Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mr Kris Kringle: A Christmas Tale (Illustrated) - cover

Mr Kris Kringle: A Christmas Tale (Illustrated)

S. Weir Mitchell

Publisher: Seltzer Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

According to Wikipedia: "Silas Weir Mitchell (February 15, 1829–January 4, 1914) was an American physician and writer... In 1863 he wrote a clever short story, combining physiological and psychological problems, entitled "The Case of George Dedlow", in the Atlantic Monthly. Thenceforward, Mitchell, as a writer, divided his attention between professional and literary pursuits. In the former field, he produced monographs on rattlesnake poison, on intellectual hygiene, on injuries to the nerves, on neurasthenia, on nervous diseases of women, on the effects of gunshot wounds upon the nervous system, and on the relations between nurse, physician, and patient; while in the latter, he wrote juvenile stories, several volumes of respectable verse, and prose fiction of varying merit, which, however, gave him a leading place among the American authors of the close of the 19th century. His historical novels, Hugh Wynne, Free Quaker (1897), The Adventures of François (1898) and The Red City (1909), take high rank in this branch of fiction. He was also Charlotte Perkins Gilman's doctor and his use of a rest cure on her provided the idea for "The Yellow Wallpaper", a short story in which the narrator is driven insane by her rest cure."

Other books that might interest you

  • On the Northern Ice - cover

    On the Northern Ice

    Elia W. Peattie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Elia Wilkinson Peattie (1862-1935) was an American author, journalist and critic. As a child she was an avid reader, and despite leaving school at 14, she quickly became recognized as a brilliant short story writer.'On the Northern Ice' is an eerie ghost story set around the Great Lakes.
    Show book
  • The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (Unabridged) - cover

    The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll...

    Robert Louis Stevenson

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde is a chilling novella written by Robert Louis Stevenson and published in 1886. The subject matter may be partly that of a shilling shocker, but the whole is executed with great panache and a fine Gothic sensibility. Lawyer Gabriel Utterson leads us apace through the rain-swept streets of Victorian London in pursuit of the diminutive but thoroughly monstrous Mr. Hyde. The upright Dr. Jekyll, inexplicably Hyde's patron and defender, grows increasingly reclusive, and Utterson is further alarmed by the bizarre alterations made by Jekyll to his Last Will and Testament. Robert Louis Stevenson here explores the duality of man, examines concepts of good and evil and the desire to escape the straitjacket of social rectitude whilst keeping up appearances and avoiding the consequences. But like his other enduring classic, Treasure Island, it is much more than that: it is a thrilling tale brilliantly told.
    Show book
  • Biffin on the Bassoon - cover

    Biffin on the Bassoon

    Harry Graham

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Harry Graham made a great name for himself as a writer of light verse and humorous stories, including the inimitable Ruthless Rhymes for Heartless Homes. His classic story, 'Biffin on the Bassoon', recounts a tale of decidedly amateur musician who inadvertently finds himself playing the bassoon solo at the inaugural performance by the London Philmelodic of Heinzmacher's Die Schöpfung, with comic results. Written very much in the vein of P. G.Wodehouse, Harry Graham's work should be compulsory reading for all lapsed instrument players.
    Show book
  • The Idiot - cover

    The Idiot

    Arnold Bennett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When William Froyle, ostler at the Queen's Arms at Moorthorne, learns that his betrothed has betrayed him, he determines to hang himself in the inn's coach house. 
    
    
    His first, unsuccessful attempt, is witnessed by Daft Jimmy, the village idiot. Daft Jimmy offers to help with the process of fixing the noose and takes a great deal of interest and delight in the proceedings. 
    
    
    As events unfold, it becomes less clear who is the fool and who is the wise man.
    Show book
  • Balthazar - cover

    Balthazar

    Lawrence Durrell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The deeply affecting second novel of theAlexandria Quartet, which boldly questions perception and the nature of contemporary loveIn Alexandria, Egypt, in the years before World War II, Durrell’s narrator, Darley, seeks to fully understand his sexual obsession with two women: the infamous Justine, and Melissa, a dancer. In Darley’s conversations with Balthazar, a doctor and mystic, it soon becomes clear that Darley’s fixation is more complex and ominous than either man could have imagined. Layered and unflinching, Balthazar is a poignant examination of the modern psyche, and a study of a world where love can become consumed by deceit.  This ebook contains a new introduction by Jan Morris.
    Show book
  • Persuasion - cover

    Persuasion

    Jane Austen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As with all Jane Austen's novels, Persuasion draws much of its appeal from the author's talent for observation and for satire. Notice first how the characters reveal their personalities as much through their speech - both in their choice of words or phrases - as through their actions. Then compare this to the way that Austen herself, either through Anne Elliot or in her role of narrator, condemns or praises her characters. While the story-line is genteel, the tone is one of amused mockery and sharp indignation. It is often her use of one small, seemingly insignificant word or phrase that indicates her true feelings.
    Show book