Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Girl in Bed Three - cover

Girl in Bed Three

Sarah Sheridan

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

“Wow . . . had me gripped from the first page . . . I honestly couldn't stop reading.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA victim of crime may actually be a criminal in this twisting tale of psychological suspense by the author of Devil’s Play. When Sophie Macreavey wakes up in the hospital, suffering from stab wounds, detectives are quick to question her—hoping to make sense of the horrific scene where she was found. Sophie’s adoptive parents and sister are dead. Her brothers are missing. Sophie can’t remember anything—but reveals the abusive nightmare she’s been through as part of the family. The social worker assigned to her case eventually brings Sophie home, but soon notices discrepancies in Sophie’s story. She claims she hadn’t been allowed to use technology, yet there’s a social media account, extensive messages between herself and a boy, and videos of Sophie online. The more that comes out, the worse it looks for Sophie. She has told some lies. But will the full truth be uncovered?
Available since: 02/21/2022.
Print length: 222 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Connection Trilogy - Blood Red Code Blue Mortal Green - cover

    The Connection Trilogy - Blood...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three novels starring the dedicated investigators at the Connection Investigation Agency: “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller.” —Avonna Loves Genres The Connection Investigation Agency team takes on crimes old and new in this collection of thrillers by the bestselling author, including:Blood Red The Connection Investigation Agency has seen big changes, and new partners Tessa, Luke, and Beth have taken over. Just as the agency reopens, a body is discovered in the office outhouse, and their first case begins with bones that have lain undiscovered for twenty-five years. Luke takes on the challenge of solving his first solo case, while former DI Tessa digs into the murders of two women who received threatening notes. But as the agency digs deeper into the past and a link between the two cases is revealed, will it help or hinder?Code Blue Five years ago, John and Caroline Coates were happily expecting the birth of twin girls—until an intruder ended their dreams. Now, John has come to the agency for help tracking down the man who caused them such grief. Back then, Tessa’s involvement was cut short when the cold case department quickly took over. This is a chance for her and Luke to follow the facts and finally lay this case to rest—but will the truth they reveal bring the Coateses the peace they crave or take them to further depths of despair?Mortal Green An author has moved into Leaf Cottage for a month-long research break in Eyam. When she disappears during a long walk around the village, no one misses her, presuming she’s working in solitude on her novel. Then her husband contacts the agency, and when they find the cottage empty, it’s only the beginning of a twisting trail of danger . . .
    Show book
  • Devil's Play - cover

    Devil's Play

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A secret society’s dark truths come to light when murder disrupts their circle in this riveting psychological mystery by the author of The Convent. 
     
    Four troubled students have come together as an unlikely group of friends after joining an underground society at university—based around the celebration and practices of New Satanism. It is run by a charismatic and beautiful sociopath named Dillon, who exerts a strange power over Eleanor, Hunter, Natalie, and Seth. 
     
    Now their unhealthy bond has set in motion a chain of events that no one could have seen coming. When one of the friends dies unexpectedly, the police initially believe it’s accidental. But the victim’s father is convinced otherwise, and a spotlight is turned on the secret society and its members. The question is not only who is responsible for the murder, but exactly what sort of darkness lies behind it . . .
    Show book
  • A Slice of Murder - cover

    A Slice of Murder

    Marissa De Luna

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A groom-to-be is cut down at his engagement party, and solving the case won’t be a piece of cake . . . Shilpa Silanki’s talent is making sure that special occasions are accompanied by special cakes, and her first booking after her move to Devon, England—where she’s inherited a house in Otter’s Reach—is a posh engagement party for Mason Connolly and Harriet Drew. Unfortunately, a knife has been used for something other than cutting the cake. Now Shilpa is working to uncover layers of secrets and scandals in hopes of identifying the killer who permanently parted Mason and Harriet—and before she’s done, someone else might get iced . . .
    Show book
  • The Dark Flood - cover

    The Dark Flood

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Disappearances ensnare two South African detectives in a web of corruption in this stunning thriller by the Barry Award–winning author of The Last Hunt.   Assigned to investigate the disappearance of a young university student and brilliant computer programmer detectives Benny Griessel and Vaughn Cupido hit dead ends. But the trail—including the death of a fellow police officer—leads to a series of gun heists and the alarming absence of certain weapons from the police registry, the ramifications of which could be devastating.   As Griessel and Cupido intensify their search, real estate agent Sandra Steenberg confronts her own crisis: state corruption has caused the real estate market to crash, exacerbating the dire financial straits facing her family. She puts aside her misgivings to work for a notorious billionaire and playboy, only to have him disappear on her. Now Griessel is forced to juggle between the man’s bitter wife, protective lawyer, and Steenberg, the last person to see him alive.   With propulsive and intricate plotting, sharp prose, and an ending that takes one’s breath away just when the dust seems to have settled, The Dark Flood spotlights the state capture and corruption that has overtaken the country, lending political weight to a powerful story.  Praise for the Benny Griessel series   “[An] outstanding series.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters.” —Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times–bestselling author   “The undisputed champion of South African crime. Meyer grabs you by the throat and never lets you go.” —Wilbur Smith, New York Times–bestselling author
    Show book
  • Blood White and Blue - A Gripping Crime Thriller - cover

    Blood White and Blue - A...

    James Silvester

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this gripping spy thriller, post-Brexit tensions are high across the UK, and the fate of the nation is in the hands of a desperate agent.  
     
    Britain is a hotbed of racial discord and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected Member of Parliament, can ease tensions. But as tenuous talks begin, a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees. 
     
    Lucie Musilova is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she has no choice but to accept an assignment with a secret branch of intelligence services. As the Hartnel case—and her mysterious role in it—spiral out of control, one false move could cost future of the nation . . . not to mention Lucie’s life.
    Show book
  • Submerged - cover

    Submerged

    Thomas F. Monteleone

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “An epic thriller about a secret Nazi submarine and its mission . . . a tasty combination of Ken Follett and Clive Cussler” from the award-winning author (The Novel Pursuit).   Cruising from the sub pens of Trondheim under the cover of darkness—undetected by the sonar scans of Allied enemies—Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner leads the experimental submarine U-5001 in a last-ditch effort for Nazi victory. But their sinister 1945 voyage ends mysteriously: Bruckner and his crew vanish, along with their classified weapon of mass destruction.   Seventy years later, ex-Navy diver Dexter Bucklin stumbles upon an unknown vessel in the depths of the Chesapeake Bay and is consumed with the need to discover its original, terrifying mission—inadvertently alerting a worldwide cabal that knows all about the U-5001 . . . and the keys it holds to even greater secrets.   A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged follows both Bruckner and Bucklin in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and horror—Lovecraftian tales at their most strange. As these men’s lives converge, a third element surfaces, influencing the Kapitaenleutnant and the ex-Navy diver to make increasingly desperate decisions, ones that will shape the future of civilization.   Thomas F. Monteleone expertly blends history, fact, and fiction with a subtle dose of the supernatural in this Lovecraftian page-turner.  Praise for Thomas F. Monteleone   “Monteleone has a dark imagination, a wicked pen, and the rare ability to convey an evil chill with words.” —Dean Koontz, New York Times–bestselling author   “Tom’s an expert storyteller.” —F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep and Deep as the Marrow   “A vastly entertaining novel of horror and suspense [that poses] difficult questions about the nature of man, God and the devil.” —Los Angeles Daily News
    Show book