Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Cold Comfort - A Detective Barry Gilbert Mystery - cover

Cold Comfort - A Detective Barry Gilbert Mystery

Scott Mackay

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 1
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

“Mackay makes his cops’ first case as crisp and snappy as a Canadian winter and a lot more light-footed. A debut to cheer.”—KIRKUS
An Arthur Ellis Award finalist. 
In the midst of a record-cold winter, the stepdaughter of a government official is found dead on a snow-swept pier at the harbor. Overworked and underpaid Detective Barry Gilbert is called to investigate. The Metropolitan Toronto Police Force is already beset by political maneuverings that threaten their jobs, and the sensitive nature of this case may increase that risk to the point where detectives from Gilbert’s own squad are chopped.   All of this is before the victim’s autopsy reveals a seemingly unsolvable enigma: the victim froze to death first and was shot later, after she was already dead.
So begins a treacherous trail of evidence that leads Gilbert to the coldest zones of the human heart. 
As the investigation takes unexpected and baffling turns, he at last suspects an outside manipulator, and must use all his skill to untangle clues that at first defy explanation.  Probing deeper in the victim’s dark past, he discovers the terrible secret she's hidden all her life. He's forced to confront his own values, and learns that even the most superlative detectives can lose their judgment at the most critical moments—often with the deadliest of consequences.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 4
    • 19
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book
  • Courting Justice - cover

    Courting Justice

    R. L. Sommer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Anything by R.L. Sommer, or his alter-ego, Ron Goldfarb, is a MUST read!" –Kitty Kelley, author of Oprah: A Biography
     
    Jake Lehman and his wife, Sydney, have left Washington D.C. for a fresh start in San Francisco.
     
    Their legal careers are on the rise, but so are tensions between them as they continually find themselves on opposing sides of cases concerning judicial ethics and gender equality. Their conflicting views―coupled with growing career obligations, social pressures, and constant travel―come to a head when both Jake and Sydney are recommended for a Supreme Court seat.
     
    With rising pressure threatening to divide the Lehmans, an innocent encounter is misconstrued by prying eyes and puts their relationship and Jake's career in jeopardy. Can Jake and Sydney's relationship withstand the intricacies of these cases and the complications of their careers?
    Show book
  • Del Rio - A Novel - cover

    Del Rio - A Novel

    Jane Rosenthal

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Del Rio, California, a once-thriving Central Valley farm town, is now filled with run-down Dollar Stores, llanterias, carnicerias, and shabby mini-marts that sell one-way bus tickets straight to Tijuana on the Flecha Amarilla line. It’s a place you drive through with windows up and doors locked, especially at night—a place the locals call Cartel Country. While it’s no longer the California of postcards, for local District Attorney Callie McCall, her dying hometown is the perfect place to launch a political career and try to make a difference.But when the dismembered body of a migrant teen is found in one of Del Rio’s surrounding citrus groves, Callie faces a career make-or-break case that takes her on a dangerous journey down the violent west coast of Mexico, to a tropical paradise hiding a terrible secret, and finally back home again, where her determination to find the killer pits her against the wealthiest, most politically connected, most ruthless farming family in California: her own.
    Show book
  • Murder in the Manor (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 1) - cover

    Murder in the Manor (A Lacey...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    MURDER IN THE MANOR (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 1) is the debut novel in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, needs a drastic change. She needs to quit her job, leave her horrendous boss and New York City, and walk away from the fast life. Making good on her childhood promise to herself, she decides to walk away from it all, and to relive a beloved childhood vacation in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Wilfordshire is exactly as Lacey remembers it, with its ageless architecture, cobblestone streets, and with nature at its doorstep. Lacey doesn’t want to go back home—and spontaneously, she decides to stay, and to give her childhood dream a try: she will open her own antique shop.
    
    Lacey finally feels that her life is taking a step in the right direction—until her new star customer turns up dead.
    
    As the newcomer in town, all eyes are on Lacey, and it’s up to her to clear her own name.
    
    With a business to run, a next-door neighbor turned nemesis, a flirty baker across the street, and a crime to solve – is this new life all that Lacey thought it would be?
    
    Book #2 in the series—DEATH AND A DOG—is also available for preorder!
    Show book
  • For Better For Worse - Domestic noir meets police procedural in this gripping page-turner - cover

    For Better For Worse - Domestic...

    Jane Isaac

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    'Jane Isaac knows how to tell a good yarn. Expertly plotted and true to life' Mel Sherratt. 
     
    Stuart Ingram was once a respected local councillor... 
     
    The first time the police knocked on Gina's door, they arrested her husband. 
     
    The second time, they accused him of child abuse. 
     
    But he died a guilty man. 
     
    This time, the police are here for Gina – to tell her that her husband is dead. Murdered, just two weeks before his trial. 
     
    Gina always stood by her husband. Even when everyone else walked away. She believed the trial would clear his name. But now Stuart is dead. 
     
    And his wife is the suspect. 
     
    It's a race against time for DC Beth Chamberlain to uncover the truth – especially when a second man turns up dead. 
     
    Domestic noir meets police procedural in this pacy thriller from Jane Isaac, perfect for fans of Samantha Downing, Fiona Barton and K.L. Slater. Previously published as Presumed Guilty. 
     
    Praise for Jane Isaac: 
     
    'Gripping subjects, brilliantly drawn characters and a twisty turny journey from beginning to end. A tense, thrilling read and definitely 5 humongous ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ from me' Angela Marsons on Hush Little Baby. 
     
    'Isaac does a superb job of escalating the tension and dread' Publishers Weekly. 
     
    'Move over La Plante...' Susan May, Suspense Magazine. 
     
    'Tense, dark and gritty: perfect combination' Ian Patrick, author of Rubicon. 
     
    'Crime writing at its best' David Evans, CWA Debut Dagger-shortlisted author of Torment. 
     
    'Jane Isaac just gets better with every book. Deeply unsettling and unputdownable' Rebecca Bradley, bestselling author of the DI Hannah Robbins series. 
     
    'Jane Isaac writes unmissable quality crime fiction' Michael Wood, author of For Reasons Unknown. 
     
    'Gripped from the very first page ... and just when you think it's over, it's really only the beginning' June Taylor, author of Losing Juliet. 
     
    'Brilliantly and intricately plotted, Jane Isaac has produced a terrific page-turner' Lizzie Sirett, Mystery People.
    Show book
  • Sabotage in the Secret City - cover

    Sabotage in the Secret City

    Diane Fanning

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Research chemist-sleuth Libby Clark must uncover the traitor within in this gripping World War II mystery. 
    
    
    
    May 1945. Harry S. Truman has become president, the Allied Forces are closing in on Berlin and the research scientists at the secret facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, are doing their bit to bring the war to as swift a conclusion as possible. But does the end justify the means? Libby Clark has mixed feelings about the horror she and her fellow scientists are labouring to unleash on the citizens of Japan – and it seems she’s not the only one to have doubts.
    
    
    
    A campaign of small acts of sabotage convinces Libby that one of their number is deliberately trying to delay the mission. But when the pranks turn deadly, Libby is forced once again to turn undercover sleuth in order to unmask the traitor within, prevent further deaths and keep the focus on ending World War II.
    Show book