Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Road Builders - cover

The Road Builders

Samuel Merwin

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Road Builders" by Samuel Merwin. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Meaning of Friday - cover

    The Meaning of Friday

    Vanessa Gordon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Meaning of Friday is the first in the series The Naxos Mysteries with Martin Day. English archaeologist and TV presenter Martin Day, who is in his element enjoying the food, drink and atmosphere of his adopted Greece, uses his skills as a researcher to solve mysterious events on the beautiful island of Naxos.
    Show book
  • The Secret Keepers of Old Depot Grocery - cover

    The Secret Keepers of Old Depot...

    Amanda Cox

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Present Day. After tragedy plunges her into grief and unresolved anger, Sarah Ashby returns to her childhood home determined to finally follow her long-denied dream of running Old Depot Grocery alongside her mother and grandmother. But when she arrives, her mother, Rosemary, announces to her that the store is closing. Sarah and her grandmother, Glory Ann, make a pact to save the store, but Rosemary has worked her entire life to make sure her daughter never follows in her footsteps. She has her reasons--but she'll certainly never reveal the real one. 
     
    1965. Glory Ann confesses to her family that she's pregnant with her deceased fiancé's baby. Pressured into a marriage of convenience with a shopkeeper to preserve the family reputation, Glory Ann vows never to love again. But some promises are not as easily kept as she imagined. 
     
    This dual-timeline story from Amanda Cox deftly explores the complexity of a mother-daughter dynamic, the way the secrets we keep shape our lives and the lives of others, and the healing power of telling the truth.
    Show book
  • The Willows - cover

    The Willows

    Algernon Blackwood

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Classic horror from the prolific author of ghost stories and supernatural fiction, and thought by H. P. Lovecraft to be the best “weird tale” of all time.   “Algernon Blackwood’s novella The Willows uses setting like a master. This story is considered by Lovecraft and others to be one of the greatest horror short stories of all time. . . . I can tell you it creeped me out more than I thought it would. It’s a simple tale: two men traveling the Danube by boat end up stopping at an island of willows to pass the night, and they begin to realize that they have trespassed upon a land that does not welcome them, and isn’t really a part of our own world. I went in knowing that it greatly influenced Lovecraft, and the parallels in ideas and style are readily apparent in the last half of the story. . . . A beautifully written, enjoyably creepy novella.” —ChicagoNow   “Represents a high point in the development of the horror genre—in fact, horror master H. P. Lovecraft regarded it as the best supernatural tale ever written. More thought-provoking than gory or terrifying, The Willows is a must-read for fans of classic ghost stories.” —NPR.org   “Mind-blowing eeriness . . . [a] slow-thickening, vibrating, vegetable atmosphere of dread.” —Tor.com   “It’s easy to see why this story was revered by Lovecraft and others. It is a textbook example of the classic weird tale, evocatively conjuring the mystery and otherworldly dread that are the hallmarks of such fiction. It moves a little slowly, but patient readers will be well-rewarded with a deeply unsettling slice of cosmic horror.” —My Weird Life
    Show book
  • Murder on the Island - A Gripping Murder Mystery - cover

    Murder on the Island - A...

    Daisy White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Death visits the island of Bermuda. “A solid start to this cozy mystery series with a wonderful tropical setting.” —On the Shelf Reviews When recently divorced Chloe Canton is gifted her grandmother’s house in Bermuda in her will, it seems a perfect time for a fresh start. Her chance at paradise comes with unprofitable horse stables, a neighbor who is putting pressure on her to sell up for development, and another who quickly makes herself comfortable in Chloe’s house. If that wasn’t enough, Chloe discovers a dead body on the local riding trail soon after she arrives and finds herself dragged into a murder investigation. With tensions rising and island gossip to contend with, as well as a murderer in their midst, has Chloe bitten off more than she can chew? Will Chloe stick it out and help solve the case or will paradise turn out to be too hot to handle?“It’s definitely a pleasant ride along the way . . . her descriptions are so lush and vivid, this book is like a vacation between covers.” —Crime Fiction Lover “I enjoyed this escapist cozy mystery . . . The author does a wonderful job of bringing Chloe and the island to life.” —Avonna Loves Genres
    Show book
  • The Murderous Affair at Stone Manor - A Completely Gripping Cozy Murder Mystery - cover

    The Murderous Affair at Stone...

    Laura Stewart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Amelia Adams’s life is going nowhere. But when she inherits a Scottish mansion, she becomes the star of her own whodunit in this charming debut mystery. Mystery fiction fanatic Amelia Adams is stunned when she inherits a dilapidated mansion, complete with secret passages, hidden compartments and its very own legend. Helped by her brother, her best friend, and a documentary maker—who is determined to turn Amelia’s new life into a hit TV show—Amelia throws herself into renovating the house and unravelling old secrets. When an unknown saboteur starts ruining her plans, Amelia doesn’t know who to trust. Everyone around her is acting strangely and soon Amelia finds herself in the center of her very own murder mystery . . .
    Show book
  • Piranesi - cover

    Piranesi

    Susanna Clarke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times Bestseller 
    Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 
    World Fantasy Awards Finalist 
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell, an intoxicating, hypnotic new novel set in a dreamlike alternative reality. 
      
     Piranesi's house is no ordinary building: its rooms are infinite, its corridors endless, its walls are lined with thousands upon thousands of statues, each one different from all the others. Within the labyrinth of halls an ocean is imprisoned; waves thunder up staircases, rooms are flooded in an instant. But Piranesi is not afraid; he understands the tides as he understands the pattern of the labyrinth itself. He lives to explore the house. 
     
    There is one other person in the house-a man called The Other, who visits Piranesi twice a week and asks for help with research into A Great and Secret Knowledge. But as Piranesi explores, evidence emerges of another person, and a terrible truth begins to unravel, revealing a world beyond the one Piranesi has always known. 
     
     For readers of Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and fans of Madeline Miller's Circe, Piranesi introduces an astonishing new world, an infinite labyrinth, full of startling images and surreal beauty, haunted by the tides and the clouds.
    Show book