Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Convenience Store Woman - cover

Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata

Translator Ginny Tapley Takemori

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Keiko Furukura had always been considered a strange child, and her parents always worried how she would get on in the real world, so when she takes on a job in a convenience store while at university, they are delighted for her. For her part, in the convenience store she finds a predictable world mandated by the store manual, which dictates how the workers should act and what they should say, and she copies her coworkers’ style of dress and speech patterns so that she can play the part of a normal person. However, eighteen years later, at age 36, she is still in the same job, has never had a boyfriend, and has only few friends. She feels comfortable in her life, but is aware that she is not living up to society’s expectations and causing her family to worry about her. When a similarly alienated but cynical and bitter young man comes to work in the store, he will upset Keiko’s contented stasis—but will it be for the better?  Sayaka Murata brilliantly captures the atmosphere of the familiar convenience store that is so much part of life in Japan. With some laugh-out-loud moments prompted by the disconnect between Keiko’s thoughts and those of the people around her, she provides a sharp look at Japanese society and the pressure to conform, as well as penetrating insights into the female mind. Convenience Store Woman is a fresh, charming portrait of an unforgettable heroine that recalls Banana Yoshimoto, Han Kang, and Amélie.

Other books that might interest you

  • Injustice for All - cover

    Injustice for All

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “In the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.”—Flint Journal  Injustice For All—riveting crime fiction from J.A. Jance featuring Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont—offers fans of Jance’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books a golden opportunity to enjoy a different side to the perennial New York Times bestselling author. Here a dead body on the beach and a screaming woman ensnare Beau in a case that gets darker and darker the deeper he investigates. Injustice for All, now in a Premium Plus edition, is classic Beau—proving the assertion by the Washington Times that “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”
    Show book
  • Long Way Down A - cover

    Long Way Down A

    Ken McCoy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Detective Inspector Sep Black finds himself investigating two connected cold cases in the second of this exhilarating series of hard-hitting police procedurals.
    
    When a wealthy businessman suffers a fatal fall from his office window, the forensic evidence points to murder. But with no suspects, no clues and no apparent motive, the police investigation stalls. It’s passed over to the Cold Case Unit where it remains on file, inactive until further evidence emerges.
    
    Some months later, an attractive widow approaches DI Sep Black with a request that he look into the murder of her husband. Freelance journalist James Boswell had been working on a major story – and his widow Sandra believes it had something to do with his death.  What did  Boswell discover that got him killed?
    
    As he starts to ask questions, Black uncovers a possible connection between the two murders. But before he can find out more, an almost-successful attempt on his life reveals that someone is determined to stop him finding out the truth – whatever it takes.
    Show book
  • Strain of Resistance - The Bixby Series #1 - cover

    Strain of Resistance - The Bixby...

    Michelle Bryan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I was 12 years old when the world ended. For eight years I've survived in this craphole once known as earth. Fighting the alien parasite that mutated most of the population into blood-thirsty freaks, while the rest of us became the lunch special on their alien menu. 
     
    Now things are changing and not for the better. The parasite is evolving. Becoming smarter, stronger, and deadlier. 
     
    They've already stolen everything from me. My home. My family. Even the man I loved. It's time for this to end once and for all. 
    My name is Bixby, and I'm the resistance. 
     
    Mature themes. 17+ Rating
    Show book
  • INDEFENSIBLE - The Kate Lange Thriller Series #2 - cover

    INDEFENSIBLE - The Kate Lange...

    Pamela Callow

    • 0
    • 23
    • 0
    Lawyer Kate Lange takes on an unwinnable case in the second book of the bestselling legal thriller series. For fans of John Grisham, Tess Gerritsen and James Patterson. 
    When Elise Vanderzell plummets from her bedroom balcony one gorgeous summer night, her children awaken to a nightmare. 
    Their mother is dead. 
    Their father is charged with her murder. 
    Lawyer Kate Lange knows all about nightmares. She’s survived the darkest period of her troubled life and the wounds are still raw. Now she’s been handed a case that seems utterly unwinnable:  defending her boss, high-profile lawyer Randall Barrett. A prosecutor’s dream suspect, Randall is a man who was cuckolded by his ex-wife. A man who could not control his temper. A man who had argued bitterly with the victim the previous day in full view of his children. 
    With limited criminal law experience, Kate finds herself enmeshed in a family fractured by doubt. Randall’s teenage son is intent on killing him. His daughter wants only to feel safe again. And the entire legal community would like nothing better than to see Randall receive a public comeuppance. As Kate races to stay a step ahead of the prosecution, a silent predator is waiting for the perfect time to deal the final blow. 
    "Indefensible is a superbly plotted and suspenseful thriller…” 
    —Omnimystery 
    "Lawyer Kate Lange is back with another case that will test her courtroom skills, judgment and nerves. The suspense is intense, the action shocking and the plot intriguing.” 
    —RT Book Reviews, 4.5 stars out of 4.5 stars 
    "Do yourself a favor and jump in the middle of these amazing books. You won't be able to put them down until the final page." 
    —Fresh Fiction 
    Book 2 of the Kate Lange Thriller Series 
    422 Pages
    Show book
  • Rudyard Kipling Collection - cover

    Rudyard Kipling Collection

    Rudyard Kipling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Jungle Book
    Just So Stories
    Kim
    The Man Who Would Be King
    Indian Tales
    
    "Now Rann the Kite brings home the night That Mang the Bat sets free— The herds are shut in byre and hut For loosed till dawn are we. This is the hour of pride and power, Talon and tush and claw. Oh, hear the call!—Good hunting all That keep the Jungle Law! Night-Song in the Jungle "
    Show book
  • The Sicilian Woman's Daughter - Four generations of mafia women - cover

    The Sicilian Woman's Daughter -...

    Linda Lo Scuro

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Most victims of the mafia are the Sicilians themselves. The role of women both as perpetrators and victims has been grossly overlooked. Until now.   
    As the daughter of Sicilian immigrants, in her teens Maria turns her back on her origins and fully embraces the English way of life. Notwithstanding her troubled and humble childhood in London, and backed up by her intelligence, beauty and sheer determination, she triumphantly works her way up to join the upper middle-class of British society. There she becomes a bastion of civility.   
    But a minor incident wakes up feelings of revenge in her like those lurking in Maria's Sicilian origins. As she delves deeper into her mother's family history a murky past unravels, drawing Maria more and more into a mire of vendetta.
    
     
    
    
     
    Reviews
     
    “The charm of reading
    this book is that: always, and I mean always, the reader is satisfied
    with the result.” - Manuela Iordache
    
     
    
    “Wow – this is a great story!” - Phil Rowan
    
     
    "An
    enthralling read on many levels.” - Book
    Trail
    
     
    “It’s a must-read for
    mystery lovers.” - Carolyn
    Bowen
    
     
    “A cracking good
    read” - Ann Gough
    
     
    “This
    is an addictive read from page one to last and thoroughly
    enjoyable!” - Janet Cousineau
    
     
    “Insightful,
    well written and I found the pace just right” - Dawn
    D’auvin 
    
     
    “Certainly exciting and
    riveting reading.” - Emma B Books
    
     
    “I enjoyed it very much!”
    - Mary Weimer
    
     
    “I
    really enjoyed the book.” - Pamela
    Lewis
    
     
    **
    
     
    About the Author 
    
     
    Linda Lo Scuro lives in London. This is her first novel.
    Show book