Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Illustrated Handy Mandy in Oz - cover

The Illustrated Handy Mandy in Oz

Thompson Ruth Plumly

Publisher: Wilder Publications

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

On many a day had Handy, the Goat Girl of Mern, pursued her goats up and down the rocky eminences of her native mountain. And never—NEVER—in her fourteen or so years' experience had she been blown up by a mountain spring. But there comes, in every one's experience a day which is unlike every other day, and so it was with the Goat Girl. As she was pursuing What-a-butter, her favorite goat, there was a sudden crash, a whish, and up flew the slab of rock on which she was standing, up and away.
The adventures into which she was carried by this simple though awefull beginning take a whole book to relate. How she met Nox the Royal Ox of Keretaria, how together they went in search of little King Kerry, how at last they rescued him and found themselves feted guests of Ozma of Oz, all these things you must read for yourselves.
Read what the University of Washington Chapbooks have to say about the famous Oz series. 
They have taught American children to look for the elements of wonder in the life around them, to realize that even smoke and machinery may be transformed into fairy lore if only we have sufficient energy and vision to penetrate to their significance and transform them to our use.... Some day we may have better fairytales but that will not be until America is a better country. (Edward Wagenknecht.)

Other books that might interest you

  • The School for Good and Evil #5: A Crystal of Time - cover

    The School for Good and Evil #5:...

    Soman Chainani

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    In this fifth installment in Soman Chainani’s New York Times bestselling School for Good and Evil fantasy series, the past will come back to haunt the present. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. 
    A false king has seized Camelot’s throne, sentencing Tedros, the true king, to death. While Agatha, narrowly escapes the same fate, Sophie is caught in King Rhian’s trap. With her wedding to Rhian approaching, she’s forced to play a dangerous game as her friends’ lives hang in the balance. 
    All the while, King Rhian’s dark plans for Camelot are taking shape. Now the students of the School for Good and Evil must find a way to restore Tedros to the throne before their stories—and the future of the Endless Woods—are rewritten . . . forever. 
    Don't miss the thrilling conclusion to the beloved series, The School for Good and Evil #6: One True King, available June 2020!
    Show book
  • The Door at the End of the World - cover

    The Door at the End of the World

    Caroline Carlson

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    An otherworldly middle grade story perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and Stranger Things from the author of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series and the Agatha Award nominee The World’s Greatest Detective. 
    What begins as a rather unremarkable Tuesday quickly turns to disaster when Lucy, the Gatekeeper's deputy, discovers that her boss has vanished and the door connecting Lucy's world to the next world over is broken—and it all might be Lucy's fault. 
    To save the Gatekeeper and set things right, Lucy must break the rules for the first time ever and journey with an otherworldly boy, a suspiciously sneaky girl, and a crew of magical bees into the seven worlds beyond her own. 
    But Lucy isn't the only one breaking the rules. As dangers gather around her, she learns she's up against a sinister force that's playing with the delicate fabric of time and space, no matter what the deadly costs or consequences. 
    Lucy's never had to save the world before—and now, somehow, she's got to find a way to save eight of them.
    Show book
  • Feedback - cover

    Feedback

    Robison Wells

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of James Dashner's The Maze Runner, Feedback is the heart-stopping sequel to Variant—which Pittacus Lore, author of I Am Number Four, praised as "an intense journey with some of the most shocking twists and turns I've ever read." 
    Benson Fisher escaped from Maxfield Academy's deadly rules and brutal gangs. He thought that the worst was over. 
    But now Benson is trapped in a different kind of prison—a town filled with familiar faces. Classmates from Maxfield who Benson had seen die. Friends he was afraid he had killed. 
    They are all pawns in the school's twisted experiment, held captive and controlled by an unseen force. And while Benson struggles to figure out who, if anyone, can be trusted, he discovers that Maxfield Academy's plans are darker than anything he imagined—and they may be impossible to stop.
    Show book
  • Warriors: Power of Three #6: Sunrise - cover

    Warriors: Power of Three #6:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Erin Hunter's #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series continues with the sixth book  in the Power of Three series! 
    The final book in this third series, Warriors: Power of Three #6: Sunrise, brings more adventure, intrigue, and thrilling battles to the epic world of the warrior Clans. 
    The secret of Hollyleaf's, Jayfeather's, and Lionblaze's true identities has been revealed, but one shocking question remains unanswered. Now Clanmate will turn upon Clanmate, and one more warrior may be lost forever….
    Show book
  • The Frog Princess - cover

    The Frog Princess

    E.D. Baker

    • 0
    • 36
    • 0
    The first book in E. D. Baker's beloved Frog Princess series -- the inspiration for Disney's hit movie The Princess and the Frog! 
     
    Princess Emeralda a.k.a. Emma isn't exactly an ideal princess. Her laugh is more like a donkey's bray than tinkling bells, she trips over her own feet and she does not like Prince Jorge, whom her mother hopes she will marry. But if Emma ever thought to escape her troubles, she never expected it to happen by turning into a frog! When convinced to kiss a frog so he might return to being a prince, somehow the spell is reversed and Emma turns into a frog herself! Thus begins their adventure-a quest to return to human form. 
     
    Fascinating and hilarious characters ranging from a self-conscious but friendly bat to a surprisingly loyal snake and a wise green witch confirm that readers won't soon forget this madcap story. 
     
     Don't miss the rest of the Frog Princess series by E. D. Baker: 
      
     The Frog Princess 
     Dragon's Breath 
     Once Upon a Curse 
     No Place for Magic 
     The Salamander Spell 
     The Dragon Princess 
     Dragon Kiss 
     A Prince among Frogs 
     The Frog Princess Returns 
      
     And these other magical series: 
      
     Tales of the Wide-Awake Princess  
     The Fairy-Tale Matchmaker 
     More Than a Princess 
     Magic Animal Rescue 
      
     and more!
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #13: The End - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 4
    • 96
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Like an off-key violin concert, the Roman Empire, or food poisoning, all things must come to an end. Thankfully, this includes A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. The thirteenth and final installment in the groundbreaking series will answer readers' most burning questions: Will Count Olaf prevail? Will the Baudelaires survive? Will the series end happily? If there's nothing out there, what was that noise?  
    Then again, why trouble yourself with unfortunate resolutions? Avoid the thirteenth and final book of Lemony Snicket's international bestselling series and you'll never have to know what happens.
    Show book