Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Don't Tell Me Not to Ask Why - Poetry & Prose - cover

Don't Tell Me Not to Ask Why - Poetry & Prose

Samantha King Holmes

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

  • 0
  • 11
  • 0


Don’t Tell Me Not to Ask Why, Samantha King Holmes’s second solo poetry collection following her bestselling Born to Love, Cursed to Feel, is a mirror that reflects our honest truths. Holmes’s poems are like little stories, hooking readers while navigating issues like body image, family relationships, loneliness, failed relationships, and finding belonging. Don’t Tell Me Not to Ask Why is a call to introspection, a demand for honesty, and an affirmation of second chances.

Other books that might interest you

  • Just Where You Left It and Other Poems - cover

    Just Where You Left It and Other...

    David Roche

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Just Where You Left It... and other Poems is a collection of humorous poetry about how to survive school, parents and everything else that’s unfair in life.  
    From David Roche come these simple and charming rhymes designed to make parents and children alike fall in love with poetry again… or maybe for the first time. It all started with a poem about the agony of poetry recitation, written by David for his son. 
    In fact, all of these poems were written for his three sons, touching on everything they might encounter growing up: exams, school meals, bullying, sports days, embarrassing Dads and nagging and know-it-all Mums were fair game.  
    These are poems for parents, poems for children and poems for parents to read to their children, offering a witty and charming take on life for every stage of growing up. If you grew up in a world of Ogden Nash and Shel Silverstein, then this is the book for you.
    Show book
  • Sparks of Phoenix - cover

    Sparks of Phoenix

    Najwa Zebian

    • 2
    • 35
    • 1
    As the phoenix emerges from its ashes, Zebian emerges ablaze in these pages, not only as a survivor of abuse, but as a teacher and healer for all those who have struggled to understand, reclaim, and rise above a history of pain. The book is divided into six chapters, and six stages of healing: Falling, Burning to Ashes, Sparks of Phoenix, Rising, Soaring, and finally, A New Chapter, which demonstrates a healthy response to new love as the result of authentic healing. With her characteristic vulnerability, courage, and softness, Zebian seeks to empower those who have been made to feel ashamed, silenced, or afraid; she urges them, through gentle advice and personal revelation, to raise their voices, rise up, and soar. 
    Show book
  • Milk and Honey - cover

    Milk and Honey

    Rupi Kaur

    • 16
    • 124
    • 0
    The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.
    Show book
  • Thousands - cover


    Lightsey Darst

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Praise for Lightsey Darst: 
    "This is a vital poetry of the Deep South ripe with bones, blood and bogs, Snow Whites, Gretels and debutantes all stirred into a harrowing stew of lust, dusk and summer." —New York Times 
    "A terrific collection. . . . Full of horror, bleak humor, and suspense, these poems read like mini-thrillers, daring you to put the book down." — Entertainment Weekly 
    Desire & the page felt it.I told myself, something is happening.You could make weather happen then.  
    Dear not only in dream life, dear never until storm.
    Show book
  • Seasonal Poems for Children: Poems for Christmas Easter Halloween and Other Fun Times of the Year - cover

    Seasonal Poems for Children:...

    John Nandy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Meet the fastest rabbit in the world and the monster who ate my snowman in this fabulous collection of fun children’s poems for every season. Whether you’re in the Springtime of your life or entering your Autumn years, this book is sure to contain at least one poem that will make you smile.
    Show book
  • Childhood Reflections in Poetry - With Activities - cover

    Childhood Reflections in Poetry...

    Manie Moodley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    These poems focus on the important parts of a childs life, especially those of their formative years when their perceptions of life are determined by the love, caring, understanding, and nurture afforded to them by adults such as parents, grandparents, teachers, and caretakers whom they trust and love. The poems look at life through the innocent but watchful eyes of a child, and herein lie their value for adults as well. Adults may enjoy reading the poems, as they will see the world created by the poems through the eyes of a child. 
    The activities enhance a childs experience and interaction with every poem, and broaden the scope for understanding and learning. The activities focus on reading, language, social sciences, nature, welfare, art, and sports as well as supported and independent research. 
    The poems included in this book are: 
    My Little Tree House
    Harry the Horse
    Hey Mister Postman
    Mr. Sunshine
    My Little Teddy Bear
    The Rainbow
    Children of the World
    The Wooden Park Bench
    A Cricket Bat
    Show book