Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Girl in the Castle - A Novel - cover

We are sorry! This book has not been processed correctly and we are currently working to make it available as soon as possible. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

The Girl in the Castle - A Novel

Santa Montefiore

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Ireland. The early twentieth century.  
  
Two girls on the cusp of womanhood. A nation on the brink of war.  
  
Read their story — and see why JOJO Moyes says that "Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore."  
  
Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle Deverill, on the sunning green ghills of West Cork, Ireland — the same place her ancestors have always dwelled. She isn't fully Irish, as the son of the local veterinarian likes to tease her; but this doesn't stop Kitty and Jack O'Leary from falling in love...  
  
Bridie Doyle, daughter to Castle Deverill's cook, cherishes her friendship with Kitty. Yet she can’t help dreaming of someday having wealth, having glamour, having... more. And when she discovers Kitty's darkest secret, Bridie finds herself growing to resent the girl in the castle who seems to have it all. 
  
As Irish and British forces collide in Southern Ireland, Jack enlists to fight — and Kitty throws herself into the cause for Irish liberty, running messages and ammunition between the rebels. But , her allegiance to her family and her friends will soon be tested... and when Castle Deverill comes under attack, the only home and life she’s ever known are threatened.  
  
A powerful story of love, loyalty, and friendship, The Girl in the Castle is an exquisitely written novel set against the magical, captivating landscape of Ireland — perfect for fans of DOWNTON ABBEY and KATE MORTON. 
Previously published as The Girl in the Castle

Other books that might interest you

  • Hour Glass - cover

    Hour Glass

    michelle rene

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Set in the lawless town of Deadwood, South Dakota, Hour Glass shares an intimate look at the woman behind the legend of Calamity Jane told through the eyes of twelve-year-old Jimmy Glass.
     
    After their pa falls deathly ill with smallpox, Jimmy and his sister, Hour, travel into Deadwood to seek help. While their pa is in quarantine, the two form unbreakable bonds with the surrogate family that emerges from the tragedy of loss. In a place where life is fragile and families are ripped apart by disease, death, and desperation, a surprising collection of Deadwood’s inhabitants surround Jimmy, Hour, and Jane. There, in the most unexpected of places, they find a family protecting them from the uncertainty and chaos that surrounds them all.
    Show book
  • The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah - cover

    The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

    Leopard Books

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah | A 15-Minute Summary & Analysis 
    Preview: 
    The Nightingale takes readers into the world of German-occupied France during WWII. Set against the backdrop of war, the author explores the themes of love, family, and survival. The story unfolds in two sometimes intersecting plot lines – that of sisters Vianne Mauriac and Isabelle Rossignol – and follows their experiences during the war. The two women view and react to the war in very different ways, but ultimately are united by their shared commitment to family and the will to live. The book explores the difficult choices both women are forced to make time and time again as the war continues to devastate France. 
    PLEASE NOTE: This is a Summary and Analysis of the book and NOT the original book. 
    This companion includes the following:  
    ► Book Review 
    ► Character List 
    ► Summary of the Chapters 
    ► Discussion Questions 
    ► Analysis of Themes & Symbols 
    This Analysis fills the gap, making you understand more while enhancing your reading experience. 
    About the Author: 
    Leopard Books, is your perfect quick read companion. We analyze every chapter and hunt down the key points for your convenience. With in-depth summary and analysis, leap through books quickly and with ease
    Show book
  • Parisian sketches - cover

    Parisian sketches

    Emile Zola

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This eBook edition of "Parisian Sketches" has been formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
    Table of Contents : The Boot-Polishing Virgin, The Old Women With Blue Eyes, The Contrasts, Love Under The Roof. These short stories are deeply involving, because they contain nearly a complete picture of Parisian society in the middle of the nineteenth century. 
    Emile Zola (1840 – 1902) was a French writer, the most important exemplar of the literary school of naturalism and an important contributor to the development of theatrical naturalism. He was a major figure in the political liberalization of France and in the exoneration of the falsely accused and convicted army officer Alfred Dreyfus, which is encapsulated in the renowned newspaper headline J'accuse. Zola was nominated for the first and second Nobel Prize in Literature in 1901 and 1902.
    Show book
  • The Sword Is Drawn - cover

    The Sword Is Drawn

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide.The House of Norreys—those merchants of gems for over three hundred years—faces its greatest crisis ever: the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands. The old Jonkheer lay dying in his bed when he called his grandson to be with him in the last hours of his life, and at this time, young Lorens van Norreys is entrusted with the future of Norreys. That future lies in the legendary Flower of Orange, a priceless baroque necklace that the Nazi scavengers burn to possess. It is up to Lorens to save the necklace and the House of Norreys. With the first encounter with the Nazi invaders, Lorens faces his challenge as The Sword Is Drawn.
    Show book
  • Miss Mary's Daughter - cover

    Miss Mary's Daughter

    Diney Costeloe

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    After her mother's death, twenty-year-old Sophie Ross is left orphaned, with only her erstwhile nursemaid and faithful friend, Hannah for company. Penniless and little chance of an income, she looks for work as a governess in London to avoid destitution. 
     
    But unbeknown to Sophie, her mother instructed Hannah to post a letter to Trescadinnick House in Cornwall upon her death. The letter will be the catalyst that changes Sophie's life forever as she learns of her mother's doomed romance and family she left behind in Cornwall. 
     
    The Penvarrow family welcomes Sophie into their fold, but the new life she's built is threatened by secrets and lies that soon come to light... 
     
    What readers are saying about Miss Mary's Daughter: 
     
    'Diney Costeloe's books are always first on my list, she writes such wonderful stories' 
     
    'I loved everything about this novel. It's an intriguing plot with a well-rounded group of characters and a beautifully written setting'
    Show book
  • The Dancers of Arun - cover

    The Dancers of Arun

    Elizabeth A. Lynn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As the scholar and scribe of Tornor, Kerris has been in training for the past seventeen years. But it’s not until his brother Kel of the Cheari culture teaches him the psychic art of patterning that the city of Elath comes under attack and Kerris must draw on these new talents to fight the dangers of psychic warfare. It is in these battles that he learns what a warrior’s life is like and discovers what wasn’t taught to him in his studies, perhaps the most important element of all: love.
    Show book