Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Way of the Warrior Mama - The Guide to Protecting and Raising Strong Daughters - cover

The Way of the Warrior Mama - The Guide to Protecting and Raising Strong Daughters

Sally Clark

Publisher: Morgan James Publishing

  • 4
  • 16
  • 0

Summary

The Way of the Warrior Mama shows parents how to protect their teenage daughter and conquer their own fears in raising her. 

If you are a mom, you are worried about your daughter surviving the adolescent years safe and sound. In a culture that encourages kids to be sexy long before they reach puberty, and when one in four college women report surviving rape or attempted rape and one in ten high school girls is the victim of date rape, the prospect of raising a teenage girl can be daunting. By tackling the subject of sexual assault head-on, Sally Clark offers a roadmap to navigating one of the most treacherous parts of the journey from girlhood to womanhood. Sally speaks directly to moms who are overly anxious about keeping their daughters safe and shows them that the crucial element in raising a strong, resilient daughter lies in healing and addressing their own adolescent wounds. Through interviews with experts and leading practitioners in fields ranging from adolescent psychology to mindful self-compassion, The Way of the Warrior Mama teaches proven, concrete, and innovative techniques to dramatically reduce parenting stress and increase mothers’ faith that they can protect their daughter.

Other books that might interest you

  • Waste Your Time - A plea - cover

    Waste Your Time - A plea

    Julian Poerksen

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    "The economization of our entire lifespan and the apparent compulsion to constant self-optimization are dead ends into which the dynamics of the market economy have led us. Julian Poerksen asks how we might re-emerge from this state and, drawing on the speculative approaches of Georges Bataille, Walter Benjamin, Michel Foucault, and Friedrich Schiller, recommends an investment in its antithesis: the waste of time and talent without guilt feelings and bad conscience. This is fun to read and leaves you with the exhilarating feeling that you are witnessing a long overdue liberation process." Carl Hegemann
    Show book
  • History of the 101st Airborne Division - Screaming Eagles: The First 50 Years - cover

    History of the 101st Airborne...

    Colonel Robert E. Jones

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The History of the 101st Airborne Division is the epic story of the Division from its activation in August 1942 through the completion of Operation Desert Storm in April 1991. The Division’s progression through the sky took decades of hard work and tens of thousands of dedicated soldiers.      In World War II, the 101st became the first American troops to set foot in occupied France, when, on 6 June 1944, its paratroopers dropped behind enemy lines, clearing the way for the 4th Infantry Division landing on Utah Beach. The Division would become famous for its work in Holland during Operation Market Garden, and for its successful defense of Bastogne, Belgium, during the Battle of the Bulge.      In Vietnam, the “Screaming Eagles” engaged in battle from 1965 to 1972, when they began their evolution to Air Mobile by deploying by helicopter. In the Gulf War, the Division fired the first shots of Operation Desert Storm by destroying Iraqi radar sites, and during ground war of the operation, they made the longest and largest air assault in history.     In every engagement and during the training periods in between, the 101st Airborne Division has honored the words of its first commander, General William C. Lee, that it has a “rendezvous with destiny.” This book is a fitting record of that history, and of the men who are proud to be called “Screaming Eagles.”
    Show book
  • Funny Girls - Guffaws Guts and Gender in Classic American Comics - cover

    Funny Girls - Guffaws Guts and...

    Michelle Ann Abate

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    For several generations, comics were regarded as a boy's club--created  by, for, and about men and boys. In the twenty-first century, however,  comics have seen a rise of female creators, characters, and readers.Throughout the first half of the  twentieth century, the medium was enjoyed equally by both sexes, and  girls were the protagonists of some of the earliest, most successful,  and most influential comics. In Funny Girls: Guffaws, Guts, and Gender in Classic American Comics,  Michelle Ann Abate examines the important but long-overlooked cadre of  young female protagonists in US comics during the first half of the  twentieth century. She treats characters ranging from Little Orphan  Annie and Nancy to Little Lulu, Little Audrey of the Harvey Girls, and  Li'l Tomboy--a group that collectively forms a tradition of funny girls  in American comics.Abate demonstrates the massive popularity  these funny girls enjoyed, revealing their unexplored narrative  richness, aesthetic complexity, and critical possibility. Much of the  humor in these comics arose from questioning gender roles, challenging  social manners, and defying the status quo. Further, they embodied  powerful points of collection about both the construction and  intersection of race, class, gender, and age, as well as popular  perceptions about children, representations of girlhood, and changing  attitudes regarding youth. Finally, but just as importantly, these  strips shed light on another major phenomenon within comics: branding,  licensing, and merchandising. Collectively, these comics did far more  than provide amusement--they were serious agents for cultural commentary  and sociopolitical change.
    Show book
  • Pershing - Commander of the Great War - cover

    Pershing - Commander of the...

    John Perry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Attentive to the last detail, rigid in his expectations of drill and execution, and fiercely protective of every man he commanded, General John J. Pershing helped shape the 20th century by leading American troops in a war that saved Europe. Alienating some and inspiring others, Pershing recognized the challenges of modern warfare and embraced them as life's mission. More than 60 years after his death, he personifies the image of an American general.    Army service in the Philippines and Mexico and alongside Teddy Roosevelt in Cuba served as a critical training ground for Pershing. When President Roosevelt promoted him to general in 1906, Pershing had been one of the army's oldest captains. Now, as one of its youngest generals, that training would be put to test in the coming Great War.    Author John Perry unveils a general somewhat neglected by history, a mystifying fact considering that at one time more than a million soldiers followed him into battle. When France and England yearned for much-needed support against a German juggernaut, Pershing established an aggressive strategy that incorporated overwhelming numbers and comprehensive engagement, a strategy that made all the difference. Not only were there honor and order in his methods, there was victory. A legend in his own time, Pershing became the first man to be appointed General of the Armies.
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book
  • the princess saves herself in this one - cover

    the princess saves herself in...

    Amanda Lovelace, ladybookmad

    • 10
    • 144
    • 0
    From Amanda Lovelace, a poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing, empowerment, and inspiration.the princess saves herself in this one is the first book in the "women are some kind of magic" series.
    Show book