As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Israel Matters - Why Christians Must Think Differently about the People and the Land - cover

Israel Matters - Why Christians Must Think Differently about the People and the Land

Sandra E. McDermott

Publisher: Brazos Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Widely respected theologian Gerald McDermott has spent two decades investigating the meaning of Israel and Judaism. What he has learned has required him to rethink many of his previous assumptions.Israel Matters addresses the perennially important issue of the relationship between Christianity and the people and land of Israel, offering a unique and compelling "third way" between typical approaches and correcting common misunderstandings along the way. This book challenges the widespread Christian assumption that since Jesus came to earth, Jews are no longer special to God as a people, and the land of Israel is no longer theologically significant. It traces the author's journey from thinking those things to discovering that the New Testament authors believed the opposite of both. It also shows that contrary to what many Christians believe, the church is not the new Israel, and both the people and the land of Israel are important to God and the future of redemption.McDermott offers an accessible but robust defense of a "New Christian Zionism" for pastors and laypeople interested in Israel and Christian-Jewish relations. His approach will also spark a conversation among theologians and biblical scholars.

Other books that might interest you

  • Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella - cover

    Runaway Bride (With This Ring?...

    Mary Connealy

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    1870s TexasBig John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John's feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she's in the presence of a man she can respect--something she's never known. Fans of Mary's The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.
    Show book
  • Overcoming Confusion - Release the Uncertainty and Doubt Embrace Confidence in Yourself and Fulfill Your Destiny - cover

    Overcoming Confusion - Release...

    Alice Briggs

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Do you often feel confused or easily muddled?
     
    Do you find new things very difficult to understand?
     
    Do you give up trying to understand because you think it’s impossible?
     
    If so, you may need some healing from confusion.
     
    Confusion tells you that you’re not smart enough to understand even simple things. Confusion says that you’ve always been confused, and always will be. It tells you that everything is too confusing for you no matter how hard you try to understand. Confusion tells you that technology or math or many other things are too much for you to figure out.
     
    Confusion lies.
     
    This book will walk you through emotional and spiritual healing strategies from a Christian worldview so you won’t need to listen to those lies ever again. We’ll cover:
     
    Generational Issues
     
    Ungodly Beliefs and Lies
     
    Emotional Wounds
     
    Demonic Oppression
     
    And more!
     
    Plus strategies to walk out the healing you’ve received.
     
    Are you ready to embrace your power and authority and make a change?
     
    Click the button to get your copy of Overcoming Confusion now.
    
     
    Note: Each book in this series utilizes the same tools, but is tailored to each topic.
    Show book
  • Plain Perfect - cover

    Plain Perfect

    Beth Wiseman

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Lillian Miller hopes the Plain life will offer her the peace of mind her heart desperately seeks. 
    LillianÆs first twenty-seven years have been challenging at best. Her decision to get reacquainted with her Amish grandparents in Lancaster County, PA, is an attempt at finding peace in a complicated world. But her plan has a flaw . . . Lillian is practicing the Amish lifestyle with no real understanding or relationship with God. And despite her best efforts, complications arise when she takes a fancy to Amish widower Samuel Stoltzfus who has an eleven-year-old son, David.
    Show book
  • The Patch of Heaven Collection - Sarah's Garden Lilly's Wedding Quilt Threads of Grace - cover

    The Patch of Heaven Collection -...

    Kelly Long

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sarah’s Garden 
    Quite by accident, Sarah King has fallen in love. But this love is forbidden, and could cost her everything she holds dear. 
    Tucked into the majesty of Pennsylvania's Allegheny Mountains is a garden Sarah King has been nurturing for years. She never feels more alive than when she is alone with her thoughts and her Creator among the delicate rows of plants. But then duty calls her away from her beloved garden and into a world she knows little about. 
    Grant Williams, a handsome young veterinarian, has left the city to open a rural practice among the Amish. Within minutes of meeting shy but feisty Sarah King, he is captivated by her. 
    As their feelings grow for one another, Sarah insists they can never be together. Marrying Grant would mean being uprooted from her home, her family, and her community. Throughout the cold Pennsylvania winter, with her garden tucked away until spring, Sarah begins crafting a quilt that illustrates her pain. Can anything lasting blossom from a love that's forbidden? 
    Lilly’s Wedding Quilt 
    Handsome, headstrong Jacob offers Lilly his hand in marriage, but his heart belongs to someone else. 
    While Lilly Lapp has loved Jacob for years, she wouldn't compete with Sarah King, the woman Jacob was determined to marry. But when Sarah marries another, Jacob spontaneously agrees to wed Lilly. 
    Lilly divides her time between teaching the local Amish children and caring for her widowed mother who suffers from depression. Lilly's faith comforts her, but her heart still longs to be the sole object of Jacob's affection. 
    As the days slip by, Lilly decides that hoping is too risky and vows to protect her heart. But God is subtly as work, and as winter turns to spring, their hearts awaken. 
    The furthest thing from Lilly's mind is her Amish wedding quilt, a traditional gift for new brides. And the person she'd least suspect is the one making it. Like stray pieces of fabric quilted into a new design, Jacob and Lilly's marriage begins to bind them together in ways neither expected. 
    Threads of Grace 
    Grace’s beauty almost cost her everything. This new start is all she has left. 
    When Grace Beiler was only a girl, she was married off to an older Amish man in order to save her family’s farm. Years later, she finds herself newly widowed and a mother to a young son. She has finally fled her sad past and plans to settle into a quiet life in Pennsylvania. 
    As soon as she arrives, she captures the attention of Seth Wyse, the most eligible bachelor in Pine Creek. Seth is candid about his feelings for her, and for her son Abel, but Grace is determined to protect her heart. 
    Her determination falters when her brother-in-law reveals the troubling contents of her late husband’s will. 
    Seth offers Grace his hand in marriage, and thus a means of escape. But despite his having saved her from another loveless marriage, Grace is slow to trust her new husband. And as the months wear on, Seth wonders if he has made a mistake. But God is quietly at work in their hearts, and Seth and Grace soon discover that threads of grace bind them together in a tapestry rich in hope and love.
    Show book
  • Plain Peace - cover

    Plain Peace

    Beth Wiseman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Anna loves the grandfather who raised her, but his strict adherence to the Ordnung is scaring away any boy who might be interested in herùexcept newcomer Jacob. 
    Under normal circumstances Anna Byler would have her choice of any of the young men in her Amish community. But because of the strict rules enforced by her grandfather, the bishop, the available suitors are afraid to court her. Then handsome Jacob Hostetler moves to Paradise and decides Anna is worth the challenge. 
    Anna sees that the bishopÆs legalism is dividing the community and even risking the lives of its membersùbut her grandfather doesnÆt. When she is forced to deception in order to pursue her dream of marriage and family with Jacob, Anna feels her own faith slipping. If only she could get her grandmother to help her stand up to the bishop. ButMammi is keeping secrets of her own. 
    Anna wants to honor her grandparents, the two most important people in her life, but her heart is divided by the rules that guide their little Amish community and the growing love she has for Jacob. How can she be true to both?
    Show book
  • Fragments of Fear - cover

    Fragments of Fear

    Carrie Stuart Parks

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A rollercoaster ride with a lovable protagonist and a suspenseful, twisty.” —Colleen Coble 
    Stolen art. A New Mexico archaeological dig. An abandoned dog. And a secret that’s worth killing for. 
    Evelyn McTavish’s world came crashing down with the suicide of her fiancé. As she struggles to put her life back together and make a living from her art, she receives a call that her dog is about to be destroyed at the pound. Except she doesn’t own a dog. The shelter is adamant that the microchip embedded in the canine with her name and address makes it hers. 
    Evelyn recognizes the dog as one owned by archaeologist John Coyote because she was commissioned to draw the two of them. The simple solution is to return the dog to his owner—but she arrives only to discover John’s murdered body. 
    As Evelyn herself becomes a target, she crosses paths with undercover FBI agent Sawyer Price. The more he gets to know her, the more personally invested he becomes in keeping her safe. Together, they’re desperate to find the links between so many disparate pieces. 
    And the clock is ticking. 
    “Over the years, Carrie has mastered forensic art, fine art, and her own brand of offbeat humor. As a novelist she combines these skills with another: puzzle writing––scattering puzzle pieces all over her fictional universe and then dropping them into place in twists, surprises, revelations, and side-pocket whimsy until the big picture emerges, never too soon, always on the brink of disaster.” —Frank Peretti
    Show book