Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Lafayette--the novel--Courtier to Crown Fugitive - cover

Lafayette--the novel--Courtier to Crown Fugitive

S. P. Grogan

Publisher: Addison & Highsmith Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Lafayette—the novel 
Courtier to Crown Fugitive 
TheStory of Adventure, Romance & Revolution 
Breathing life into the mythology.  The world knows the Hero of Two Worlds, Gilbert du Motier de La Fayette, best known today as Lafayette.  But author S.P. Grogan wants us to delve into Lafayette's early days of those major events of France in the 1760's -1770's which forged into the future major general's character the impassioned drive toward his ultimate goal: to be a victorious soldier bathed in glory. 
Follow how he seeks to deal with women in his life: his cousin, those of the street, his future wife Adrienne, and his quest to be like others, and gain an influential mistress. 
This period of  Lafayette's life, always vague with little historic facts, has been fleshed out beginning with Gilbert's rural birth in the Auvergne hills to his 19th birthday as an active player in Queen Marie Antoinette's dissolute clique. 
Lafayette – Courtier to Crown Fugitive is an 'action' story of highway robbers, spies, and court intrigues. The reader can see the developing psychological make-up of Lafayette; his search for a father-figure, his need for supportive love, and his blind passion for glory and fame.  What is revealed is a young boy in the throes of transformation under the influences of Queen Marie Antoinette's life style of spoiled privilege, his attitude towards his young wife in a forced marriage, the secrets within the Masonic fraternity, the writings of Voltaire, the Encyclopédistes, and the voice of the anti-slavery Abbot Raynal.  All come together to transform his mind-set as Gilbert, blinded by class liberté idealism, seeks to run away to join the American revolutionary army.  In doing so, he becomes a fugitive from the King's edicts, and his ensuing flight and pursuit climax in a showdown on the beaches of Spain. 
Author S.P. Grogan is a best-selling author specializing in historical fiction. 
Vegas Die--retired mobsters being murdered 
Captain Cooked—Hawaiian monarchy culinary mystery 
With Revenge Comes Terror— Reality television stars chasing Osama bin Laden 
Atomic Dreams at the Red Tiki Lounge—the goddess Pele and Atomic Bomb in post World War 2

Other books that might interest you

  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book
  • The Lion Triumphant - cover

    The Lion Triumphant

    Philippa Carr

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Played out against the seething rivalry between Inquisition-torn Spain and Elizabethan England, The Lion Triumphant traces the linked fates of strong-willed Catherine Farland and Captain Jake Pennlyon Called “The Lion,” Captain Jake Pennlyon is a fearsome and virile plunderer who takes what he wants, and his sights are set on Catherine Farland. Blackmailed into wedlock and haunted by memories of the gentle boy she was forbidden to wed, Cat vows to escape. Fate intervenes when she’s taken prisoner aboard a Spanish galleon . . . unaware that she’s a pawn in one man’s long-awaited revenge. Beginning as Elizabeth takes the throne of England, and spanning the years until the legendary defeat of the Spanish Armada, The Lion Triumphant follows Cat’s journey from the thrill of a first passion to the ferocity of a mother’s love. Despite the twists of history, her fortunes—and her heart—will remain tied to one seductive buccaneer. 
    Show book
  • An American in Barcelona - Dr Pearson The Man Who Brought Light to Catalonia - cover

    An American in Barcelona - Dr...

    Xavier Moret

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An inspirational novel of the real-life engineer whose ambitious project to build an electrical grid in Catalonia changed Barcelona forever Xavier Moret illuminates the story of the American engineer Frederick Stark Pearson, an entrepreneur with a global vision, whose innovative business ventures brought electricity to Catalonia. From his arrival in Barcelona in June 1911, Dr. Pearson played a key role in the industrialization of the city, building tram and train networks to benefit from this new form of energy. However, tragedy strikes when Dr. Pearson dies aboard the Lusitania, torpedoed and sunk by a German U-boat. Suddenly, his ambitious project of urban and spatial planning is in jeopardy. Moret compellingly envisions these historic events and the daily life of the American and Spanish pioneers in the local villages and work camps—a world reminiscent of the Wild West. He interweaves this story with his account of his own passionate commitment to chronicling Dr. Pearson’s remarkable achievements, and how this process of research and discovery ultimately changed his life.
    Show book
  • The River by Starlight - A Novel - cover

    The River by Starlight - A Novel

    Ellen Notbohm

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Her brother’s letter touched a match to the wick of Annie’s doused dreams. Dream enough for her, to stroll the length of a town without the abortive glances, the stilted greetings, the wider berth given her on the sidewalk. “I could use some help out here,” he wrote. “What’s holding you to Iowa anyway?”
    
    Annie Rushton leaves behind an unsettling past to join her brother on his Montana homestead and make a determined fresh start. There, sparks fly when she tangles with Adam Fielding, a visionary businessman-farmer determined to make his own way and answer to no one. Neither is looking for a partner, but they give in to their undeniable chemistry.
    
    Annie and Adam’s marriage brims with astounding success and unanticipated passion, but their dream of having a child eludes them as a mysterious illness of mind and body plagues Annie’s pregnancies. Amidst deepening economic adversity, natural disaster, and the onset of world war, their personal struggles collide with the societal mores of the day. Annie’s shattering periods of black depression and violent outbursts exact a terrible price. The life the Fieldings have forged begins to unravel, and the only path ahead leads to unthinkable loss. 
    
    Based on true events, this sweeping novel weaves a century-old story, timeless in its telling of love, heartbreak, healing, and redemption embodied in one woman’s tenacious quest for control over her own destiny in the face of devastating misfortune and social injustice.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Into the Unknown - cover

    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Harry Heron: Into the Unknown continues the exciting story begun in Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey, the flagship book in the series. A freak accident on board the HMS Spartan during a sea battle with the French navy in 1804 catapults Midshipman Harry Heron and his shipmates Ferghal O’Connor and Danny Gunn four hundred years into the future, landing them on the NECS Vanguard, flagship of the World Treaty Organisation Fleet. While Captain Blackwood and Major Heron sort out the mystery and determine whether the young men are alive or dead, Harry and his friends are faced with the challenge of learning new roles aboard a spaceship. Just as they have found their footing, they are called upon to assist the Fleet in a rescue mission on the planet Pangaea, giving them the opportunity to prove that their unique skills from the past are still very relevant in the far distant future.
    Show book
  • Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel - cover

    Palm Trees in the Snow - A Novel

    Luz Gabás

    • 8
    • 106
    • 0
    Letters from the past transport a young Spanish woman into the mysterious lives of her father and her uncle during the waning years of colonial rule in Guinea When Clarence comes upon a series of letters from her family’s past, she starts to piece together the story of her father’s travels with his brother, and she becomes curious about her origins. Sifting through the clues and assembling the narrative, Clarence embarks on a journey to the exotic African isle of Fernando Poo, where the 2 brothers, Jacobo and Kilian, landed after fleeing their conventional, safe lives in the Spanish Pyrenees.   A secret rests at the heart of this tale as it moves back and forth between generations and spaces. For Clarence, in 2003, the life that Jacobo and Kilian created 50 years ago on the island as 2 expatriate cocoa cultivators starts to unfold. The brothers explore a culture that is starkly different from Spain, and in the midst of discovering what it means to grow the perfect cocoa beans, they build a strong friendship—and learn the dangers and delights of forbidden love.
    Show book