Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Lafayette--the novel--Courtier to Crown Fugitive - cover

Lafayette--the novel--Courtier to Crown Fugitive

S. P. Grogan

Publisher: Addison & Highsmith Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Lafayette—the novel 
Courtier to Crown Fugitive 
TheStory of Adventure, Romance & Revolution 
Breathing life into the mythology.  The world knows the Hero of Two Worlds, Gilbert du Motier de La Fayette, best known today as Lafayette.  But author S.P. Grogan wants us to delve into Lafayette's early days of those major events of France in the 1760's -1770's which forged into the future major general's character the impassioned drive toward his ultimate goal: to be a victorious soldier bathed in glory. 
Follow how he seeks to deal with women in his life: his cousin, those of the street, his future wife Adrienne, and his quest to be like others, and gain an influential mistress. 
This period of  Lafayette's life, always vague with little historic facts, has been fleshed out beginning with Gilbert's rural birth in the Auvergne hills to his 19th birthday as an active player in Queen Marie Antoinette's dissolute clique. 
Lafayette – Courtier to Crown Fugitive is an 'action' story of highway robbers, spies, and court intrigues. The reader can see the developing psychological make-up of Lafayette; his search for a father-figure, his need for supportive love, and his blind passion for glory and fame.  What is revealed is a young boy in the throes of transformation under the influences of Queen Marie Antoinette's life style of spoiled privilege, his attitude towards his young wife in a forced marriage, the secrets within the Masonic fraternity, the writings of Voltaire, the Encyclopédistes, and the voice of the anti-slavery Abbot Raynal.  All come together to transform his mind-set as Gilbert, blinded by class liberté idealism, seeks to run away to join the American revolutionary army.  In doing so, he becomes a fugitive from the King's edicts, and his ensuing flight and pursuit climax in a showdown on the beaches of Spain. 
Author S.P. Grogan is a best-selling author specializing in historical fiction. 
Vegas Die--retired mobsters being murdered 
Captain Cooked—Hawaiian monarchy culinary mystery 
With Revenge Comes Terror— Reality television stars chasing Osama bin Laden 
Atomic Dreams at the Red Tiki Lounge—the goddess Pele and Atomic Bomb in post World War 2

Other books that might interest you

  • The Turnbulls - A Novel - cover

    The Turnbulls - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    The “darkly exuberant and passionate” saga of a man who flees Victorian England in disgrace—only to build an empire of corruption in America (The New York Times).   The son of a wealthy English merchant, John Turnbull’s destiny appears to be a life of gentlemanly leisure. His path: graduate from his fashionable school and marry his beautiful cousin, Eugenia, whom he loves. Yet, one wild night, a jealous classmate tricks him into making a fateful mistake.   Forced to give up his former life, Turnbull sails for America. He soon falls in with the unscrupulous businessman Mr. Wilkins. Together, they steal patents, smuggle contraband through the Southern blockade during the Civil War, run guns to Japan, and finance the opium trade. But as Turnbull amasses a fortune large enough to vanquish his most powerful enemies, he doesn’t realize his gravest threat comes from within his own family.   Packed with fascinating period details, The Turnbulls is a mesmerizing family drama from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Captains and the Kings and Dynasty of Death.
    Show book
  • Nici's Christmas Tale - The Troubadours Quartet #5 - cover

    Nici's Christmas Tale - The...

    Jean Gill

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A stand-alone short story in the multi-award-winning Troubadours Quartet series 
    1157: Aquitaine. The wolves are coming! At midnight on Christmas Eve, while the blizzard blasts snow through every crack in the castle walls, Nici the Shepherd's Dog stands guard in the sheepfold. 
       Beside him as usual are his pack and the flock they protect but this night is not usual at all. A small boy braves the snowy night, seeking the protection of his great friend while he is banned from his parents' quarters in the castle. 
       Nici recalls other times and other dangers, his trials and failures, the reasons why he ran away with a young girl, now the little boy's mother. He would still give his life in a heartbeat for Lady Estela. And yet, on this snowy night, he cannot help her. So, while he waits and comforts Estela's son, he tells his own puppies the story of a dog's life. 
    'One just wants to sit down with Nici as he shares his story in that cozy sheepfold while the cold winds rage outside on Christmas Eve.' Emily-Jane Hills Orford for Readers' Favorite
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 8
    • 87
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • The Norfolk Mystery - A County Guides Mystery - cover

    The Norfolk Mystery - A County...

    Ian Sansom

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England: quaint villages, eccentric locals—and murder … 
    It is 1937, and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where "intelligence is essential," he eagerly applies. 
    Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county. 
    They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bell rope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the reverend really take his own life, or is there something darker afoot? 
    A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Agatha Christie, and Charles Todd, this novel includes plenty of murder, mystery, and mayhem to confound.
    Show book
  • The Secret Sense of Wildflower - Wildflower #1 - cover

    The Secret Sense of Wildflower -...

    Susan Gabriel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Named a Best Book of 2012 by Kirkus Reviews. 
    Small southern towns have few secrets. But when a grieving daughter confronts the local bad boy, she exposes a dark history.  
    Appalachia, 1941. Thirteen-year-old Louisa May "Wildflower" McAllister's heart still aches for her father. A year after her dad's tragic sawmill accident, she relies on her strength of spirit and her heightened intuition to deal with a critical mother and cope with the aftermath. 
    But when she's targeted by the town's teenage bully, she may need more than her "secret sense" to survive. 
    Despite these hardships, Wildflower has a resilience that is forged with humor, a love of the land, and an endless supply of questions to God. But after an affront to her father's memory, she lets her anger get the better of her and unwittingly triggers a series of traumatic events that will change her life forever. 
    Will Wildflower fall to another tragedy or will her faith in her family and herself be enough to carry her through? 
    With prose as lush and colorful as the American South, The Secret Sense of Wildflower is powerful and poignant, brimming with energy and angst, humor and hope.  
     
    Enjoy southern fiction at its best today!
    Show book
  • Children of the Siege - cover

    Children of the Siege

    Diney Costeloe

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    A lost child, a family divided, the bitter backdrop of war – the ingredients of this classic Diney Costeloe story, set in 19th-century France. 
     
    After the Franco-Prussian War and the siege of 1870-71, the St Clair family return to Paris, seeking refuge and security, only to be swept up into the terrible cruelties and violence of the Commune. 
     
    Here their young daughter, Helene, falls ill and a cruel twist of fate leads her to be separated from her family. Alone and frightened, she is captured by Prussian soldiers before escaping to fend for herself on the war-torn streets. Meanwhile her two brothers face each other as mortal enemies across the barricades. 
     
    Heartrending and unputdownable, this classic Diney story shows the courage of one family in the face of deadly peril.
    Show book