Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Convenience Store Woman - cover

Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata

Translator Ginny Tapley Takemori

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Keiko Furukura had always been considered a strange child, and her parents always worried how she would get on in the real world, so when she takes on a job in a convenience store while at university, they are delighted for her. For her part, in the convenience store she finds a predictable world mandated by the store manual, which dictates how the workers should act and what they should say, and she copies her coworkers’ style of dress and speech patterns so that she can play the part of a normal person. However, eighteen years later, at age 36, she is still in the same job, has never had a boyfriend, and has only few friends. She feels comfortable in her life, but is aware that she is not living up to society’s expectations and causing her family to worry about her. When a similarly alienated but cynical and bitter young man comes to work in the store, he will upset Keiko’s contented stasis—but will it be for the better?  Sayaka Murata brilliantly captures the atmosphere of the familiar convenience store that is so much part of life in Japan. With some laugh-out-loud moments prompted by the disconnect between Keiko’s thoughts and those of the people around her, she provides a sharp look at Japanese society and the pressure to conform, as well as penetrating insights into the female mind. Convenience Store Woman is a fresh, charming portrait of an unforgettable heroine that recalls Banana Yoshimoto, Han Kang, and Amélie.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Child's Garden of Death - cover

    A Child's Garden of Death

    Richard Forrest

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A children’s book author and his wife investigate an impossible murder that’s over thirty years old in this intelligent, absorbing small-town thriller. Murphysville hasn’t seen a triple homicide since the Indian raids. But when an anonymous tip sends police investigators digging in a remote field, they find three rotting skeletons. One of them is missing an arm and another is that of a child who died with a doll clutched to her chest, the only clue to the grisly murders. Clearly, life in  Lyon Wentworth’s cozy Connecticut suburb is far darker than it once seemed.   A children’s book author and hot-air balloonist, Lyon has a personal stake in this unsolved crime: He lost a little girl long ago. With the help of his wife, Bea, a no-nonsense state senator who’s losing her hearing but not her quick wit, Lyon pursues the investigation even after the police pronounce the cold case impossible to solve. Lyon and Bea will find justice for the girl who died in the ditch—or they’ll die trying.   Richard Forrest’s thrillers are uniquely realistic, showing ordinary people grappling with horrible crimes. This gripping page-turner introduced the world to Lyon and Bea Wentworth, a husband-and-wife sleuthing team in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett’s Nick and Nora Charles.   A Child’s Garden of Death is the 1st book in the Lyon and Bea Wentworth Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • A Baby for the Dragon - Dragons of Lake City #1 - cover

    A Baby for the Dragon - Dragons...

    Kellan Larkin

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Can a human help thaw the frozen heart of this dragon? 
     
    Wesley Drach has been alone for nearly a century. The dragon shifter built his hoard from scratch and is now one of the wealthiest men in the city. But what's the point of all that if you don't have anyone to share it with? That's what Wesley realizes when the handsome, clueless human Noah walks through his door. 
     
    All Noah wants is to climb the career ladder and enjoy life in the big city. But when he meets Wesley, CEO of the firm his company is working with, all he can think about is the brooding, aloof millionaire. When the two find themselves alone together, the sparks fly. Things will never be the same again... 
     
    When Noah gets pregnant, Wesley discovers his long lost family, and the big secret of his shifter status is revealed, the budding relationship hits the rocks. Are the two destined to be together for life? 
     
    Find out in A Baby for the Dragon! 
     
    This standalone, 40,000+ word novella has a HEA. No cheating, no cliffhangers. Inside, you'll find an adorable shifter baby and plenty of sweet and steamy scenes!
    Show book
  • Six Shiny Silver Coins and the Ridiculous Ruckus They Caused - The Numbers Just Keep Getting Bigger #0 - cover

    Six Shiny Silver Coins and the...

    Emily Martha Sorensen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "The Fates see all and hear all. The king will perform a great act of generosity before the sun sets this day." 
       
    The king is horrified to hear this, and immediately throws six silver coins out into the crowd to get the prophecy over with before something worse happens. 
       
    Naturally, Henina catches one. 
       
    And, naturally, pandemonium ensues.
    Show book
  • The Ranch - cover

    The Ranch

    Erin Lee, Chelsi Davis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Every business starts with a market and a need. 
    It was obvious when Heather got out of a quick stint in county lock-up that there was a need for someone to give karma a little shove in the right direction. 
    We’ve all been there. We know the pain of moving on. But what if, Heather and Suzie wondered, moving on could be pain—guaranteed—for the ones who’d hurt them? 
    Welcome to The Ranch: 
    A place where clients are encouraged to order justice ala carte. Torture by the stripping of fingernails? That will cost you $100 a nail. Maybe, if you’re a repeat customer, set on a two-for-one, we’ll give you a deal. It will be worth it. We promise. Because moving on? Well that’s painful…
    Show book
  • To Catch a Queen - Fairy Tale #2 - cover

    To Catch a Queen - Fairy Tale #2

    Shanna Swendson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown – especially the crown of the fairy realm… 
    Sophie Drake has made a promise, and she never breaks her word. She will free Michael Murray’s long-lost wife from the fairy realm even if her intensifying feelings for him make it the most painful thing she’s ever done. 
    But Sophie is running out of time. Dark fae forces are stirring, threatening the human world. To make matters worse, humans are being cast out of the Realm, whether or not they want to leave, and the shock from these sudden evictions can even prove fatal. It’s only a matter of time before it happens to Michael’s wife. 
    All this in the name of the fairy queen. 
    Stunned, Sophie knows this is impossible because she’s the queen. She won the throne fair and square, through trials and blood. 
    Now she must find and fight an impostor for a crown she never wanted in order to save both the Realm and the human world.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book