If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Stalin’s Secret Police - A history of the CHEKA OGPU NKVD SMERSH & KGB: 1917–1991 - cover

Stalin’s Secret Police - A history of the CHEKA OGPU NKVD SMERSH & KGB: 1917–1991

Rupert Butler

Publisher: Amber Books Ltd

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The KGB of Cold War renown was the successor to a series of equally infamous and lethal state security agencies that date from the early days of the Russian Revolution: Cheka, OGPU, GUGB, NKVD, NKGB and MVD. Beginning with the Cheka, the organisation for combating counter-revolution and sabotage, Stalin’s Secret Police examines the Soviet state’s treatment of the enemies of Bolshevism, using methods that were so ruthless that the government was moved to abolish the organization ‘with expressions of gratitude for heroic work’ in 1922. The Cheka’s immediate successor was the OGPU (Unified State Political Administration). After taking control of the Communist Party in 1923 and later becoming de facto dictator of the Soviet Union, Stalin used the OGPU to implement mass collectivisation and deportations of the kulaks (wealthy peasants) in the early 1930s. Stalin NKVD’s (People’s Commissariat of Internal Affairs) carried out the purges of the 1930s, in which millions were arrested and executed or ended their lives in forced- labour camps. During World War II thousands of Cossacks and White Russians were killed when they fell into Soviet hands as the Red Army advanced towards Germany. Following the end of the war, Stalin tightened his grip over the secret police, and the final incarnation of his secret police, the KGB, became an agency for spreading Soviet influence throughout the world. Illustrated with more than 100 black-and-white photographs and expertly written, Stalin’s Secret Police is a chilling history of the Soviet secret police from 1917 to the fall of Communism.

Other books that might interest you

  • Righteous Indignation - Excuse Me While I Save the World - cover

    Righteous Indignation - Excuse...

    Andrew Breitbart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - now with a chapter on the "Weinergate" scandal"Brash, funny, fiery, and irreverent." - Rush LimbaughKnown for his network of conservative websites that draws millions of readers everyday, Andrew Breitbart has one main goal:  to make sure the "liberally biased"  major news outlets in this country cover all aspects of a story fairly. Breitbart is convinced that too many national stories are slanted by the news media in an unfair way. In RIGHTEOUS INDIGNATION, Breitbart talks about how one needs to deal with the liberal news world head on. Along the way, he details his early years, working with Matt Drudge, the Huffington Post, and how Breitbart developed his unique style of launching key websites to help get the word out to conservatives all over. A rollicking and controversial read, Breitbart will certainly raise your blood pressure, one way or another.
    Show book
  • Summary Analysis & Review of Bernie Sanders’s Our Revolution by Instaread - cover

    Summary Analysis & Review of...

    . Instaread

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Summary, Analysis & Review of Bernie Sanders’s Our Revolution by Instaread
     
     
     
    Preview:
     
     
     
    In Our Revolution: A Future to Believe In, Vermont Senator Bernie Sanders outlines his career and political ideals. The book includes an autobiographical sketch of his early life, a discussion of his 2016 campaign for the Democratic presidential nomination, and a summary of his views on important national issues. Sanders believes that the wealthy control government institutions and the national media to their own advantage, and that a popular electoral revolution is needed to rein in corruption and give working people jobs, opportunities, and a decent standard of living including equitable access to quality health care and education.
     
    Sanders was born in Brooklyn, New York, to working-class parents. His older brother Larry taught him a love of reading. Sanders was the first one in his family to attend an elite university when he went to the University of Chicago. There he read progressive publications, educated himself about political concerns, and …
     
     
     
    PLEASE NOTE: This is a Summary, Analysis & Review of the book and NOT the original book.
     
     
     
    Inside this Summary, Analysis & Review of Bernie Sanders’s Our Revolution by Instaread
     
     
     
    ·                      Overview of the Book
     
    ·                      Important People
     
    ·                      Key Takeaways
     
    ·                      Analysis of Key Takeaways
     
     
     
    About the Author
     
    With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience. 
     
    Visit our website at instaread.co.
    Show book
  • Catastrophe - cover

    Catastrophe

    Dick Morris, Eileen McGann

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    #1 New York Times Bestseller! In Catastrophe, Dick Morris and Eileen McGann-authors of the megabestsellers Fleeced and Outrage-take a hard look at America in free fall and at how Barack Obama is transforming a vulnerable U.S. into a socialist state. Their seventh consecutive New York Times bestseller, Catastrophe is a call to arms for every American skeptical of Big Business and politics as usual-and a must read for fans of Bill O'Reilly, Sean Hannity, Rush Limbaugh, Michael Savage, Bernie Goldberg, and Glenn Beck.
    Show book
  • The Naked Communist - Cold War Modernism and the Politics of Popular Culture - cover

    The Naked Communist - Cold War...

    Roland Végső

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Naked Communist argues that the political ideologies of modernity were fundamentally determined by four basic figures: the world, the enemy, the secret, and the catastrophe. While the “world” names the totality that functioned as the ultimate horizon of modern political imagination, the three other figures define the necessary limits of this totality by reflecting on the limits of representation. 
    The book highlights the enduring presence of these figures in the modern imagination through detailed analysis of a concrete historical example: American anti-Communist politics of the 1950s. Its primary objective is to describe the internal mechanisms of what we could call an anti- Communist “aesthetic ideology.” The book thus traces the way anti-Communist popular culture emerged in the discourse of Cold War liberalism as a political symptom of modernism. Based on a discursive analysis of American anti-Communist politics, the book presents parallel readings of modernism and popular fiction from the 1950s (nuclear holocaust novels, spy novels, and popular political novels) in order to show that, despite the radical separation of the two cultural fields, they both participated in a common ideological program.
    Show book
  • The Hoods - Crime and Punishment in Belfast - cover

    The Hoods - Crime and Punishment...

    Heather Hamill

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A distinctive feature of the conflict in Northern Ireland over the past forty years has been the way Catholic and Protestant paramilitaries have policed their own communities. This has mainly involved the violent punishment of petty criminals involved in joyriding and other types of antisocial behavior. Between 1973 and 2007, more than 5,000 nonmilitary shootings and assaults were attributed to paramilitaries punishing their own people. But despite the risk of severe punishment, young petty offenders--known locally as "hoods"--continue to offend, creating a puzzle for the rational theory of criminal deterrence. Why do hoods behave in ways that invite violent punishment? 
      In The Hoods, Heather Hamill explains why this informal system of policing and punishment developed and endured and why such harsh punishments as beatings, "kneecappings," and exile have not stopped hoods from offending. Drawing on a variety of sources, including interviews with perpetrators and victims of this violence, the book argues that the hoods' risky offending may amount to a game in which hoods gain prestige by displaying hard-to-fake signals of toughness to each other. Violent physical punishment feeds into this signaling game, increasing the hoods' status by proving that they have committed serious offenses and can "manfully" take punishment yet remained undeterred. A rare combination of frontline research and pioneering ideas, The Hoods has important implications for our fundamental understanding of crime and punishment.
    Show book
  • The Women's Revolution - Russia 1905–1917 - cover

    The Women's Revolution - Russia...

    Judy Cox

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The dominant view of the Russian Revolution of 1917 is of a movement led by prominent men like Vladimir Lenin and Leon Trotsky. Despite the demonstrations of female workers for ‘bread and herrings’, which sparked the February Revolution, in most historical accounts of this momentous period, women are too often relegated to the footnotes. Judy Cox argues that women were essential to the success of the revolution and to the development of the Bolshevik Party. With biographical sketches of famous female revolutionaries like Alexandra Kollontai and less well-known figures like Elena Stasova and Larissa Reisner, The Women’s Revolution tells the inspiring story of how Russian women threw off centuries of oppression to strike, organize, liberate themselves and ultimately try to build a new world based on equality and freedom for all.
    Show book