Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Dreamland - The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic - cover

Dreamland - The True Tale of America's Opiate Epidemic

Sam Quinones

Publisher: Bloomsbury Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Winner of the NBCC Award for General Nonfiction 
 
Named on Slate's 50 Best Nonfiction Books of the Past 25 Years, Amazon's Best Books of the Year 2015--Michael Botticelli, U.S. Drug Czar (Politico) Favorite Book of the Year--Angus Deaton, Nobel Prize Economics (Bloomberg/WSJ) Best Books of 2015--Matt Bevin, Governor of Kentucky (WSJ) Books of the Year--Slate.com's 10 Best Books of 2015--Entertainment Weekly's 10 Best Books of 2015 --Buzzfeed's 19 Best Nonfiction Books of 2015--The Daily Beast's Best Big Idea Books of 2015--Seattle Times' Best Books of 2015--Boston Globe's Best Books of 2015--St. Louis Post-Dispatch's Best Books of 2015--The Guardian's The Best Book We Read All Year--Audible's Best Books of 2015--Texas Observer's Five Books We Loved in 2015--Chicago Public Library's Best Nonfiction Books of 2015 
 
From a small town in Mexico to the boardrooms of Big Pharma to main streets nationwide, an explosive and shocking account of addiction in the heartland of America. 
 
In 1929, in the blue-collar city of Portsmouth, Ohio, a company built a swimming pool the size of a football field; named Dreamland, it became the vital center of the community. Now, addiction has devastated Portsmouth, as it has hundreds of small rural towns and suburbs across America--addiction like no other the country has ever faced. How that happened is the riveting story of Dreamland.  
     
With a great reporter's narrative skill and the storytelling ability of a novelist, acclaimed journalist Sam Quinones weaves together two classic tales of capitalism run amok whose unintentional collision has been catastrophic. The unfettered prescribing of pain medications during the 1990s reached its peak in Purdue Pharma's campaign to market OxyContin, its new, expensive--extremely addictive--miracle painkiller. Meanwhile, a massive influx of black tar heroin--cheap, potent, and originating from one small county on Mexico's west coast, independent of any drug cartel--assaulted small town and mid-sized cities across the country, driven by a brilliant, almost unbeatable marketing and distribution system. Together these phenomena continue to lay waste to communities from Tennessee to Oregon, Indiana to New Mexico. 
     
Introducing a memorable cast of characters--pharma pioneers, young Mexican entrepreneurs, narcotics investigators, survivors, and parents--Quinones shows how these tales fit together. Dreamland is a revelatory account of the corrosive threat facing America and its heartland.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Power of Your Subconscious Mind - There Are No Limits to the Prosperity Happiness and Peace of Mind You Can Achieve Simply by Using the Power of the Subconscious Mind Updated - cover

    The Power of Your Subconscious...

    Joseph Murphy

    • 2
    • 26
    • 0
    The bestseller by a preeminent teacher of the New Thought movement, now revised and expanded with never-before- published commentary from the author.
     
    One of the bestselling self-help books of all time, The Power of Your Subconscious Mind has helped millions around the world achieve remarkable goals, simply by changing the way they think.
     
    Dr. Murphy?s mind-focusing techniques are based on a simple principle: If you believe in something without reservation and picture it in your mind, you can remove the subconscious obstacles that prevent you from achieving the results you want, and your belief can become a reality.
     
    As an advocate of what is now popularly known as the Law of Attraction, Murphy shows that anyone can unleash extraordinary mental powers to build self-confidence, to create harmonious relationships, to gain professional success, to amass wealth, to conquer fears and phobias, to banish bad habits, and even to effect physical healing and promote overall well-being and happiness.
    Show book
  • Criminal Minds - Sociopaths Serial Killers and Other Deviants - cover

    Criminal Minds - Sociopaths...

    Jeff Mariotte

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An authorized tie-in to the popular TV show Criminal Minds 
    Most episodes of Criminal Minds feature a briefing where the show's team of FBI profilers defines the type of criminal they're looking for and provides some real-life examples. This book tells the story of those examples.Published to coincide with the release of season five of Criminal Minds on DVD Organized by type of criminal, including solo serial killers, sexual predators, and killers with famous victims; and tells the stories of many famous murderers, including David Berkowitz, Jeffrey Dahmer, Mark David Chapman, and the Zodiac killer Features photographs from the show  
    Criminal Minds: Sociopaths, Serial Killers, and Other Deviants is a fascinating, terrifying book about the criminal minds who live among us.
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • 20 Classic Children Stories (ABCD Classics) - cover

    20 Classic Children Stories...

    Charles Dickens, Lewis Carroll,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This volume edited by ShandonPress contains the following classic children's novels:
    
    - A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
    - The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett 
    - Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery 
    - Little Women by Louisa May Alcott 
    - Black Beauty by Anna Sewell 
    - A Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Stratton-Porter 
    - The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
    - Just so Stories by Rudyard Kipling 
    - The Blue Fairy Book by Andrew Lang 
    - Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson 
    - The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald 
    - Five Children and It by Edith Nesbit 
    - Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm by Kate Douglas Wiggin 
    - The Magic Fishbone by Charles Dickens 
    - Grimm's Fairy Tales by Jacob Ludwig Karl Grimm 
    - Peter Pan (Peter and Wendy) by J.M. Barrie 
    - Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll 
    - The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by Lyman Frank Baum 
    - The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame 
    - Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
    Show book
  • Justine - cover

    Justine

    Marquis de Sade

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Justine is set just before the French Revolution in France and tells the story of a beautiful young woman who goes under the name of Therese. Her story is recounted to Madame de Lorsagne while defending herself for her crimes, en route to punishment and death. She explains the series of misfortunes which have led her to be in her present situation.
    Show book
  • Kung-Fu or Tauist Medical Gymnastics - cover

    Kung-Fu or Tauist Medical...

    John Dudgeon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fully illustrated. This is an extremely rare 19th century treatise on Chinese medicine, particularly the practices of the Kung Fu school. Although best known for a fighting style, Kung Fu includes a whole range of medical practices based on late Taoist alchemy. Dudgeon describes the use of yoga-like postures, movements similar to Tai Chi, the use of healing sounds similar to mantras, as well as massage and other techniques. He gives specifics of compounds used to treat a wide range of ailments in conjunction with the other methods, describes Taoist deities and sages, and gives extensive background on Chinese medical theory. This text is an invaluable look at the esoteric medical practices of the Chinese prior to the 20th century.
    Show book