Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Heavens - cover

The Heavens

Sandra Newman

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

The Heavens is a brilliant literary novel with a plot that grabs you from the opening. It is a book that defines its own terms—it is an imaginative high-concept novel but one that has a powerful impact for our present political moment. We made a speedy offer having gotten great reads in-house and look forward to building on this enthusiasm. Sandra Newman’s previous novel, The Country of Ice Cream Star, was longlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and the Folio Prize, and named one of the best books of the year by the Washington Post and NPR. The Heavens is just as brilliant as Ice Cream Star but is much more approachable, with greater commercial promise as well as the literary power to win a major prize. Sandra is a brilliantly talented writer who has been published in Granta and Harper’s and studied for an MFA with W. G. Sebald at the University of East Anglia in England, where she lived for a time before moving back to New York. She deserves to be better known in the U.S. Sandra has a huge following on Twitter, where her brand of politically engaged humor has become particularly sharp following the election of Trump. She has over 16,000 followers and is very well-connected to writers and members of the literary media (including Lauren Groff, Celeste Ng, and Kate Atkinson). Sandra has a very interesting writing profile, having written memoir, acclaimed novels, and three books about writing/criticism. Coupled with her unusual Twitter profile, this could make her an ideal person for a major profile around this book. This novel lends itself to discussion—about the power of dreams, the questions of how we might try to change our world for the better, and about how long-gone histories still imprint our own. It would be an ideal novel to discuss on radio coverage or in book groups. There is already significant film/TV interest in this title, which is being represented by United Talent Agency in Los Angeles. It is eminently adaptable. Sandra herself describes the novel as “If Jonathan Lethem wrote The Time Traveler’s Wife, but with Shakespeare in it,” or alternatively, “If Hilary Mantel wrote Outlander, but with the apocalypse in it.” We are approaching authors including Michael Cunningham, Kelly Link, Jennifer Egan, Hilary Mantel, Jonathan Lethem, Neil Gaiman, and Jeff Vandermeer for blurbs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Sissy Landlord - Dominated and Forced Feminised by his Young Tenant & Her Friends - cover

    Sissy Landlord - Dominated and...

    Anonymous

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    He should never have gone into Kerry’s bedroom; but curiosity got the better of him. A weakness that had cost him dearly.
     
    When a young and elegant female colleague comes to rent a room in his flat, Stephen Williamson can’t wait to rummage through her lingerie and try them on. Kerry Carfax is oblivious to the fact her landlord secretly dresses in his tenants’ panties and bra and is unaware he is a closet sissy with fantasies of being humiliated by young, sexy women. His obsession extends to a spying on a long back catalogue of female tenants but he has never taken the plunge to ask any of them out or even to consider confessing his proclivities of cross-dressing or female BDSM. Will Stephen take the leap and realise his deep fantasies could become a reality in the presence of this young strong-willed woman and her friends? Will he ask her to be his Sissy Mistress or will he return to his life of watching and fantasising? Possibly he may have no choice. Read ‘Sissy Landlord’ and find out, now.
     
    A story of young domme female superiority, blackmail and forced feminisation approximately 6000 words long.
    Show book
  • Music of the Distant Stars - cover

    Music of the Distant Stars

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The new 'Lassair' mystery from the author of the 'Hawkenlye' books - Very early one summer morning, Lassair slips out of her Fenland village on a deeply personal mission and discovers the body of a young woman, hidden where it has no place to be. The girl's identity is quickly discovered but, as she wonders who killed her and why, Lassair swiftly becomes mystified and frightened. Why did a sweet-natured seamstress have to die? Suspicion soon creeps uncomfortably close to home; then another body is found . . .
    Show book
  • Dead in the Water - A Novel - cover

    Dead in the Water - A Novel

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Stone Barrington only wants a winter getaway from the chill of New York in the beautiful, tropical Caribbean paradise of St. Mark's. But what the lawyer and ex-cop gets instead is the chance to defend Allison Manning. The beautiful young woman stands accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea. 
    Stone isn't exactly conversant with the island country's law, but this much is clear to him: Allison is being railroaded by the perverse sense of justice of a prosecutor who will do anything to stay in office. Donning the robe and wig of a British barrister, Stone does everything he can to save Allison—from publicizing the case all over the American press to conducting the kind of smart, tough investigation that money can't buy. Just when he has the jury in the palm of his hands, a shocking reversal of fortune changes everything. And what was once a sure thing begins to look a lot like a death sentence.
    Show book
  • A Rustle of Silk - A new forensic mystery series set in Stuart England - cover

    A Rustle of Silk - A new...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Introducing physician-sleuth Dr Gabriel Taverner in the first of an intriguing series of mysteries set in early 17th century Devon. 1603. Former ship's surgeon Gabriel Taverner is attempting to re-establish himself as a country physician in rural Devon. But it's not easy to gain the locals' trust, and a series of disturbing incidents, increasing in menace and intensity, convinces him that at least one person does not welcome his presence. Called out to examine a partially decomposed body found beside the river, Gabriel discovers that he has a personal connection to the dead man. Teaming up with Coroner Theophilus Davey to find out how the man died, Gabriel uncovers some darker aspects of the lucrative silk trade which operates from nearby Plymouth. The more he finds out, the more frighteningly apparent it becomes that the people closest to him have been keeping dangerous secrets.
    Show book
  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 1
    • 17
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Land of the Silver Dragon - cover

    Land of the Silver Dragon

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Apprentice healer Lassair isn’t too alarmed when a travelling peddler relates a grisly tale of a red-bearded giant breaking into a woman’s home and caving in her skull like an eggshell; peddlers, she has observed, tend towards the dramatic. But her attitude changes when she learns that the dead woman is a distant relation. The incident makes Lassair’s family uneasy, for the intruder seemed to be searching for something. 
    What could it be? Lassair has no idea. But as the stranger grows increasingly desperate, his search brings violence to her very home.
    Show book