Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Case of the Sunken Spirit - Ghost Hunters Mystery-Detective - cover

The Case of the Sunken Spirit - Ghost Hunters Mystery-Detective

S. H. Marpel

Publisher: Midwest Journal Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

To rescue a 12,000 year old ghost, you have to learn to breathe water. 
Our next mystery to solve was the toughest yet. We thought ourselves prepared to deal with being submerged several hundred feet below the surface. 
My question was how to communicate with something who was older than all civilization as we knew it. What did it have in common with our modern culture? How to talk through an energy shield built to withstand the pressures of that depth? 
I didn't have long to wait after we arrived. 
Because something pulled me out of that shield and wanted to talk with meright now - deep underwater, ready or not... 
(Part 1 of 3: contains cliffhanger ending...) 
Excerpt: 
I woke soaking wet. Putting my tongue to my lips tasted - salt water. 
That made sense to the dream I woke up from, but the nearest ocean was thousands of miles away. 
So I did the next best thing I could think of. Reaching up for the turquoise stone around my neck, I called for Sal and Jude. 
And they arrived. Also soaking wet, dripping on my tiny cabin floor. 
Good thing I stayed in bed to give them room to move. At least my bed was keeping my own third puddle contained. 
I had to smile, though. Both of those girls were usually so neat and tidy. Now their hair hung down in long, soggy strands. Their blouses were plastered to their skin. And they were not amused. 
"What the hell, John?" Jude was first to vent, as expected. "I was nice and asleep, and then you had to have an underwater dream and put us two into it?!?" 
"What Jude is trying to understand is how you pulled us out of bed, fully dressed, underwater - only to have a nightmare where we can't do anything to save you?" 
I just had to smile. We were all just too ridiculous standing or laying in our salt water pools. "Sorry. But I didn't think I could do that. Are you sure it was me?" 
"Well who else could it be?" Jude put her head to the side and bumped her head, trying to get the water out of her ears. 
Sal smiled back at me, and then looked over at Jude's wet black leather outfit and down to her own soggy off-white business suit with gold pin-stripe. And the growing puddle beneath her squishy tan dress pumps. 
That made her smile turn into a grin. 
A simple gesture and we were all three dry again, as if we'd never been in water at all. Which meant was was wearing my work clothes, including boots, while still in bed. A dry bed, now. 
"Thanks, Sal." 
She just nodded. 
Jude stopped bumping her head and straightened up, tugging her leathers into position again, the way she liked them - tight and revealing. 
Sal just adjusted her cuffs and made sure her hair was in a blond bun with two carved ivory hair pins, as usual. "What do you remember of that nightmare, John?" 
"We were somewhere deep, really deep underwater inside one of your force shields. An ancient set of columns showed up. We had some glow lights showing or something - when it looked like a girl or mermaid came right toward us. She wasn't swimming, but more like walking as if the water wasn't there. Straight ahead, right to the side of the force shield and then reached right through it to grab my arm and pull me out of it - right into the water. That's when I woke up." 
Jude looked over at Sal. "That scans. Same thing I remembered." 
Sal frowned. "Definitely got a mystery on our hands. Time to see Ben. Stand up, John." 
I just got to my feet when we shimmered off to somewhere else... 
Scroll Up and Get Your Copy Now.

Other books that might interest you

  • Alpha Wolf - Alpha Company Series #1 - cover

    Alpha Wolf - Alpha Company...

    Molly Evans

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Alpha Company wolf pack is on a mission led by commander Vic Stone. Nothing and no one gets past them. Not even the Ridge Runners, their sworn enemies, determined to control the entire shifter community of New Mexico. In order to save the lives of countless shifters and humans, Vic and Alpha Company have to take out the rogue band of wolves hidden deep in the Sandia Mountains. 
    When one of Vic's wolves is seriously injured on a mission to rescue a kidnapped child, Vic takes him to the woman who will change Vic's life forever. Trista Holiday is the only vet he trusts with his wolves. She's brilliant, a skilled surgeon and sexy as hell. Determined to save the life of this wolf, Trista stops at nothing, even threatening to infiltrate Alpha Company's secret compound to ensure his health.. 
    Without a choice, Vic takes the sexy and troublesome veterinarian to his secret hideaway and there they discover the passion and connection that make each other complete. Determined to cause as much destruction as possible, the Ridge Runners kidnap Trista to draw Vic out of his sanctuary. As she lies dying in his arms, Vic knows there is only one thing he can do to save her life and his own soul. 
    Now, they are a family, a pack, and together they will fight for their land, their lives and the future of their species against all enemies.
    Show book
  • Alice in Wonderland - cover

    Alice in Wonderland

    Lewis Carrol

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (1865) is a novel written by English author Charles Lutwidge Dodgson, better known under the pseudonym Lewis Carroll. It tells the story of a girl named Alice who falls down a rabbit-hole into a fantasy world populated by peculiar and anthropomorphic creatures.
    Show book
  • The Gathering of the Lost - The Wall of Night Book Two - cover

    The Gathering of the Lost - The...

    Helen Lowe

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world.”—Robin Hobb, author of Dragon Haven 
    “[Lowe] reinvigorates the epic fantasy with appealing characters and a richly detailed world.”—Library Journal 
    Sure to become an epic fantasy classic, Helen Lowe’s magnificent Wall of Night series is big, ambitious, and gorgeously drawn—a story of bravery, treachery, and cataclysm in a richly imagined world. The Gathering of the Lost is the second of four books set in a fantastic imperiled realm garrisoned by nine great Houses and protected from the terrible Darkswarm by the towering mountain range that gives the series its name. Supremely literate, brilliantly imagined and executed fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, Guy Gavriel Kay, and Barbara Hambly, The Gathering of the Lost is populated by a grand cast of unforgettable characters, some still holding to the beleaguered Wall, others scattered in their quest for the fabled Heir of Night, who vanished from their midst five years earlier.
    Show book
  • Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Runaway Vampire - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    Buckle up—the argeneaus are back in a sexy, witty new novel from New York times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    Dante Notte has heard it said that love hurts. He just wasn’t expecting it to run him over in an RV. Still, a punctured lung and broken ribs are nothing compared to the full-body shock he feels whenever he’s near the vehicle’s driver, Mary Winslow. He needs to keep her safe from their pursuers while he rescues his brother. Most challenging of all, he needs to claim this smart, stubborn woman as his life mate. 
    The naked, injured, insanely gorgeous younger man who clambered into her RV insists they belong together. If Mary wasn’t feeling their incredible connection in every inch of her being, she wouldn’t believe it. But now that the men who took Dante’s twin are after her too, trusting her gut means risking her life for an immortal who’s the very definition of a perfect stranger.
    Show book
  • Flight of the Nighthawks - Book One of the Darkwar Saga - cover

    Flight of the Nighthawks - Book...

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    A portent of annihilation awakens the powerful sorcerer Pug in the dead of night—a dread vision warning of a vast and terrible army descending upon the exposed heart of Midkemia. Even the formidable might of the Tsurani Empire will not beat back the alien invaders. And in far Stardock town, two boys—untrained, unready, and barely come of age—will be called upon by the mysterious Conclave of Shadows to confront a sinister plot that implicates even the highest-ranking nobles in the land. For a nightmare of treason, intrigue, and murder is brewing among an ancient Brotherhood of Death—a clan of merciless assassins whose name is spoken only in fearful whispers . . .
    Show book
  • Never Trust A Vampire (Strange Allies novel #1) - cover

    Never Trust A Vampire (Strange...

    Vivian Lane

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    The people we save look at us like we’re superheroes, or guardian angels, but we bleed.
     
    We break.
     
    And sometimes, we even die. Becoming a paladin means sacrifice of self. 
     
    Saving innocents is always top priority, so when the vampire Adam asks for Agent Seven's services to rescue children from L.A.’s reigning vampire, The Agency won't let her refuse. Company motto is the only good vampire is a dead one, so what makes this guy different from all the rest? This feels like a trap.Will Adam prove her wrong, or be her downfall?
     
    This story is intended for readers over the age of 18 due to adult situations.
    Show book