Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Death Notes - cover

Death Notes

Sarah Rayne

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

Introducing professional researcher Phineas Fox in the first of a brand-new series of chilling mysteries.

Phineas Fox has mixed feelings when he's asked to research the infamous 19th-century violinist Roman Volf for a TV documentary. Hanged for his part in the assassination of Tsar Alexander II in 1881, Volf was a notorious criminal and womaniser, whose glittering talent was undermined by his scandalous private life. However, on uncovering evidence which suggests that Volf could not have been involved in the Tsar's murder, Phin's investigations lead him to the west coast of Ireland - and a series of intriguing, interlocking mysteries reaching from 1881 to the present day.   

Was Roman Volf executed for something he didn't do? And what is his connection with the reclusive Maxim Volf now living in County Galway? Phin's enquiries will unearth a number of dark secrets which lurk below the surface of the quiet Irish village of Kilcarne.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Small Case for Inspector Ghote? - cover

    A Small Case for Inspector Ghote?

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shy, self-questioning Inspector Ghote, ‘one of the great creations of detective fiction’ (Alexander McCall Smith), faces a crisis of conscience when he is asked to ignore the murder of an unimportant colleague
    Newly-promoted Inspector Ganesh Ghote is not having a good morning. His office is too hot, his assistant Bikram is late for work and he can’t concentrate on his interminable paperwork, distracted by an insistent, unpleasant smell. Ghote’s day does not improve when he discovers its horrible source: Bikram’s severed head, wrapped in newspaper and stuffed in his office rubbish bin.
    Who would want to kill a lowly peon? And why would they plant the evidence in the heart of the Bombay Police Crime Branch? Ghote is already planning where to start his investigations when he’s brought up short: his new boss, the forbidding Assistant Commissioner Divekar, thinks the crime altogether unsuitable for their department, and orders him to quietly dispose of the body . . .
    A Small Case for Inspector Ghote H. R. F. Keating’s last novel, takes readers on a journey back to Ghote’s first official case, giving fans and new readers alike an intimate peek into the thoughts and feelings of one of detective fiction’s most human and engaging creations.
    Show book
  • A Sanctuary of Spirits - cover

    A Sanctuary of Spirits

    Leanna Renee Hieber

    • 4
    • 23
    • 0
    As the twentieth century approaches, New York’s Ghost Precinct crosses a threshold into the land of the dead in this paranormal gaslamp mystery.  New York City, 1899. The NYPD’s Ghost Precinct, an all-female team of psychics and spiritualists led by gifted young medium Eve Whitby, is unconventional to say the least. And now they’re stepping even further outside the bounds of normal police work—into an otherworldly realm known as the Ghost Sanctuary. It’s a place where the dead can provide answers. But will Eve and her colleagues pay a price for venturing beyond the land of the living?   Investigating a mortician’s sudden disappearance, Eve encounters a charismatic magician and mesmerist whose abilities are unlike any she’s seen before. Is he connected to the mysterious deaths around the city—or a link to the Ghost Sanctuary? Torn between the bonds of her team and her growing relationship with the dashing Detective Horowitz, Eve must discern truth from illusion and friend from foe before another soul vanishes into the ether.  Praise for The Eterna Files “Smart, boundlessly creative gaslamp fantasy.” —RT Book Reviews   “Will have readers chomping at the bit for more.” —Suspense Magazine on Eterna and Omega
    Show book
  • Long Silence The - A 1920s' Hollywood noir mystery - cover

    Long Silence The - A 1920s'...

    Gerard O'Donovan

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing Irish-born cop turned private investigator Tom Collins in the first of a brand-new historical mystery series. February, 1922.  Hollywood is young but already mired in scandal. When a leading movie director is murdered, Irish-American investigator Tom Collins is called in by studio boss Mack Sennett, whose troubled star, Mabel Normand, is rumoured to be involved.But Normand has gone missing.  And, as Collins discovers, there’s a growing list of suspects.  His quest leads him through the brutal heart of Prohibition-era Los Angeles, from speakeasies and dope dens to the studios and salons of Hollywood’s fabulously wealthy movie elite, and to a secret so explosive it must be kept silent at any cost … Inspired by the unsolved real-life murder of movie director William Desmond Taylor, The Long Silence is the first in a richly evocative, instantly compelling series of new noir mysteries set in Hollywood’s early days.
    Show book
  • A Circle of Dead Girls - cover

    A Circle of Dead Girls

    Eleanor Kuhns

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A circus arrives in Durham in the 1790s and the whole town is excited… until the body of a Shaker girl is found beaten.
    1790s. The circus has arrived in Durham, Maine. Before weaver Will Rees is able to take in its spectacle, he spots Magistrate Hanson – the man he blames for his family’s having to flee Dugard two years earlier.
    On his journey home he encounters Shaker brothers searching for a girl from their Zion community. Despite women not being allowed inside the circus, Leah had snuck out to visit it. They quickly come across her lifeless body beaten and thrown into a farmer’s field on the road leading to the circus.
    Bored of his household chores, Rees begins investigating at the expense of his home life. He becomes entranced by the lives of the circus performers, including the charismatic horse rider and tightrope walker. Is his longing for his old journeyman’s life causing him to take his eye off the case, and can he stay out of Hanson’s way and keep his family safe?
    Show book
  • In Winter's Grip - cover

    In Winter's Grip

    Brenda Chapman

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    After her mothers suicide, Maja Cleary turned her back on her family and Duved Cove, Minnesotauntil a desperate phone call reveals that her father has been murdered and her brother Jonas is the prime suspect. She flies home, knowing that she will have to confront shared memories of an abusive father. Even as she works to prove her brothers innocence, she cannot ignore the evidence that he had every reason to kill their father. The frigid, stormy Minnesota landscape sets the mood as she battles against time, the local police and the relentless snow.
    Show book
  • Risking It All - cover

    Risking It All

    Stephanie Harte

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Gemma is about to risk it all for the man she loves. Will she survive entering into a life of crime? 
     
    Gemma has always been there for Nathan. He's the love of her life and she made a commitment to him, one she'd never consider breaking... until smooth-talking gangster Alfie Watson comes into their lives and changes everything. 
     
    Alfie doesn't care about true love – he wants Gemma, and the gangster always gets what he wants. When Nathan ends up owing him money, Alfie gets payback by recruiting Gemma to carry out a jewellery heist. To everyone's surprise, she's a natural. Until Alfie forgives Nathan's debt, she has no choice but to accompany the gangster on more and more daring heists – even though one slip-up could cost her everything. 
     
    Nathan might have fallen under Alfie's spell, but it doesn't take long for him to realise that he needs to save Gemma from his own mistakes if their marriage is to have any chance of surviving. But when that means taking on the East End's most notorious gangster at his own game, will he find himself up to the challenge? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Emma Tallon and Jessie Keane.
    Show book