Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
A Mortal Likeness - A Victorian Mystery - cover

A Mortal Likeness - A Victorian Mystery

Rowland Laura Joh

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

STRONG SALES: The sales of Rowland’s first in the series have far exceeded expectations. This is a great series that will continue to grow.PRO AUTHOR: With over 20 published books between her Sano Ichiro samurai investigator series and her Charlotte Bronte mysteries, Laura Joh Rowland is an expert in the historical mystery genre. She knows her stuff and it shows.CAPTIVATING CHARACTERS: Miss Sarah Bain and her ragtag group of unlikely friends make up a tremendously clever and compelling team of investigators that readers haven't seen since Emma Orczy's The Scarlet Pimpernel.CROOKED LANE STRENGTH: As evidenced by These Honored Dead and Laura’s first in this series, The Ripper’s Shadow, Crooked Lane historical mysteries are strong sellers.

Other books that might interest you

  • Death of a Novice - A mystery set in 1920s Ireland - cover

    Death of a Novice - A mystery...

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    The sudden death of a young novice nun raises a series of puzzling questions in the latest Reverend Mother historical mystery.The Reverend Mother is delighted with her new entrant to the convent. Young Sister Gertrude is well-educated, has worked for an accountant and has an appealing sense of humour. But one autumn morning, Sister Gertrude is found dead inside a small wooden shed, just beside the river. Surely a young nun could not die from alcohol poisoning?But when the Reverend Mother delves more deeply into Sister Gertrude’s background, she finds some puzzling anomalies. Why did the young nun not delay her entry to the convent until after her sister’s wedding?  Is it a coincidence that her father died of a similar illness not long before? And could there be a link between Sister Gertrude’s death and the gunpowder explosion on Spike Island? The Reverend Mother must find the answers to these questions if she is to safeguard her community from suspicions of murder.
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 2 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 2

    Meredith Wild

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    She’s the only link to his past…
     
    Six years ago, Tristan Stone was everything to me. My whole heart, my future. We were unshakeable, bound tighter by any force that tried to drive us apart. Then he disappeared from my life, leaving me in tatters, broken and running away to one of the most intense cities in the world. Somehow he found me, but now nothing is the same…
     
    Tristan claims someone wants me dead. He’s scarred and dangerous, but all of that seems to melt away when we touch. I might be the only one who can give him his memories, but I want more. The lover I could never forget is trapped inside the heartless man he’s become. I won’t stop until I reach him. I won’t stop until I find the answers he’s not giving me.
    Show book
  • Storms - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    Storms - A Manchester crime...

    David Menon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Members of a notorious gang of teenage boys on an estate in east Manchester are being murdered in a particularly gruesome manner. Is it some kind of vendetta? The list of potential suspects would be long if it was but Detective Superintendent Jeff Barton and his team have to contend with a hostile neighbourhood that won't co-operate with them and the death of an elderly woman on the estate who was prevented from getting to hospital on time. A white girl associated with the gang has gone to ground but why? The body count rises and Jeff is suspicious of certain individuals not directly involved with the estate but who may hold vital information, including his sister who comes back into his life following an incident between her employer and Jeff's nephew. Difficult and uncomfortable questions about race relations and the nature of sexual abuse can't be ignored as Jeff and his team try to find their way through a case that isn't quite as simple as just murder.
    Show book
  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • Nightingale Gallery - A Brother Athelstan Medieval Mystery 1 - cover

    Nightingale Gallery - A Brother...

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In 1376, the famed Black Prince died of a terrible rotting sickness, closely followed by his father, King Edward III. The crown of England is left in the hands of a mere boy, the future Richard II, and the great nobles gather like hungry wolves around the empty throne.  As a terrible power struggle threatens the country, one of London’s powerful merchant princes is foully murdered and Coroner Sir John Cranston and Dominican monk Brother Athelstan are ordered to investigate. When further deaths occur, they find themselves drawn ever deeper into a dark web of intrigue.
    Show book
  • Inspector Green Mysteries 9-Book Bundle - Do or Die Once Upon a Time Mist Walker Fifth Son The Whisper of Legends and 4 more - cover

    Inspector Green Mysteries 9-Book...

    Barbara Fradkin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This ebook bundle contains the first nine novels of the Inspector Green Mystery series by Barbara Fradkin. On dangerous backstreets of Ottawa, Homicide Inspector Michael Green leads complex investigations into sensational cases. When his job puts his marriage, life, and even his family in harm's way, Green's obsession with uncovering the truth leaves him grappling with the ultimate meaning of justice.
     
    "…combines a suspenseful story with plenty of opportunities to see the brook-no-nonsense inspector out of his natural element."
    - Booklist
    
     
    "A well-written page-turner."
    - Publisher's Weekly
    
     
    The Whisper of Legends - Inspector Green Mysteries #9 (NEW!)
    When his teenage daughter goes missing on a summer wilderness canoe trip to the Nahanni River in the Northwest Territories, Green is forced into unfamiliar territory just as dangerous as the backstreets of Ottawa.
    
     
    Beautiful Lie the Dead - Inspector Green Mysteries #8
    When a wealthy social activist's fiancee's frozen body is found in the snow just blocks from his home, Inspector Green knows that someone is conspiring to keep the truth hidden.
     
    This Thing of Darkness - Inspector Green Mysteries #7
    The brutal killing of a controversial psychiatrist on a street corner initially looks like a mugging gone wrong, but Green's investigation leaves him grappling with deeper, darker questions.
    
     
    Includes 6 more Inspector Green titles:
    Dream Chasers - Inspector Green Mysteries #6 
    
    Honour Among Men - Inspector Green Mysteries #5 
    
    Fifth Son - Inspector Green Mysteries #4 
    
    Mist Walker - Inspector Green Mysteries #3 
    
    Once Upon a Time - Inspector Green Mysteries #2 
    
    Do or Die - Inspector Green Mysteries #1
    Show book