Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Righteous Men - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Righteous Men

Sam Bourne

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The righteous shall never be removed: but the wicked shall not inhabit the earth. . . . 
A teenage computer prodigy is mortally strangled in Mumbai. A far-right extremist is killed in a remote cabin in the Pacific Northwest. A wealthy businessman is murdered in Thailand. A pimp in Brooklyn is found stabbed to death and mysteriously covered by a brown shroud. What connects the victims is an ancient prophecy that leads to the end of the world, and it's up to Will Monroe, a fledgling reporter at the New York Times, to stop it.  
But Monroe's investigation quickly makes him some shadowy enemies, who kidnap his wife and hold her hostage in Crown Heights. Desperate to find the link between the killings and to save his wife, he enlists his college sweetheart, TC, an eccentric artist and Kabbalah expert. As the death toll rises, they follow a trail of clues that seems to lead inexorably to a set of ancient texts containing a prophecy that promises to save the world—or to destroy it. 
What will happen when the one secret that has kept the world safe for thousands of years is revealed to all? In The Righteous Men, a blistering thriller filled with mystery, romance, and suspense, Sam Bourne takes readers deep into the hidden worlds of fundamentalist religion, mysticism, and biblical prophecies. This is a visionary tale that is as frightening as it is entertaining. Readers won't stop turning the pages until the very end.
Available since: 10/13/2010.

Other books that might interest you

  • Vicinity - Short Stories - cover

    Vicinity - Short Stories

    Justin Kennedy

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    A collection of surreal cyclical horror short stories, comprising the first collection from author Justin Kennedy.  Currently,  Justin lives in Campbell, CA and works at a law firm.  Much of the subject matter in this collection was inspired from real events and real nightmares.
    Show book
  • Forced to Marry - cover

    Forced to Marry

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    With her aging grandfather on his deathbed and not expected by his doctors to live for more than two or three months, it comes as little comfort to the beautiful Gytha Sullivan that he has made her the heiress to his considerable fortune. What is much worse is Sir Robert Sullivan’s fear that she will be seduced by some ‘smarmy fortune-hunter’, who will squander her inheritance.And this deep concern of his makes him insist that she marries one or other of her two loathsome cousins, Vincent and Jonathan, who will do anything to take his fortune for themselves.Desperate to escape from this terrible fate, Gytha goes to visit the Master of the neighbouring estate, the dashingly handsome Lord Locke, whose life her father once saved in the War against Napoleon, and beseeches him to, in turn, save her by becoming engaged to her, thereby making a forced marriage to either of her cousins impossible. Appalled by the poor girl’s plight his Lordship agrees much to the anger of Gytha’s family and his exotic lover the entrancing Princess Zuleika. Little does Lord Locke know that, as he gains a false fiancée, he is truly about to lose his heart!
    Show book
  • The Tears of Love - cover

    The Tears of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    After Cañuela’s father, Lionel Arlington, a senior Diplomat at the British Embassy in Buenos Aires, was wrongly accused in Argentina of being a traitor to Britain, he died, presumed drowned, after diving overboard to save a little girl who had fallen into the sea . The resulting scandal left the beautiful Cañuela and her ailing mother ostracised and outcast in London, living in a bare bedsitter under an assumed name. Although she now despises all Argentines, Cañuela is so desperate to earn money to be able to send her mother for a cure in Switzerland that she takes a job as secretary and translator to a famous Argentine businessman, Ramón de Lopez – a man who her mother says was among her father’s accusers and a former friend of his.So with no idea who she really is, her almost impossibly handsome employer is baffled by her intense animosity and curtness, even though she is very efficient at her job. Even more so when they travel to Buenos Aires and she saves  Ramón de Lopez from scandal, helps him to further his political ambitions to be President of Argentina and finally rescues him from murderous guerrilla kidnappers, who intend to ransom him off for a huge amount of money. And it is here, at the height of peril and danger to herself, that Cañuela begins to realise that the powerful passion in her heart is no longer hatred but love.
    Show book
  • Hunt for the Enemy - cover

    Hunt for the Enemy

    Rob Sinclair

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    They’ve erased his past and wiped out his very existence—but Carl Logan isn’t finished yet . . . “A spectacular finale to the trilogy.” —Crime Book Junkie Logan—once an invaluable asset, now branded a traitor—has been framed for murder. His own firm, the secretive Joint Intelligence Agency, has labeled him a rogue operative after two decades of loyal service. The agency is tracking him down . . . and they’re not the only ones. But there’s much more at stake than just Logan’s life. One by one, agents and informants from all sides, all allegiances, are dying. And Carl Logan is the only man who can put a stop to it, once and for all. The hunt is on.Praise for Rob Sinclair and Hunt for the Enemy “An excellent action thriller, perfect for fans of Jack Reacher and Ben Hope . . . A great series.” —Off the Shelf Book Reviews “Fast paced and gripping . . . highly tense.” —Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews
    Show book
  • Saint Fire - cover

    Saint Fire

    Tanith Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Following Faces Under Water, Tanith Lee’s alchemical thriller series continues with a Joan of Arc–inspired novel set in an alternate medieval Venice.   In Saint Fire, the second volume in the Secret Books of Venus series, Volpa is a strangely beautiful servant girl who glows with an inhuman inner flame. When her master, an abusive wood seller, is mysteriously incinerated, Volpa discovers her power of fire. Her gift is noticed by the Church leaders, who see her as a mighty weapon in their holy wars. This gripping fantasy of a mysteriously gifted Joan of Arc is stunning from beginning to end.   “Lee’s writing is as entrancing as ever, full of evocative imagery and memorable characters. The questions she raises about faith and hypocrisy, fear and justice, are deftly rendered and not easily answered.” —Publishers Weekly   “The author of Faces Under Water continues her saga of a city at the mercy of powers beyond its control. Lee’s sensual and evocative storytelling imparts a dreamlike quality to this tale of transcendent faith and human passion.” —Library Journal   “Evocative, and set forth in Lee’s eerily crystalline prose.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • Running Away to Love - cover

    Running Away to Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    For beautiful young Ivana her stepfather Keith Waring is no replacement for her much-missed father, the Honourable Hugo Sherard, who was killed in Spain fighting against Napoleon Bonaparte.
     
    Her stepfather is a spendthrift and he has gambled away virtually everything the family owns.
     
    Ivana’s hatred for her stepfather is doubled when, to her utter horror, she overhears him offering her as a ‘kept woman’ to the equally despised Lord Hanford for over five thousand pounds!
     
    Ivana runs away with her old Nanny acting as her chaperone and companion and applies for work through a Domestic Agency, where she is invited to apply for a post using her flawless Parisian French for the Earl of Lorimer, who is working in the War Office.
     
    Expecting a man to apply for the post, the imperious but handsome Earl is at first sceptical, but on realising that he knew her father, he soon warms to her, saying that he has a ‘difficult and dangerous mission for her!’
     
    Ivana is to become a spy, working undercover against Napoleon’s secret agents. And so her perilous adventures begin.
     
    Very soon she loses her heart – and at every turn she risks losing her life.
     
    But the worst danger of all comes not from the wartime enemy but from the evil Lord Hanford who is still determined to possess her as he has already paid for her.
    Show book