Do you dare to read without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Witnesses - cover

Witnesses

Seb Larkin

Publisher: Seb Larkin - patriotgamepress

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Out of the ashes of sixty-nine arises a hero, but Tim is not the hero you expect. All heroes true tests are in their inner world, and Tim's feat is to somehow remain a teenager amidst the horror of early seventies Belfast.
 
Struggling daily to keep his youth separate from the troubles around him. Managing to take on a seemingly ordinary journey through the highs and lows of  a war going on around him.
 
Through the youth club disco’s, his first love, the fumbling sex, the banter, and the squabbles of youth, and behind that war, his community under siege by IRA gangsters out of control. Their entangled with special branch, their licence to commit brutality and murder, empowering them to trespass where they're not wanted.
 
The death count growing, the violence unending, and when its people he loves. Tim Regan answers violence with violence in a local arena where the only gladiators are teenagers in an awesome battle of good versus evil and the curtain raiser towards the ultimate showdown.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Goddaughter Does Vegas - cover

    The Goddaughter Does Vegas

    Melodie Campbell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gina Gallo is a mob goddaughter who doesn't want to be one. She's left her loopy family behind to elope with Pete to Vegas. Except that eloping may be a mortal sin in an Italian family. Between that and some weird deliveries and suitors, Gina's nerves are frayed. Vegas is full of great acts, but one impersonation is real: Gina has a crime-committing double whose activities are making Gina front-page news. Gina has to track down this fiendish fraud before the police catch up with her. And, of course, cousin Nico is along for the ride.
    
    Another madcap adventure for the loveable Gallo cousins that proves the rule "Why should things go right when they can go wrong?"
    Show book
  • Old House of Fear - cover

    Old House of Fear

    Russell Kirk

    • 3
    • 10
    • 0
    A founding father of the American conservative movement, Russell Kirk (1918–94) was also a renowned and bestselling writer of fiction. Kirk’s focus was the ghost story, or “ghostly tale” – a “decayed art” of which he considered himself a “last remaining master.” Old House of Fear, Kirk’s first novel, revealed this mastery at work. Its 1961 publication was a sensation, outselling all of Kirk’s other books combined, including The Conservative Mind, his iconic study of American conservative thought. A native of Michigan, Kirk set Old House of Fear in the haunted isles of the Outer Hebrides, drawing on his time in Scotland as the first American to earn a doctorate of letters from the University of St. Andrews. The story concerns Hugh Logan, an attorney sent by an aging American industrialist to Carnglass to purchase his ancestral island and its castle called the Old House of Fear. On the island, Logan meets Mary MacAskival, a red-haired ingénue and love interest, and the two face off against Dr. Edmund Jackman, a mystic who has the island under his own mysterious control. This new edition features an introduction by James Panero, Executive Editor of The New Criterion.
    Show book
  • Hacker's Diary - Duty Free - cover

    Hacker's Diary - Duty Free

    Adam Smith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A debut novel by Adam Prockstem Smith. He is living in Israel and after several months of work in Duty-Free he comes up with an idea how to elegantly rob the place.
    
    As a computer science and computer application enthusiast, he lives the life of a writer in the Middle East.
    
    The main hero in this book is a Hacker and he describes in a diary manner the mind that stands behind a perfect cybercrime. The book has resources, points of enlightenment and philosophical ruminations. It has every aspect of a good afternoon read for every type of reader that is not afraid to be spoken by the intelligent author. Throughout this book, you will learn about Dark Web and elementary aspects of planning a cybercrime.
    
    It is a fiction nonetheless, not a practical guide.
    Show book
  • Hitmen I Have Known - cover

    Hitmen I Have Known

    Bill James

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Assistant Chief Constable Iles finds himself suspected of murder in the fast-paced 35th installment of the popular Harpur and Iles police procedural series.
    
    Tensions in the community are mounting following the gruesome deaths of two men, both of whom were accused yet acquitted of the murder of an undercover police officer. It looks like vigilante justice, but who is responsible? Alarmingly, suspicion falls on Assistant Chief Constable Iles.
    
    Matters escalate when a TV show investigating the murders is aired, further implicating Iles. Iles seems at ease with the accusations, as are his superiors in the police force. But others are not feeling so secure.
    
    Local crime bosses Ralph Ember and Mansel Shale fear reprisals against Iles will result in their own businesses suffering. And so they begin to plan how to remove potential troublemakers from their path . . .
    Show book
  • Black Water Rising - A Novel - cover

    Black Water Rising - A Novel

    Attica Locke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Attica Locke—a writer and producer of FOX’s Empire—delivers an engrossing, complex, and cinematic thriller about crime and racial justice 
    Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist (Mystery/Thriller)Edgar Award Nominee (Best First Novel)The Orange Prize for Fiction (Shortlist) 
    “A near-perfect balance of trenchant social commentary, rich characterizations, and action-oriented plot.... Attica Locke [is] a writer wise beyond her years.”
— Los Angeles Times 
    “Atmospheric… deeply nuanced... akin to George Pelecanos or Dennis Lehane....  Subtle and compelling.”
— New York Times
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 3
    • 55
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book