Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Throne of Glass - cover

Throne of Glass

Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 7
  • 39
  • 1

Summary

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin. 
 
Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king's council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she'll serve the kingdom for three years and then be granted her freedom.  
 
Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she's bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her... but it's the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best. 
 
Then one of the other contestants turns up dead... quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

Other books that might interest you

  • Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend of the Rift - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 5: The Legend...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the final installment of the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    Jack, Marco, Cass, and Aly’s quest to find the seven magic orbs buried beneath each of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World has hit a perilous snag. King Uhla’ar has kidnapped Aly and taken her and an orb back through a rift in time. A giant, merciless behemoth guards the opening, and so Jack and his friends realize that their only hope to rescue Aly is to rush to find the rest of the lost Loculi. This mission takes them around the world—to the Temple of Artemis to fend off a mighty army and then to the Lighthouse of Alexandria, where they wind up swallowed in the belly of a beast. But before all is said and done, they must return to where it all began, to Atlantis, to save Aly, themselves…and the world. 
    Don’t miss The Legend of the Rift, the epic finale to Peter Lerangis’s earth-shattering, New York Times bestselling adventure series, Seven Wonders.
    Show book
  • Love Bites - The Unofficial Saga of Twilight - cover

    Love Bites - The Unofficial Saga...

    Liv Spencer

    • 0
    • 25
    • 0
    Centering on the Stephenie Meyer books, the cast of the Twilight films, and the dedicated fan base, this full-color tribute showcases all the pieces of the phenomenon surrounding the epic love story between a young woman and a vampire. Along with invaluable background information and insight into this star-crossed lovers' tale, this essential fan bible covers everything from getting the series published to adapting the books for the screen. Bios of Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart, Taylor Lautner, and other cast members are also featured along with details on conventions, events, and Twilight crafts — this is truly a must-have companion to the supernatural saga for legions of fans everywhere.
    Show book
  • TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama - cover

    TBH #3: TBH Too Much Drama

    Lisa Greenwald

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Told entirely in text messages, the third book in this addictive series from the acclaimed author of 11 Before 12 is perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rachel Renee Russell. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
      
    Cece, Gabby, and Prianka can’t wait for Spirit Week, aka the last week of school before summer break! And they’re already making plans for the best summer ever—including a friends-only camping trip, plenty of pool time, and a top-secret shared notebook. 
    But between Pajama Day and pizza parties, Gabby accidentally leaks Cece’s most embarrassing secret to the whole school in a meme that goes viral. Half the squad thinks it’s no big deal, but Cece needs a time-out from all the drama—even if that means taking a break from her best friends.
    Show book
  • The Timekeeper's Moon - cover

    The Timekeeper's Moon

    Joni Sensel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Ariel Farwalker hears the moon talking to her, she thinks she must be going crazy. Then she discovers an ancient map, and learns that the moon is part of a mysterious summons that's calling her on a new journey.  
    With her surly guardian Scarl by her side, Ariel sets out on an adventure that leads her to new friends-the beautiful Flame-Mage Sienna and the mute boy Nace, who captures Ariel's heart. As the four travel on, strange things start to happen-fragments of Ariel's past appear in the present, so that it seems that time itself is coming undone. At the end of the journey, Ariel will learn where her journey began, and have a chance to save her life as she knows it.
    Show book
  • One Past Midnight - cover

    One Past Midnight

    Jessica Shirvington

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Sabine isn't like anyone else. For as long as she can remember, she's had two lives. Every twenty-four hours she 'Shifts', living each day twice. In one life, Sabine has everything: popular friends, expensive clothes, perfect grades, and the guy everyone wants. In the other, Sabine's family struggles with finances, and she and her friends are considered rebels. But then she meets Ethan. He's gorgeous, challenging, and he makes her feel like no one ever has before. 
     
    All Sabine really wants is the chance to live one life. When it seems like this might finally be possible, Sabine begins a series of dangerous experiments to achieve her goal. But is she willing to risk everything-including the one person who might actually believe her?
    Show book
  • The Arrow of Apollo - cover

    The Arrow of Apollo

    Philip Womack

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Philip Womack has written six acclaimed books for children including 2016's The Double Axe, which was chosen as one of the Telegraph's 'Children's Books of the Year'.He is a classicist by background, and the book spins fascinating new stories out of Greek myth in a gripping, fast-flowing style for readers aged eleven and up.For fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson books, In the Shadow of Heroes by Nicholas Bowling, Troy by Adèle Geras and Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver.
    Show book