minneapolis, USA fell in love with this energetic, mesmerising, boyishly blond Bristolian. 
    How exactly has Russell, the kid who used to sleep with his underpants on his head in an effort to cure his acne, become the geezer who is now headlining shows at the O2 Arena, Wembley and the Royal Albert Hall? 
    How has the timid boy who wouldn't speak at family gatherings because he was too shy become a TV panel-show heavyweight? 
    How has the teen who wore his jeans back-to-front because he thought he looked like a cool rapper become an award-winning stand-up with a string of worldwide sell-out tours to his name? 
    He might describe himself as the 'munter' of all his friends with his wonky teeth and lazy eye, but there is something rather special about this good-natured, good-fun dude whose favourite topics of stand-up quite often include his mother's hilarious antics. 
    One things for sure, he might have been bullied at school, had haircuts from hell and missed out on a career as a footballer but he is certainly having the last laugh now - and we are in the front row laughing out-loud with him.
    Show book