If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Krishna Gopeshvara - The Truth of Vrishnis (Book 1 of the Lord Krishna Trilogy) - cover

Krishna Gopeshvara - The Truth of Vrishnis (Book 1 of the Lord Krishna Trilogy)

Sanjay Dixit

Publisher: Bloomsbury India

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A never-before action packed retelling of Lord Krishna's life, Krishna Gopeshvara is the first in a trilogy that narrates the early life events of Lord Krishna from the time of Kamsa's capture of the Mathura throne to his killing by his nephew-as was foretold by the tyrant king's own priest. Styled as a historical fiction, Krishna and Kamsa are portrayed as men pursuing their narratives according to their understanding of the world around them. What entails is a clash of two narratives-the dharmic one symbolized by Krishna and the other a totalitarian and despotic narrative epitomized by Kamsa. The only assumption that has been made is that Krishna was a highly gifted young man. 
 
In the story of the battle between an uncle he must kill to survive lies embedded the truth of a nation gone rogue and a critique of the social, cultural and religious circumstances of Mathura, Magadha, Kashi, and other leading power centres of Aryavarta-which holds relevance even in our times-thus setting the stage for the great epic of Mahabharata. The careful portrayal of the other kings and princes of the Mahabharata era shows how often flaws in character can lead to devastating consequences, affecting, sometimes, the nation as a whole. Thus, human psychology is laid bare, including the inherent limitations of man. 
 
  Weaving a riveting account of the life of the Lord, the political intrigues, discussions on dharma and debates on the position of women in the society, Krishna Gopeshvara is a perfect portrayal of the Vedic era with a deep resonance to the times we live in.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Labyrinth of the Spirits - cover

    The Labyrinth of the Spirits

    Carlos Ruiz Zafon

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    New York Times bestseller 
    One of O: The Oprah Magazine's 15 Favorite Books of 2018 
    A Library Journal Best Book of 2018 
    The internationally acclaimed, New York Times bestselling author returns to the magnificent universe he constructed in his bestselling novels The Shadow of the Wind, The Angel’s Game, and The Prisoner of Heaven in this riveting series finale—a heart-pounding thriller and nail-biting work of suspense which introduces a sexy, seductive new heroine whose investigation shines a light on the dark history of Franco’s Spain. 
    In this unforgettable final volume of Ruiz Zafón’s cycle of novels set in the universe of the Cemetery of Forgotten Books, beautiful and enigmatic Alicia Gris, with the help of the Sempere family, uncovers one of the most shocking conspiracies in all Spanish history. 
    Nine-year-old Alicia lost her parents during the Spanish Civil War when the Nacionales (the fascists) savagely bombed Barcelona in 1938. Twenty years later, she still carries the emotional and physical scars of that violent and terrifying time. Weary of her work as an investigator for Spain’s secret police in Madrid, a job she has held for more than a decade, the twenty-nine-year old plans to move on. At the insistence of her boss, Leandro Montalvo, she remains to solve one last case: the mysterious disappearance of Spain’s Minister of Culture, Mauricio Valls. 
    With her partner, the intimidating policeman Juan Manuel Vargas, Alicia discovers a possible clue—a rare book by the author Victor Mataix hidden in Valls’ office in his Madrid mansion. Valls was the director of the notorious Montjuic Prison in Barcelona during World War II where several writers were imprisoned, including David Martín and Victor Mataix. Traveling to Barcelona on the trail of these writers, Alicia and Vargas meet with several booksellers, including Juan Sempere, who knew her parents. 
    As Alicia and Vargas come closer to finding Valls, they uncover a tangled web of kidnappings and murders tied to the Franco regime, whose corruption is more widespread and horrifying than anyone imagined. Alicia’s courageous and uncompromising search for the truth puts her life in peril. Only with the help of a circle of devoted friends will she emerge from the dark labyrinths of Barcelona and its history into the light of the future. 
    In this haunting new novel, Carlos Ruiz Zafón proves yet again that he is a masterful storyteller and pays homage to the world of books, to his ingenious creation of the Cemetery of Forgotten, and to that magical bridge between literature and our lives. 
    Show book
  • Circus of the Queens - The Fortune Teller's Fate - cover

    Circus of the Queens - The...

    Audrey Berger Welz

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From Imperial Russia to Savannah, Georgia and beyond, a circus family, a once aspiring ballerina, and a scorned lover set the stage and then draw the curtain to this saga of identity, fate, and the steps we take to find who we are in this world.Donatalia dances at the Winter Palace just as the Russian Revolution tears apart the life she thought she would have. Forced to leave her dreams behind for her own safety, she must move to a new world and begin a new life. Having lost family, fortune and country, she unexpectedly finds herself reuniting with Vladimir, heir to the most celebrated Russian circus, dazzling high-wire walker, and object of a long-forgotten crush she harbored as a child.Both struggling to let go of the past, they reconnect and share an intimacy only they can understand. Donatalia follows Vladimir and becomes the circus fortune-teller, and it is through her eyes that this story is told.A poetic adventure of revenge, love, and loss Circus of the Queens: The Fortune-Teller’s Fate is a stunning debut from an exciting new talent and begs the question: how does one define herself when her whole world is lost?
    Show book
  • Refuge - A Novel - cover

    Refuge - A Novel

    Merilyn Simonds

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    To whom do we offer refuge — and why?
     
    After a life that rubbed up against the century’s great events in New York City, Mexico, and Montreal, 96-year-old Cassandra MacCallum is surviving well enough, alone on her island, when a young Burmese woman contacts her, claiming to be kin. Curiosity, loneliness, and a slender filament of hope prompts the old woman to accept a visit. But Nang’s story of torture and flight provokes memories in Cass that peel back, layer by layer, the events that brought her to this moment — and forces her, against her will, to confront the tragedy she has refused for half a century. Could her son really be Nang’s grandfather? What does she owe this girl, who claims to be stateless because of her MacCallum blood? Drawn, despite herself, into Nang’s search for refuge, Cass struggles to accept the past and find a way into whatever future remains to her.
    Show book
  • Don't Put the Boats Away - A Novel - cover

    Don't Put the Boats Away - A Novel

    Ames Sheldon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the aftermath of World War II, the members of the Sutton family are reeling from the death of their “golden boy,” Eddie. Over the next twenty-five years, they all struggle with loss, grief, and mourning. Daughter Harriet and son Nat attempt to fill the void Eddie left behind: Harriet becomes a chemist despite an inhospitable culture for career women in the 1940s and ’50s, hoping to move into the family business in New Jersey, while Nat aims to be a jazz musician. Both fight with their autocratic father, George, over their professional ambitions as they come of age. Their mother, Eleanor, who has PTSD as a result of driving an ambulance during the Great War, wrestles with guilt over never telling Eddie about the horrors of war before he enlisted. As the members of the family attempt to rebuild their lives, they pay high prices, including divorce and alcoholism—but in the end, they all make peace with their losses, each in his or her own way.
    Show book
  • The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells - A Novel - cover

    The Impossible Lives of Greta...

    Andrew Sean Greer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the critically acclaimed author of the New York Times bestseller The Confessions of Max Tivoli comes The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells, a rapturously romantic story of a woman who finds herself transported to the “other lives” she might have lived. 
    After the death of her beloved twin brother and the abandonment of her long-time lover, Greta Wells undergoes electroshock therapy. Over the course of the treatment, Greta finds herself repeatedly sent to 1918, 1941, and back to the present. Whisked from the gas-lit streets and horse-drawn carriages of the West Village to a martini-fueled lunch at the Oak Room, in these other worlds, Greta finds her brother alive and well—though fearfully masking his true personality. And her former lover is now her devoted husband…but will he be unfaithful to her in this life as well? Greta Wells is fascinated by her alter egos: in 1941, she is a devoted mother; in 1918, she is a bohemian adulteress. 
    In this spellbinding novel by Andrew Sean Greer, each reality has its own losses, its own rewards; each extracts a different price. Which life will she choose as she wrestles with the unpredictability of love and the consequences of even her most carefully considered choices?
    Show book
  • The King's Witch - Frances Gorges historical trilogy Book I - cover

    The King's Witch - Frances...

    Tracy Borman

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Borman’s latest book, The Private Lives of the Tudors, was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice and published in hardcover to strong sales and favorable reviews, cited as an “authoritative work” (New York Times Book Review) and “riveting history” (O, The Oprah Magazine). The book was the basis for a multi-part documentary series, hosted by Borman, which aired on British television in June 2016.
    Americans continue to be fascinated by the Tudors, from the Showtime dramatic series to Philippa Gregory and Hilary Mantel’s novels (and their TV and stage adaptations). The King’s Witch will appeal to readers of Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, Alison Weir’s Six Tudor Queens series, and Gregory’s The Last Tudor.
    HBO is producing a three-part mini-series entitled Gunpowder that focuses on the Gunpowder Plot of 1605, which is also the culmination of Borman’s novel. The adaptation is premiering in December 2017 in the U.S. and includes many of the real-life characters also seen in The King’s Witch, such as Robert Catesby, King James I, and Guy Fawkes. 
    Borman is the joint Chief Curator of Historic Royal Palaces in the UK, working daily in the palaces that formed the private world of the Tudors.
    Show book