Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Blood and Sand - cover

Blood and Sand

Rosemary Sutcliff

Publisher: Canelo Adventure

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this adventure based on a true story, a Scottish soldier captured in the Napoleonic Wars converts to Islam and joins forces with the Ottoman Empire. 1807, Egypt. It is the height of the Napoleonic Wars. 6,000 British soldiers have invaded Alexandria in a bid to wrest the control of the country from the Ottoman Empire. Among their number is Private Thomas Keith of the 78th Highlanders.  After the initial successful occupation of the city, however, the tide of the Alexandria campaign begins to turn against the British. At the Battle of El Hamed, Keith is captured by the Ottoman forces.  While a prisoner of war, Keith is introduced to Islam and falls in love with the religion, making the decision to convert to the faith and join the Ottoman army. His conversion and skill with a sword impress the Ottoman general, who sends him to train with the Bedouin cavalry.  So begins Keith’s unlikely journey up the ranks of the Ottoman military, which ultimately saw him become Emir of the Holy City of Medina . . . Praise of Blood and Sand:“[A] stirring native. . . . In this veteran British author’s hands, what might have become merely a harsh tale of violence in the deserts of Arabia becomes a memorable, sensitively rendered story.” —Publishers Weekly“An astonishing, exciting story with great imaginative power.” —The Daily Telegraph“The tone is dark and thoughtful, the detail carefully observed, and the flavor unmistakably exotic.” —The Lady
Available since: 12/06/2021.
Print length: 421 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Woman in the Photo - A Novel - cover

    The Woman in the Photo - A Novel

    Mary Hogan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this compulsively-readable historical novel, from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of two young women—one in America’s Gilded Age, one in scrappy modern-day California—whose lives are linked by a single tragic afternoon in history. 
    1888: Elizabeth Haberlin, of the Pittsburgh Haberlins, spends every summer with her family on a beautiful lake in an exclusive club. Nestled in the Allegheny Mountains above the working class community of Johnstown, Pennsylvania, the private retreat is patronized by society’s elite. Elizabeth summers with Carnegies, Mellons, and Fricks, following the rigid etiquette of her class. But Elizabeth is blessed (cursed) with a mind of her own. Case in point: her friendship with Eugene Eggar, a Johnstown steel mill worker. And when Elizabeth discovers that the club’s poorly maintained dam is about to burst and send 20 million tons of water careening down the mountain, she risks all to warn Eugene and the townspeople in the lake’s deadly shadow. 
    Present day: On her eighteenth birthday, genetic information from Lee Parker’s closed adoption is unlocked. She also sees an old photograph of a genetic relative—a 19th Century woman with hair and eyes likes hers—standing in a pile of rubble from an ecological disaster next to none other than Clara Barton, the founder of the American Red Cross. Determined to identify the woman in the photo and unearth the mystery of that captured moment, Lee digs into history. Her journey takes her from California to Johnstown, Pennsylvania, from her present financial woes to her past of privilege, from the daily grind to an epic disaster. Once Lee’s heroic DNA is revealed, will she decide to forge a new fate?
    Show book
  • A Hopscotch Summer - cover

    A Hopscotch Summer

    Annie Murray

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An emotional tale of resilience by Annie Murray, A Hopscotch Summer tells the story of a young girl and her struggle to keep her family afloat, read by Penelope Freeman. 
    In the impoverished area of Nechells in Birmingham in the 1930s, young Emma Brown's life is turned upside down when her mother, Cynthia, has another baby. 
    Emma has always been a happy-go-lucky child, content as long as things were all right at home with her parents, and her brother and sister. But when the baby is born, Cynthia doesn't seem able to cope, and even her lifelong friend and neighbour, Dot, can't seem to get through to her. Cynthia's husband, Bob, tries to do his best, but when he feels he's losing the wife he loves so much he turns to drink. Poor Emma can't seem to keep up with looking after the household, and soon it seems that the only thing to do is for Cynthia to go and stay with her tyrannical older sister across the city. 
    Life gets even tougher for Emma with her mother away, and she decides it's time to travel across Birmingham and bring her mother home. But the woman she discovers is very different to the mother she remembers . . . 
    A Hopscotch Summer is followed by Solider Girl and All the Days of Our Lives, which follow the stories of Molly and Katie.
    Show book
  • Dynasty of Death - A Novel - cover

    Dynasty of Death - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Two families grow a small munitions factory into a global empire in this saga by a New York Times–bestselling author spanning from 1837 to the eve of World War I.  In 1837, Joseph Barbour, an upper servant in an English village, immigrates with his family to America so he can make his fortune in the nascent artillery business. A man of vision, Joseph foresees a time when wars will not be won with courage and brave hearts but rather by the nations with superior firearms.   Joseph and his family settle in a rural Pennsylvania village, but his wife, Hilda, is unhappy and longs to return to England. Their shy and sensitive younger son, Martin, is also homesick, but what troubles him most is the cruelty and violence he sees in his older brother, Ernest. Martin’s fears come to fruition when Joseph forms a gunpowder firm with Armand Bouchard, who lives with his wife and three sons down the road from the Barbours.   As the years pass, Ernest proves himself invaluable to Barbour & Bouchard. Ruthless and ambitious, he takes what he wants. But beautiful Amy Drumhill continues to elude him and becomes the catalyst in a war that will estrange the two brothers and leave Ernest haunted by the blood that will be forever on his hands.  Dynasty of Death is a moving saga of two families, the epic struggle between two brothers, and the legacy their guns will leave the world as mighty enemy nations gear up for battle.
    Show book
  • The Manhattan Girls - A Novel of Dorothy Parker and Her Friends - cover

    The Manhattan Girls - A Novel of...

    Gill Paul

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It’s a 1920s version of Sex and the City, as Dorothy Parker—one of the wittiest women who ever wielded a pen—and her three friends navigate life, love, and careers in New York City. Perfect for fans of Fiona Davis, Beatriz Williams, and Renée Rosen. 
    NEW YORK CITY 1921: The war is over, fashions are daring, and bootleg liquor is abundant. Here four extraordinary women form a bridge group that grows into a firm friendship. 
    Dorothy Parker: renowned wit, member of the Algonquin Round Table, and more fragile than she seems. Jane Grant: first female reporter for the New York Times, and determined to launch a new magazine she calls The New Yorker. Winifred Lenihan: beautiful and talented Broadway actress, a casting-couch target. And Peggy Leech: magazine assistant by day, brilliant novelist by night.  
    Their romances flourish and falter while their goals sometimes seem impossible to reach and their friendship deepens against the backdrop of turbulent New York City, where new speakeasies open and close, jazz music flows through the air, and bathtub gin fills their glasses.  
    They gossip, they comfort each other, and they offer support through the setbacks. But their biggest challenge is keeping their dear friend Dottie safe from herself. 
    In this brilliant new novel from the bestselling and acclaimed author of Jackie and Maria and The Secret Wife, readers will fall right into Jazz Age New York and into the inner lives of these groundbreaking, influential women.
    Show book
  • The Baklava Club - cover

    The Baklava Club

    Jason Goodwin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three naïve Italian liberals, exiled in Istanbul, have bungled their instructions to kill a Polish prince—instead, they've kidnapped him and absconded to an unused farmhouse. Little do they realize that their revolutionary cell has been penetrated by their enemies, who are passing along false orders under the code name La Piuma, the Feather. 
    It falls to Yashim to unravel all this—he's convinced that the prince is alive and that the Italians have hidden him somewhere. But there are just a few problems: He has no idea who La Piuma is, and he's in no mood to put up a fight—he's fallen in love! As he draws closer to the farmhouse and to the true identity of La Piuma, what Yashim discovers leaves him shocked and in the most dangerous situation of his career. 
    Goodwin has an eye for detail like no other, and in The Baklava Club he conjures Istanbul in all its glorious exoticism. This is a breathtaking, extraordinary conclusion to one of the most beloved series in mystery fiction, and its ending will leave you truly astonished.
    Show book
  • The Distant Beacon - Song of Acadia Book 4 - cover

    The Distant Beacon - Song of...

    Janette Oke, T. Davis Bunn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the soul-stirring sequel to The Birthright (RB#  97104), Anne and Nicole find themselves facing different  paths into the future. While Anne comfortably settles  into British life, Nicole voyages into the midst of the  American Revolutionary War to manage her uncle’s  landholdings. Soon an unimaginable betrayal will  force Nicole to choose sides once and for all.
    Show book