Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Harpy Saga: Sister Mine - Ghost Hunters Mystery-Detective - cover

The Harpy Saga: Sister Mine - Ghost Hunters Mystery-Detective

S. H. Marpel

Publisher: Midwest Journal Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Harpy and I were born from the union between a goddess of nature and a god of humans. 
While she was the black sheep of the family, I was the shining star who could do no wrong. 
Opposite twins, our whole long lives. 
Through history, you may have heard of us. Mostly written as hags, foul-smelling man-killers. 
Of course, you can never believe the press. They only partially report the facts. The bits that suit them. 
Our longer history was one of constant effort to remain on-guard as humankind consistently killed their gods and goddesses. Until my sister and I were the the tiny minority of powerful beings, hiding to preserve what left of our long lives. 
If you could call constant hiding a life. 
And now I had to reveal myself just to rescue the sister I hated. 
(Part 3 of 3...) 
Excerpt: 
Harpy and I were born twin sisters, hatched from the union of a god of humans and a goddess of nature. 
We were always polar opposites. She was the black sheep and I was the shining star who could do no wrong. So, too often when either of us would get into trouble for some prank, she was the one who got blamed. 
I always came out smelling like a rose. And that name stuck: Rose. Simple, direct, innocent. My sister took our family name for her own, and never wanted to be called by her real first name. 
Our hi-jinks didn't get us any good press with the humans we could deal with though. Even that little Odessey episode that was written-up with us as the horrible-looking and worse-smelling evil creatures that haunted "poor" Ulysses, his primitive boat and crew. 
The real story was that we took pity on them, and protected them from all sorts of really stupid situations they got themselves into - by being so damned bull-headed. Anyone else would have given up after the first or second impossible challenge. But they just had to steal that golden fleece for some personal gain of a king who would be dead in a few years with or without their help. 
Mortals are called that for a reason. And it's not a compliment coming from us goddesses. 
But that was then, and here is now. 
Somehow, Harpy had run onto the bad side of a 12,000 year old priestess that was trapped when Atlantis sank. That priestess finally figured out how to escape, by duping a human and the Earth goddess Gaia (who herself had slept most of the intervening years.) 
One of the first things that priestess had done was to run across my sister Harpy and cast a spell on her that made her half-human. And then beat that human half to a pulp. 
Yes, I felt all that. But couldn't do anything without giving myself away. Besides, it was over so quick, I could hardly unfold my wings before it was too late.. 
That priestess didn't know that all this did was to strengthen my resolve to end her as permanently as possible, just as soon as I could arrange it... 
Scroll Up and Get Your Copy Now.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Halfling's Court - cover

    The Halfling's Court

    Danielle Ackley-McPhail

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Get Your Bad-Ass On!
    
     
    The rumble of a Harley...
    The gleam of black leather...
    The shine of polished chrome...
    The freedom of the open road....
    
     
    Motorcycles meet magic and mayhem as Lance Cosain, the halfling leader of The Wild Hunt MC, protects his turf and his people from attacks ordered by Dair na Scath, the high king of the fae.
    
     
    Holding his own against rogue fae, redcaps, and pissed-off road gremlins, all Lance wants to do is settle down with his lady. Instead he goes toe-to-toe with the high king’s champion over an ancient dagger and his claim to the throne.
    
     
    Who will triumph? The king of the road or the king of the realm? Either way, the Hunt is on!
    
     
     
    Show book
  • Rhapsody in Red - Shades of Crimson #1 - cover

    Rhapsody in Red - Shades of...

    Mila Waters

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Calix Mabry had everything a vampire could ever want. A mate, eternal life, and enough money to sustain them for the rest of their lives. But when his beloved is taken from him, he vows to bring her back at any cost. 
    Enter Vivienne Peltier. Long legs. Deep red hair. She is everything his Sofia wasn't. He is drawn to her like a moth to a flame. 
    Torn between his desire to bring Sofia back and his lust for Vivienne, Calix makes a decision that could potentially tear everything and everyone he knows apart. 
    True love always wins in the end. But at what cost?
    Show book
  • Fire & Blood - Lost Nights #3 - cover

    Fire & Blood - Lost Nights #3

    A. Vers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ana Tridale was once the vampire Princess of Georgia. Now, life without her title means life without resources she normally has. And some she desperately needs. 
    With two months of peace under her belt, odd incidents take over the streets of the District: the last haven for local supernaturals. Citizens are consumed in a fire with no source. Their bodies leaving nothing but a charred and decimated trail in the wake of what appears to be a berserker rage: a supernatural's dip into madness. 
    Can Ana and her team make it out alive? Or will they go up in flames when they're tested by the power of Fire and Blood?
    Show book
  • The Blue Lotus Society - Guardians of the Time Stream #1 - cover

    The Blue Lotus Society -...

    Michelle L. Levigne

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A traveling exhibit of Egyptian artifacts is threatened by thieves. Pinkerton agents, including Ess Fremont, are assigned to protection duty. The thefts of artifacts around the world makes this a priority mission, not just for the sake of antiquity but for diplomatic reasons. 
    A midnight vigil in the Smithsonian Institution's warehouse brings Ess face-to-face with the reason behind the thefts -- and the two groups seeking what is hidden within the artifacts. 
    Encountering her missing grandparents' allies, Ess has a chance to reclaim her heritage. The question is if she wants to. Athena Latymer and the members of the Blue Lotus Society aren't being honest with her. How can she join a battle affecting the entire world when she doesn't understand the reasons for the war? There is more to the Blue Lotus Society than protecting Egyptian history and culture. 
    As the exhibition crosses the country, Ess approaches the tipping point, when her decision could be made for her. Who can she trust? Who is lying to her and using her? Even for the chance to be reunited with her brother, Uly, she isn't quite ready to commit herself to an organization full of secrets. 
    Then the enemy strikes far too close, and she discovers that making the right choice can't always wait until all her questions are answered.
    Show book
  • Wolf Rampant Trilogy - Wolf Rampant #0 - cover

    Wolf Rampant Trilogy - Wolf...

    Aimee Easterling

    • 2
    • 8
    • 1
    USA Today bestselling author Aimee Easterling's Wolf Rampant series has racked up over 500 five-star reviews!  
    Meet Terra Wilder, a shiftless shifter uncomfortable in her own animal skin.  
    Throw in a healthy helping of Wolfie Young, a bloodling alpha who's more wolf than man.  
    Mix with a dash of Terra's controlling father and Wolfie's sadistic brother. Then fold in a heaping handful of unconventional outcasts.  
    The result is a unique werewolf world that has been described as a "good choice for Patricia Briggs fans."  
    This box set contains the full text of Shiftless, Pack Princess, and Alpha Ascendant.
    Show book
  • To Kill A Siren - Monster Hunter Tales - cover

    To Kill A Siren - Monster Hunter...

    Shannon McRoberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A love worth fighting for!  
     
    Lexi River had only one job--keep Gareth Blaze out of trouble and on time for his appointments. For the most part, Lexi was able to keep Gareth's nose clean and his name out of the tabloids. Usually any mischief he found himself in was easily taken care of with a few phone calls; until Gareth fell head over heels for a mysterious girl named Genevieve. 
     
    Genevieve was otherworldly and elegant. Lexi hated her from day one. There was something not quite right about her, but Lexi could never figure out what bothered her about Genevieve. Everyone chalked it up to jealousy, until Lexi's worse fears about Genevieve were realized when she causes Gareth to lose his fortune in a business deal gone bad. 
     
    Penniless, both Gareth and Lexi are forced to return to their childhood hometown in Kentucky. It was a place neither one of them wanted to see again, but Lexi was determined to make the best of the situation. Things were finally looking up for the pair. That is until Gareth fell violently ill and Lexi was charged with his attempted murder.  
    Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Patricia Briggs will not want to miss this new series. Scroll up and purchase your copy today!
    Show book