Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Ice Chips and the Haunted Hurricane - Ice Chips Series Book 2 - cover

The Ice Chips and the Haunted Hurricane - Ice Chips Series Book 2

Roy MacGregor, Kerry MacGregor

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Practice makes . . . a perfect storm? 
The Ice Chips are facing a big hurdle at their hometown rink in Riverton. Their biggest rivals, the Stars, have a major advantage, with better gear and a state-of-the-art arena. Without more ice time, the Chips just can’t keep up. Fortunately, the team has a secret weapon: their magical rink, which allows them to travel through time and meet their hockey heroes, who can teach the young players something new about the game. 
Lucas Finnigan and his teammates have been warned that time travel is dangerous, but when they decided to leap again—hoping to find a way to squeeze in some extra practice—they never dreamed that they would land in the middle of a hurricane! Luckily, a major save from a plucky young player gets the Chips out of some extremely troubled water, and soon they’re running drills all over the Halifax Citadel.  
But how will these exercises help their hockey playing? And who is this kid anyway? With the help of some of the city’s famous spirits, the players might just make it home ready to compete—and to win. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • When Light Left Us - cover

    When Light Left Us

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    * "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
     
    * "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
     
    When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
      
     Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
     
    In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
     
    Because You'll Never Meet Me 
    A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist
    Show book
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin - cover

    A Court of Wings and Ruin

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 10
    • 32
    • 0
    The epic third novel in the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas. 
     
    Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's actions and learn what she can about the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit. One slip could bring doom not only for Feyre, but for everything-and everyone-she holds dear. 
     
    As war bears down upon them all, Feyre endeavors to take her place amongst the High Fae of the land, balancing her struggle to master her powers-both magical and political-and her love for her court and family. Amidst these struggles, Feyre and Rhysand must decide whom to trust amongst the cunning and lethal High Lords, and hunt for allies in unexpected places.  
     
    In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the fate of Feyre's world is at stake as armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy it.
    Show book
  • On the Rocks - cover

    On the Rocks

    Eric Walters

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Dylan is sent to live with his estranged grandfather, Angus. Basically strangers, the two avoid each other as best they can. One day Dylan discovers a young orca stranded high up on the rocky beach. Dylan runs to tell his grandfather. There’s nothing that can be done, says Angus. The sun is coming up, and soon the orca will die of exposure.
    
    But Dylan knows he has to try to save the whale. He collects towels to cover the delicate skin of the orca and begins transporting buckets of water from the ocean below to keep it hydrated. It’s grueling work, and it will be hours before the tide comes back in and the water is high enough for the orca to swim free. Angus is moved by his grandson’s determination and helps as best he can. They both desperately hope that soon the orca will be able to join its family, who have been calling out to it just offshore.
    
    On the Rocks is an inspiring story about the ups and downs of family.
    Show book
  • These Happy Golden Years - cover

    These Happy Golden Years

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The eighth book in Laura Ingalls Wilder's treasured Little House series, and the recipient of a Newbery Honor—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams's classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    Fifteen-year-old Laura lives apart from her family for the first time, teaching school in a claim shanty twelve miles from home. She is very homesick, but she knows that her earnings can help pay for her sister Mary's tuition at the college for the blind. Only one thing gets her through the lonely weeks—every weekend, Almanzo Wilder arrives at the school to take Laura home for a visit. Friendship soon turns to love for Laura and Almanzo. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura's own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book
  • Eight Times Up - cover

    Eight Times Up

    John Corr

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Ever since his mom left, Riley has been a mess. He feels nervous all the time. His heart pounds, his neck is tight, and he can't seem to turn off his brain. His dad signs him up for aikido, hoping it will help.
    In the dojo, Riley meets boys who are much rougher than he is and a girl who is tougher than all the rest of them put together. For Wafaa, aikido is not her first choice. She was disqualified from competing in judo for wearing a hijab. From the first time she steps on the mat, it's clear she is far more skilled than anyone expected.
    Through the teachings of their sensei, Riley and his classmates come to understand that aikido is not about winning or losing or about being perfect. Sensei shows them how to tap into their inner strength and find their place in the universe.
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 5
    • 31
    • 0
    The seductive and stunning #1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas's spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre has undergone more trials than one human woman can carry in her heart. Though she's now been granted the powers and lifespan of the High Fae, she is haunted by her time Under the Mountain and the terrible deeds she performed to save the lives of Tamlin and his people.  
     
    As her marriage to Tamlin approaches, Feyre's hollowness and nightmares consume her. She finds herself split into two different people: one who upholds her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court, and one who lives out her life in the Spring Court with Tamlin. While Feyre navigates a dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms. She might just be the key to stopping it, but only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future-and the future of a world in turmoil. 
     
    Bestselling author Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her dazzling, sexy, action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book