The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Convenience Store Woman - A Novel - cover

Convenience Store Woman - A Novel

Sayaka Murata

Translator Ginny Tapley Takemori

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

The English-language debut of one of Japan’s most talented contemporary writers, selling over 650,000 copies there, Convenience Store Woman is the heartwarming and surprising story of thirty-six-year-old Tokyo resident Keiko Furukura. Keiko has never fit in, neither in her family, nor in school, but when at the age of eighteen she begins working at the Hiiromachi branch of “Smile Mart,” she finds peace and purpose in her life. In the store, unlike anywhere else, she understands the rules of social interaction—many are laid out line by line in the store’s manual—and she does her best to copy the dress, mannerisms, and speech of her colleagues, playing the part of a “normal” person excellently, more or less. Managers come and go, but Keiko stays at the store for eighteen years. It’s almost hard to tell where the store ends and she begins. Keiko is very happy, but the people close to her, from her family to her coworkers, increasingly pressure her to find a husband, and to start a proper career, prompting her to take desperate action…
 

A brilliant depiction of an unusual psyche and a world hidden from view, Convenience Store Woman is an ironic and sharp-eyed look at contemporary work culture and the pressures to conform, as well as a charming and completely fresh portrait of an unforgettable heroine.

Other books that might interest you

  • Last Exit to Brooklyn - A Novel - cover

    Last Exit to Brooklyn - A Novel

    Hubert Selby

    • 0
    • 33
    • 0
    “An extraordinary achievement . . . a vision of hell so stern it cannot be chuckled or raged aside.”—The New York Times Book ReviewA classic of postwar American literature, Last Exit to Brooklyn created shock waves upon its release in 1964 with its raw, vibrant language and startling revelations of New York City’s underbelly.  The prostitutes, drunks, addicts, and johns of Selby’s Brooklyn are fierce and lonely creatures, desperately searching for a moment of transcendence amidst the decay and brutality of the waterfront—though none have any real hope of escape.  Last Exit to Brooklyn offers a disturbing yet hauntingly sensitive portrayal of American life, and nearly fifty years after publication, it stands as a crucial and masterful work of modern fiction.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Hubert Selby Jr. including rare photos from the author’s estate.
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • Cleaning the Gold - A Jack Reacher and Will Trent Short Story - cover

    Cleaning the Gold - A Jack...

    Karin Slaughter, Lee Child

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THE NEW SHORT STORY FROM KARIN SLAUGHTER AND LEE CHILD!  
    Jack Reacher and Will Trent 
      
    Twice the action. 
    Twice the drama. 
    Double the trouble.  
    Will Trent is undercover at Fort Knox. His assignment: to investigate a twenty-two-year-old murder.  His suspect's name: Jack Reacher. 
    Jack Reacher is in Fort Knox on his own mission: to bring down a dangerous criminal ring operating at the heart of America’s military.  Except now Will Trent is on the scene. 
    But there’s a bigger conspiracy at play – one that neither the special agent nor the ex-military cop could have anticipated. And the only option is for Jack Reacher and Will Trent to team up and play nicely. If they can…
    Show book
  • Where Satan Rules - cover

    Where Satan Rules

    Prabhav Bhagat

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Before my time too, there have been cases of a ghost writing a journal to tell the truth about his life ... 
    Mike Carterson is hounded by death. When the Japanese bomb Pearl Harbour, his parents are killed-along with thousands of other Americans. Mike and his friend Alex Gutherburg land up in an orphanage, from which they run away to try to cross the mighty Pacific in a small boat. 
    When death looms again, they are saved by the  SS Atlantic of the US Navy. Their fun life on board, however, is suddenly interrupted when their ship is given a strange assignment: to investigate the mysterious disappearances in the Bermuda Triangle. 
    Mike and Alex are tormented by strange premonitions of the doom that awaits them in the Bermuda Triangle but the captain of the ship pays no heed to their warnings. And as the SS Atlantic enters the 'Devil's Triangle', they begin to encounter forces never imagined which spell doom not only for them but for all of humanity ...  
    What are the chilling secrets that the Bermuda Triangle hides? Will Mike and Alex survive in the realm where Satan rules?
    Show book
  • 999 - New Stories Of Horror And Suspense - cover

    999 - New Stories Of Horror And...

    Al Sarrantonio

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    A ward-winning writer and editor Al Sarrantonio gathers together twenty-nine original stories from masters of the macabre. From dark fantasy and pure suspense to classic horror tales of vampires and zombies, 999 showcases the extraordinary scope of fantastical fright fiction. The stories in this anthology are a relentless tour de force of fear, which will haunt you, terrify you, and keep the adrenaline rushing all through the night.
    Show book
  • The Leap - cover

    The Leap

    Sophie Avory

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The same golden September morning the town pathologists' teenage daugher is discovered hanging off a tree in the woods above Assisi (Umbria, Italy), the high-powered planning director of Perugia narrowly escapes death in a paragliding accident.  Commissario Lorenzetti senses foul play.  The police department is overstretched and he asks his best friend and fellow investigator Sister Lucia to look into the suicide.  But will her judgement be clouded by her own guilty secret?
     
    This is a story about leaps - real and metaphorical, taken and not taken.
    Show book