Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Convenience Store Woman - cover

Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata

Translator Ginny Tapley Takemori

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

The English-language debut of one of Japan’s most talented contemporary writers, selling over 650,000 copies there, Convenience Store Woman is the heartwarming and surprising story of thirty-six-year-old Tokyo resident Keiko Furukura. Keiko has never fit in, neither in her family, nor in school, but when at the age of eighteen she begins working at the Hiiromachi branch of “Smile Mart,” she finds peace and purpose in her life. In the store, unlike anywhere else, she understands the rules of social interaction—many are laid out line by line in the store’s manual—and she does her best to copy the dress, mannerisms, and speech of her colleagues, playing the part of a “normal” person excellently, more or less. Managers come and go, but Keiko stays at the store for eighteen years. It’s almost hard to tell where the store ends and she begins. Keiko is very happy, but the people close to her, from her family to her coworkers, increasingly pressure her to find a husband, and to start a proper career, prompting her to take desperate action…
 

A brilliant depiction of an unusual psyche and a world hidden from view, Convenience Store Woman is an ironic and sharp-eyed look at contemporary work culture and the pressures to conform, as well as a charming and completely fresh portrait of an unforgettable heroine.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sorry Charlie - Poconos Pack #3 - cover

    Sorry Charlie - Poconos Pack #3

    Dana Marie Bell

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    For her, there’s only one fish in the sea. 
    Poconos Pack Book 3 
    Charlie Lowe is going crazy. Why does her mate run from her? Is it the fact that she’s a Lion to his Wolf? Her insane love affair with Sephora? Or could it be her family connections that are driving her mate away? 
    Ted Pedrozo loves his fiery Lioness with his whole being, but mating the sister of the Leo is a big, hairy deal. He’s terrified that the Leo will find him wanting, or worse—Charlie will. So what’s a dork in wolf’s clothing supposed to do when the perfect woman is his mate? Simple. He steers clear of her until she makes it impossible for him to do so. 
    When Sebastian Lowe, leader of the shifter world, comes to congratulate his sister on her mating, Ted is surprised by how well he gets along with the laid-back Leo. The Leo’s chief bodyguard, on the other hand, thinks Ted is less than worthy of the Leo’s sister and decides to test him. 
    Can Ted prove to both Sebastian and himself that Charlie will never be sorry she chose him?
    Show book
  • Kneel For Me - cover

    Kneel For Me

    Alicia Paris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dragged to a posh party by her best friend, Nicole expects a night sneaking expensive champagne and avoiding dull conversations. But then she meets Daniel, who sees right through her to her deepest desires, and offers her a night of passion that she'll never forget. 
    This is an adult story of over 4000 words containing graphic sexual content, submission, and domination.
    Show book
  • The Rogue Retrieval - cover

    The Rogue Retrieval

    Dan Koboldt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.  
    Sleight of hand…in another land 
    Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. 
    What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. 
    That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. 
     
    Show book
  • Color Blind - cover

    Color Blind

    Jonathan Santlofer

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Kate McKinnon is back -- and this time it's personal. 
    When two hideously eviscerated bodies are discovered and the only link between them is a bizarre painting left at each crime scene, the NYPD turns to former cop Kate McKinnon, the woman who brought the serial killer the Death Artist to justice. Having settled back into her satisfying life as art historian, published author, host of a weekly PBS television series, and wife of one of New York's top lawyers, Kate wants no part of it. 
    But Kate's sense of tranquility is shattered when this new sequence of murders strikes too close to home. With grief and fury to fuel her, she rejoins her former partner, detective Floyd Brown, and his elite homicide squad on the hunt for a vicious psychopath known as the Color-Blind Killer. In her rage and desperation, Kate allows herself to be drawn into a deadly game of cat and mouse. She abandons her glamorous life for the gritty streets of Manhattan, immersing herself in a world where brutality and madness appear to be the norm, where those closest to her may have betrayed her -- and where, in the end, nothing is what it seems.
    Show book
  • Skyblade's Gambit - The Skyblade Saga #1 - cover

    Skyblade's Gambit - The Skyblade...

    Robert Dahlen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Captain Annabel Skyblade commands the Peregrine, the most feared pirate airship to sail the skies of Aldarre, plundering the rich and powerful. The rulers of the great sky realms have had enough of her, and Victorie Brassfeld, Cerindel's top Navy intelligence agent, has a plan to capture the pirate, using a lure too strong to resist—a valuable, beautiful sapphire amulet. 
    But the amulet hides a great secret, and when it is stolen by sinister forces, Annabel and Victorie must join together to retrieve it. And as they face danger and adventure, they also have to face their feelings for each other, feelings they have never had before, when they discover... 
    Hearts can be stolen too.
    Show book
  • A Tiding of Magpies - Birder Murder Mystery 5 - cover

    A Tiding of Magpies - Birder...

    Steve Burrows

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Birder Murder series opener A SIEGE OF BITTERNS won the Arthur Ellis Award and was shortlisted for the Kobo Emerging Writers Award
    The Birder Murder series is set in Britain’s prime birding country in Norfolk
    The fifth instalment of the popular Birder Murder series
    Show book