Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Welcome Thieves - Stories - cover

Welcome Thieves - Stories

Sean Beaudoin

Publisher: Algonquin Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

“Funny and propulsive” short stories blending black humor and sharply intelligent imagination (Sam Lipsyte, author of The Fun Parts).   In twelve virtuosic stories, Sean Beaudoin trains his absurdist’s eye on the ridiculous perplexities of adult life. From muddling through after the apocalypse (“Base Omega Has Twelve Dictates”) to the knowing smirk of “You Too Can Graduate with a Degree in Contextual Semiotics,” Beaudoin’s stories are edgy and profane, bittersweet and angry, bemused and sardonic. Yet they’re always tinged with heart.   The author of Wise Young Fool, The Infects, and You Killed Wesley Payne follows in the tradition of Vonnegut and Saunders with “a deviously spellbinding collection of short stories,” filled with playfulness, pathos, and a variety of young protagonists struggling to adapt to the bizarre and sometimes brutal world of adulthood (Garth Stein).   “The character-driven tales are darkly comedic, filled with misfits like Primo and The Albatross, Danny and Steak, Sad Girl, Razr and Roy Boi, and Butterfly and Cher—characters so compelling that they are at once savage and powerless, redemptive and sardonic. . . . [They] fill the pages of Welcome Thieves, their complexities and frailties enough to recommend Beaudoin as a student and brilliant interpreter of human nature.” —The Kansas City Star   “Thrilling and mercilessly readable, the stories in Welcome Thieves go off like a string of firecrackers, sizzling and popping with a narrative velocity that is equal parts grit and polish. Beaudoin is definitely a writer to watch.” —Jonathan Evison, author of This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!  
Available since: 03/01/2016.
Print length: 304 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Fiddler of the Reels - cover

    The Fiddler of the Reels

    Thomas Hardy

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Thomas Hardy (1840-1928) was an English novelist and poet whose work is best known for combining the traditions of Romanticism with a realistic portayal of a declining rural society in Victorian England."The Fiddler of the Reels" tells the story of a love triangle. The enigmatic, brilliant and rakish violin player, Wat Ollamore, who arrives in the small South Wessex village of Mellstock, exercises a diabolical fascination with the young, impressionable Car'line Aspent. Car'line's beau, Ned Hipcroft, is unable to compete with Ollamore's sinister hold on her...but when four years later Car'line suddenly writes to Ned out of the blue and offers to marry him, things turn out to be very different than he could have ever imagined.
    Show book
  • The Story of Doctor Dolittle - cover

    The Story of Doctor Dolittle

    Hugh Lofting

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    John Doolittle is a kind-hearted country physician who keeps goldfish in his pond, rabbits in the pantry, white mice in a piano, and a hedgehog in the cellar. He also has an unusual gift: he can talk to animals—a talent that comes in handy, since he prefers treating animals, rather than humans, as his patients. One day, a mysterious call summons him to Africa, where a serious epidemic has spread among the monkey population. Of course, the good doctor sets out immediately with some of his best friends—Jip, the dog, and Polynesia, the parrot, among others. Along the way, they're joined by new acquaintances, including the pushmi-pullyu, a remarkable creature that has a head at both ends of its body. "Any child who is not given the opportunity to make the acquaintance of this rotund, kindly, and enthusiastic doctor/naturalist and all of his animal friends will miss out on something important," said renowned primatologist Jane Goodall.
    Show book
  • Out of the Woods - cover

    Out of the Woods

    E. Christopher Clark

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On one side of the forest lay the lands of psychological realism. On the other rest the realms of fantasy and fabulism. And in the long shadows of the trees themselves…  
    Three sons send their father to Valhalla in his old jalopy. A rusted robot waits on the stone wall by a child’s bus stop. An undertaker is one coin short at the river Styx. And in the bookending stories “Anything But Pure” and “Receding,” a soldier seeks to unbury stories once lost to a winter of war. 
    Fathers and the daughters they find, girls and the dogs they've loved, and a woman from Kansas with a cyclone in her heart—each discovers what happens when people go too far, love too hard, and take too much on their way Out of the Woods. 
    But will they learn from what they learn? Will they grow. And will you? 
    Out of the Woods is a short story collection by E. Christopher Clark. If you liked Carmen Maria Machado’s Her Body and Other Parties, Lincoln Michel’s Upright Beasts, or Luke Geddes’ I Am a Magical Teenage Princess, you’ll love this genre-bending blend of hypnotic fictions inspired by those three great works.  
    Buy Out of the Woods and begin your journey today!
    Show book
  • Watchman - An Erotic Short Story - cover

    Watchman - An Erotic Short Story

    Landon Dixon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Phillip likes nothing more than to watch. As a married man, the subject of his voyeuristic tendencies is - of course – his wife. So when a busy day at the architectural office is interrupted by a phone call from his better half, things take a decidedly twisted turn. Watchman is a rare chance to peep inside a kinky couple's perfect, perverted marriage.This short story from award-winning erotic author Landon Dixon contains graphic and highly sexualised language; it is therefore only suitable for a mature, open-minded audience.
    Show book
  • Six Fairy Tales - A Russian Fairy Tale - cover

    Six Fairy Tales - A Russian...

    Maurice Baring

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a collection of six magical fairy stories written for children. 
    The Glass MenderThe Silver MountainThe Wise PrincessThe Cunning ApprenticeThe MinstrelThe Blue Rose
    Show book
  • Crime and Punishment - cover

    Crime and Punishment

    Fyodor Dostoevsky

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Raskolnikov, an impoverished student living in the St. Petersburg of the tsars, is determined to overreach his humanity and assert his untrammeled individual will. When he commits an act of murder and theft, he sets into motion a story that, for its excruciating suspense, its atmospheric vividness, and its depth of characterization and vision is almost unequaled in the literature of the world. The best known of Dostoevsky's masterpieces, Crime and Punishment can bear any amount of rereading without losing a drop of its power over our imaginations. 
    Dostoevsky's drama of sin, guilt, and redemption transforms the sordid story of an old woman's murder into the nineteenth century's profoundest and most compelling philosophical novel. 
    Award-winning translators Richard Pevear and Larissa Volokhonsky render this elusive and wildly innovative novel with an energy, suppleness, and range of voice that do full justice to the genius of its creator.
    Show book