Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Astronomy - cover

Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Astronomy

Sarafina Nance

Publisher: Gibbs Smith

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Join author Sarafina Nance, a real-life astrophysicist and one of Forbes magazine "30 inspirational women," as she guides you through 22 pages of fun facts all about the universe. Get lost in captivating illustrations and text about that big wide-open space above us. Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Astronomy is illustrated by Greg Paprocki.

Other books that might interest you

  • Suddenly in the Depths of the Forest - cover

    Suddenly in the Depths of the...

    Amos Oz

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Oz conjures up a fairy story in which we may well recognize ourselves, our history and our nations . . . be prepared simply to be enchanted.” —The Guardian 
     
    In a gray and gloomy village, all of the animals—from dogs and cats to fish and snails—disappeared years before. No one talks about it and no one knows why, though everyone agrees that the village has been cursed. But when two children see a fish—a tiny one and just for a second—they become determined to unravel the mystery of where the animals have gone. And so they travel into the depths of the forest with that mission in mind, terrified and hopeful about what they may encounter. 
     
    From the internationally bestselling author Amos Oz, this is a hauntingly beautiful fable for both children and adults about tolerance, loneliness, denial, and remembrance. 
     
    “In this swiftly moving fable, Oz creates palpable tension with a repetitive, almost hypnotic rhythm and lyrical language that twists a discussion-provoking morality tale into something much more enchanting.” —Booklist 
     
    “Short, poetic, and haunting, the book operates on a plane of mystery somewhere between fable and fairy tale . . . The great beauty of this story is the rhythm and clarity of its evocative language.” —New York Journal of Books 
     
    “From the whispered tales of a local monster to the brash, spunky heroes on a quest, internationally acclaimed Israeli author Oz litters his story with fairy-tale tropes that give this narrative a fable-like quality; the atmosphere is intriguingly secretive and shadowed, but the prose is measured and accessible and the length manageable.” —The Bulletin
    Show book
  • Old Macdonald Had a Farm - cover

    Old Macdonald Had a Farm

    Dana Regan

    • 2
    • 33
    • 0
    On that farm he had a dog, cow, pigs, ducks, sheep, horses and chickens! Everyone's favorite childhood farm comes alive in this beautifully illustrated book!
    Show book
  • When Light Left Us - cover

    When Light Left Us

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    * "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
     
    * "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
     
    When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
      
     Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
     
    In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
     
    Because You'll Never Meet Me 
    A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist
    Show book
  • The Animal ABCs - Randall's Rhymes and Toddlers Treats - cover

    The Animal ABCs - Randall's...

    Randy Halterman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A is for Animals, Alligators, and Ants you will findB is for Bees, Butterflies, and Birds of all kindsC is for Cats and Canaries and all Creeping thingsD is for Dinosaurs, Dragons, and Dogs jumping through rings 
    Animals of all kinds get their chance to shine as their letters come up in the alphabet. Learn The Animal ABCs in this adorable second audiobook of Randall's Rhymes and Toddler Treats.
    Show book
  • The Opal Quest - DragonChild book 2 - cover

    The Opal Quest - DragonChild book 2

    Gill Vickery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When the DragonQueen's Jewels of Power were stolen by the six sister-witches, the dragons were banished from the land of Tulay. They took with them a human child as hostage. Tia has been raised by the dragons and considers them her family. But when she learns that her mother is one of the sister witches, she must prove herself to be a true DragonChild by retrieving the jewels, with the aid of her DragonBrother.  
     
    In this second exciting adventure, Tia goes after the jewel that gives its possessor the power to shift shape.
    Show book
  • Chirp - cover

    Chirp

    Kate Messner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "[A] deftly layered mystery about family, friendship, and the struggle to speak up." - Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Shout 
     
    From acclaimed author Kate Messner comes the powerful story of a young girl with the courage to make her voice heard, set against the backdrop of a summertime mystery. 
     
    When Mia moves to Vermont the summer after seventh grade, she's recovering from the broken arm she got falling off a balance beam. And packed away in the moving boxes under her clothes and gymnastics trophies is a secret she'd rather forget. 
                     
    Mia's change in scenery brings day camp, new friends, and time with her beloved grandmother. But Gram is convinced someone is trying to destroy her cricket farm. Is it sabotage or is Gram's thinking impaired from the stroke she suffered months ago? Mia and her friends set out to investigate, but can they uncover the truth in time to save Gram's farm? And will that discovery empower Mia to confront the secret she's been hiding--and find the courage she never knew she had?  
      
    In a compelling story rich with friendship, science, and summer fun, a girl finds her voice while navigating the joys and challenges of growing up.
    Show book