Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Unweaving a Tangled Web - cover

Unweaving a Tangled Web

Roy Dorman

Publisher: Hekate Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Private Investigator Carl Vincent, former NYPD Detective, likes working cases without the restrictions imposed by big city bureaucracy. He plays by his own rules. While routine cases pay the bills, it’s the unusual calls, the cries for help, that bring him to life, tapping sources in high and low places in order to help the people without power take back their lives from the bullies, the advantage takers we know only too well. Unweaving a Tangled Web, first installment in The Case Files of Private Detective Carl Vincent is only the beginning . . .

Other books that might interest you

  • Reach for the Sun Vol 3 - cover

    Reach for the Sun Vol 3

    Charles Bukowski

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Literary Criticism. Reach for the Sun is the third volume of Bukowski's letters from Black Sparrow Press, selected by Seamus Cooney.
    Show book
  • The Famished Road - A Novel - cover

    The Famished Road - A Novel

    Ben Okri

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Winner of the Man Booker Prize: “Okri shares with García Márquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece” (The Boston Sunday Globe). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story.   When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road, which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs—and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons. A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro’s travels continues to mesmerize new generations.   For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude, this Man Booker Prize–winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a “dazzling, hypnotic” journey through Africa that “weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry” (San Francisco Chronicle). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is “a masterpiece if ever one existed” (The Boston Sunday Globe).  
    Show book
  • Only the Devil Is Here - cover

    Only the Devil Is Here

    Stephen Michell

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    “A gripping, cinematic supernatural thriller, shot through with unsettling imagery and startling insights into the nature of good and evil.” —David Demchuk, Sunburst Award–winning author of The Bone Mother   Kidnapped from his foster home, six-year-old Evan desperately searches for a way to escape his brutally violent captor, Rook. Armed with supernatural abilities, Rook is no ordinary man, but then Evan is no ordinary boy. And it soon becomes clear that on their frantic journey through a world teeming with unimaginable horrors and unnatural predators, Rook is Evan’s only hope for survival . . .   “With Only the Devil Is Here, Stephen Michell announces himself as a new and powerful presence on the literary horror scene. This is curt, violent, poetic storytelling, a Cormac McCarthyesque journey from darkness into even deeper darkness, suffused from moment one on with gothic nighttime awe and terror yet also shot through with the slimmest threads of hope—intimations of numinosity, if not of salvation.” —Gemma Files, Shirley Jackson Award–winning author of Spectral Evidence   “Michell subtly upends expectations with a genuinely insightful examination of the essence of good and evil. By the novel’s end, Michell delivers an invigorating chase story, a suspenseful horror-action hybrid with memorably warped characters, and terrific B-movie cinematic flair.” —Publishers Weekly   “How Rook acquired his superhuman strength and came to accept his unholy mission are just two of the many revelations Michell has in store for readers. Better still is the poignant father-son relationship that slowly builds between Rook and the orphaned Evan, who is also gifted with supernatural powers. A very promising debut from a new author to watch.” —Toronto Star
    Show book
  • Hunted By The Wolves - A Paranormal Romance - cover

    Hunted By The Wolves - A...

    Susan G. Charles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A vampire, set in his ways, is jolted out of his routine by the discovery of a mysterious new woman. Who is she? And even more importantly, why is he so attracted to her even though she is rude to him at best?
     
    For Hunter, life as he knows it has been forever changed. In two shorts months, he went from contented bachelor to the "boyfriend" of a mysterious woman who has knocked him off his feet. Now Hunter must learn to control his feelings and be with her, all the while falling deeper in love.
     
    Soon he realizes that to understand her fully, he must pull out all the stops. Then he learns a truth he was not expecting... she is a werewolf with incredible powers of her own. Along the way, alliances are tested and new enemies rise to hunt the couple. And when tragedy strikes, Hunter must make the ultimate choice... and face an evil far greater than anything he'd ever read about in his beloved books.
     
    This werewolf and vampire romance contains some violence and shapeshifter action with many thrilling situations. Recommended for ages sixteen and up.
    Show book
  • Wild Women Collection - cover

    Wild Women Collection

    Rachel Sullivan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first 3 books in this paranormal romantic thriller series about supernatural Wild Women who join forces against their oppressors.FREYJA’S DAUGHTER Supernatural bounty hunter Faline Frey is more comfortable relying on perp files and handcuffs than using her huldra powers. It’s better to avoid being noticed by the local Hunter authority. But when Faline’s sister is kidnapped, she not only teams up with her cop ex-lover to find her, she inspires her fellow Wild Women to finally embrace their power against their oppressors.LILITH’S CHILDREN As Wild Woman unite in battle, the Hunters double down their suppression efforts. But with Faline's coterie on the run, they soon discover something even darker lurking under the streets of Portland—and it’s appetite will not be satisfied with words. Between old enemies and potential new ones, danger lives in every shadowISHTAR’S LEGACY As the Wild Women turn the tide on the Hunter in America, global communities of Wild Women get wind of the possible exposure. When they discover Faline Frey has partnered with an ex-Hunter, they are ready to declare war on their own sisters. Faline has one shot to stop the bloodshed and win freedom for every Wild Woman. But can she succeed with her hands literally tied behind her back?
    Show book
  • Love Me Like You Do - an emotional story of love and finding yourself - cover

    Love Me Like You Do - an...

    Aimee Brown

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them. 
     
    Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. When she's dumped moments before walking down the aisle, she didn't expect to run into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she? 
     
    When Liam agreed to go on yet another blind date, he didn't expect his escape would lead him to the emergency room with a runaway bride. She might have just been left at the altar, but he's immediately drawn to her fiery spirit, kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that's haunting him, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in. 
     
    Will these two strangers allow serendipity to force them together, or will their fears keep them apart? 
     
    From the bestselling author of The Lucky Dress comes a story about love, finding yourself and living your dreams.
    Show book