Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Heavens - cover

The Heavens

Sandra Newman

Publisher: Grove Press

  • 1
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

The Heavens is a brilliant literary novel with a plot that grabs you from the opening. It is a book that defines its own terms—it is an imaginative high-concept novel but one that has a powerful impact for our present political moment. We made a speedy offer having gotten great reads in-house and look forward to building on this enthusiasm. Sandra Newman’s previous novel, The Country of Ice Cream Star, was longlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and the Folio Prize, and named one of the best books of the year by the Washington Post and NPR. The Heavens is just as brilliant as Ice Cream Star but is much more approachable, with greater commercial promise as well as the literary power to win a major prize. Sandra is a brilliantly talented writer who has been published in Granta and Harper’s and studied for an MFA with W. G. Sebald at the University of East Anglia in England, where she lived for a time before moving back to New York. She deserves to be better known in the U.S. Sandra has a huge following on Twitter, where her brand of politically engaged humor has become particularly sharp following the election of Trump. She has over 16,000 followers and is very well-connected to writers and members of the literary media (including Lauren Groff, Celeste Ng, and Kate Atkinson). Sandra has a very interesting writing profile, having written memoir, acclaimed novels, and three books about writing/criticism. Coupled with her unusual Twitter profile, this could make her an ideal person for a major profile around this book. This novel lends itself to discussion—about the power of dreams, the questions of how we might try to change our world for the better, and about how long-gone histories still imprint our own. It would be an ideal novel to discuss on radio coverage or in book groups. There is already significant film/TV interest in this title, which is being represented by United Talent Agency in Los Angeles. It is eminently adaptable. Sandra herself describes the novel as “If Jonathan Lethem wrote The Time Traveler’s Wife, but with Shakespeare in it,” or alternatively, “If Hilary Mantel wrote Outlander, but with the apocalypse in it.” We are approaching authors including Michael Cunningham, Kelly Link, Jennifer Egan, Hilary Mantel, Jonathan Lethem, Neil Gaiman, and Jeff Vandermeer for blurbs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 57
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book
  • Christmas at Rosie Hopkins' Sweetshop - A Novel - cover

    Christmas at Rosie Hopkins'...

    Jenny Colgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fans of Debbie Macomber and Jojo Moyes will love this warm, funny, moving holiday tale from the New York Times bestselling author of Christmas at the Cupcake Café and Little Beach Street Bakery. 
    It’s a white Christmas in England, and Rosie Hopkins is feeling festive: Her sweetshop is festooned with striped candy canes, luscious chocolate boxes, and happy, sticky children, and she and her boyfriend are eagerly awaiting the arrival of their families. 
    But when a tragedy strikes at the heart of their charming town, all of Rosie's plans for the future seem to be blown apart. Can she and her loved ones see their way through the difficult times? 
    Sweet and soulful, heartbreaking and heartwarming, this is the perfect novel for the holidays (or any time of year).
    Show book
  • Red Dog - A Novel - cover

    Red Dog - A Novel

    Jason Miller

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne’er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller’s wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series—perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. 
    One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt—a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters—the self-appointed “redneck detective” known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for “bloodhounding”—tracking down missing persons the police can’t find or won’t—Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses’ red-haired purebred pitbull—and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off—Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. . .  all because he just wanted to get cool.As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction. 
    Show book
  • Choose Your Own Misery: The Holidays - The Holidays - cover

    Choose Your Own Misery: The...

    Mike MacDonald

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    “Bah! Humbug! An ideal choice for holiday haters and readers who enjoy David Sedaris’s hysterically funny take, Holidays on Ice” (Library Journal).   From two alumni of The Onion, this is part of the hilarious series “for former Choose Your Own Adventure fans and devotees of dark, dark humor” (Publishers Weekly).   This is the year you’re going to do it: you’re going to avoid Christmas completely!   . . . or you were, until your island getaway got washed out by a hurricane. Now you have to choose: should you spend the holiday with your shrewish sister and her Europhile husband, or endure your new girlfriend’s family for a week? Help chop down a tree even though it might throw out your back, or endure the icy judgment of a woman who thinks only children and pussies help bake cookies? Jet off to the glamorous slums of Kingston, Jamaica, or accept the offer of a ride from a man who never stops smiling . . . and is probably going to turn you into a skin suit?   From the writers who brought you the hilarious parody Choose Your Own Misery: The Office comes a second helping of misery with a festive twist. Christmas is full of fun surprises for kids, but for adults, it’s just an endless series of aggressive crowds, overwhelming credit card debt, and pretending to like the people you’re forced to spend it with.   Once you unwrap all the holiday misery hiding in these pages, the blackness of your heart will rival any lump of coal.   “I played this book thirty times and the happiest ending I got was one where I got to eat turkey with a badly burned hand. Seems about right. Hilarious every time.” —Ryan North, New York Times–bestselling author of Romeo And/Or Juliet  
    Show book
  • The Scarletti Curse - cover

    The Scarletti Curse

    Christine Feehan

    • 5
    • 19
    • 0
    Strange, twisted carvings and hideous gargoyles adorn the palazzo of the great Scarletti family. But a more fearful secret lurks within its storm-tossed turrets. For every bride who enters its forbidding walls is doomed to leave in a casket. 
    Nicoletta knows all too well the curse that plagues the house of Scarletti. She has always believed her miraculous healing gifts would set her apart and that no man would ever command her. Then she gazes into the dark, mesmerizing eyes of Don Scarletti and she fears for her future—for it is Scarletti's ancient right to select a bride from among his people . . . and he has chosen her. 
    Compelled by duty, driven by burning, inescapable desire, Nicoletta surrenders to this powerful, hypnotic man, giving her body willingly into his keeping. But will the tormented don be her heart's destiny . . . or her soul's destruction?
    Show book
  • Things that Fall from the Sky - cover

    Things that Fall from the Sky

    Selja Ahava

    • 1
    • 24
    • 1
    One quirk of fate can send life spiralling in the most unexpected direction…
     
    Things that Fall from the Sky is a stunning narrative that explores the unexpected and inexplicable nature of reality.
     
    Three lives are changed forever by a series of random events: a young girl loses her mother when a block of ice falls from the sky; a woman wins the jackpot twice; and a man is struck by lightning four times. Selja Ahava weaves together these unique stories in a charming, one-of-a-kind tale about just how far people will go to force life into a logical pattern they can make sense of.
     
    Things that Fall from the Sky is a story of everyday life. But it is also a meditation on the passing of time, the endurance of love and the pain of loss. This prize-winning novel by one of Finland’s best-loved writers is now touching readers’ hearts all over the world, painting an unforgettable picture of the unforeseen twists and turns that can define a lifetime.
    Show book