Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Mystery of Ruby's Roulette - cover

The Mystery of Ruby's Roulette

Rose Donovan

Publisher: Moon Snail Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A secret mission to Lisbon.
 
A murder at the casino.
 
And a killer gambling on escape.
 
New Year's Eve, 1935.
 
The clink of champagne flutes mingles with the rattle of the roulette ball. Fina’s on a winning streak. But just as she’s about to celebrate, someone gasps, chokes, and slides to the floor. 
 
The Portuguese police treat it as a crime passionel, but Ruby and Fina have other ideas. Could the murder be linked to the high-level jewel-smuggling operation they’ve been asked to investigate? Working undercover, they scope out the other guests: a handsome airman, an icy princess, a genial mathematician, a suave croupier, and a Brazilian diva with flashy frocks and a personality to match. They all have something to hide – but the truth turns out to be far stranger than Fina could ever have dreamed.
 
Join Ruby, Fina, Pixley, and Gayatri as they battle with profiteers, saboteurs, assassins, and a ghostly apparition on their twistiest and most captivating adventure yet!

Other books that might interest you

  • Crisis at the Cathedral - cover

    Crisis at the Cathedral

    Jeanne M. Dams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When a wealthy Iraqi couple disappear following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, American Anglophile Dorothy Martin investigates.When Dorothy Martin and her husband Alan meet the wealthy Ahmad family, they are charmed by their courtesy, their perfect English, their delightful children and their commitment to peace. Following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, the Ahmads offer to host a party afterwards at the Rose and Crown pub.But Mr and Mrs Ahmad don’t show up. Their children are asleep upstairs at the inn, but the parents are nowhere to be found . . .With suspicions of kidnap and even murder being raised, Dorothy and Alan feel compelled to assist the police and MI5 in their efforts to find their new friends, a search that will take them to London and the murky world of big business, politics and even terrorism . . .
    Show book
  • Taking the Fifth - cover

    Taking the Fifth

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “J.A. Jance does not disappoint.”—Washington Times The Chattanooga Times calls New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance, “One of the best—if not the best,” and this classic suspense masterwork featuring Seattle investigator J.P. Beaumont emphatically proves the point. In Taking the Fifth, a gruesome and very unusual murder plunges the intrepid Beau into a lethal cinematic nightmare. Michigan’s Flint Journal places Jance “in the elite company of Sue Grafton and Patricia Cornwell.” Taking the Fifth, now in a Premium Plus edition, is an ideal opportunity for fans of the author’s Sheriff Joanna Brady books to discover another side to the incomparable J.A. Jance.
    Show book
  • The Art Teacher: Shocking Page-Turning Crime Thriller - cover

    The Art Teacher: Shocking...

    Paul Read

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    'A fast-paced and gritty read.' --The Daily Mail 
    'An impressive feat' --Publishers Weekly 
    'This is a superb debut... gritty, disturbing and pacy. It opens with thrilling intensity and never lets up.' --Alex Lake, author of After Anna 
    Patrick Owen managed seven years at Highfields Secondary School without punching a pupil in the face. 
    Unknowingly drawn into a war against his own pupils, Patrick's patience finally snaps as he finds himself the number one target with the boy the school just can't seem to expel. 
    When one of his Art students needs his help, she unwittingly pulls Patrick further into the line of fire, altering their lives forever. 
    With the media circling and rumours of his involvement reaching new highs, Patrick must escape the world he lives in, or face the consequences. 
    A gritty, harrowing page-turner. Perfect for fans of Linwood Barclay and Peter James
    Show book
  • Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont Mystery - cover

    Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An explosive novel of betrayal and blood vengeance featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    There are those who don’t deserve to live—and the corpse floating in Elliott Bay may have been one of those people. Not surprisingly, many individuals, too many in fact, are eager to take responsibility for the brutal slaying of the hated biotech executive whose alleged crimes ranged from the illegal trading of industrial secrets to rape. For Seattle Detective J.P. Beaumont—who’s drowning in his own life-shattering problems—a case of seemingly justifiable homicide has sinister undertones, drawing the haunted policeman into a corporate nightmare world of double deals, savage jealousies, and real blood spilled far too easily, as it leads him closer to a killer he’s not sure he wants to find.
    Show book
  • Pressure Point - cover

    Pressure Point

    William P. Wood

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Companion book: Wood’s Sudden Impact (Feb. ’14) also features Pressure Point’s protagonist detectives Nye and Tafoya and their powerhouse teamwork. 
    
    
    
    
    New designs: Each backlist will be redesigned with exciting covers to appeal to both established and new generations of readers.
    
    
    
    International success: Wood’s books have been translated into several foreign languages including French, Spanish, Japanese, German, Greek, and Polish.
    
    
    
    Film: Wood’s nonfiction title, The Bone Garden (Turner, May ‘14), has been featured in multiple books and on the Geraldo Rivera Show and The Discovery Channel. Most of Wood’s novels have been optioned for motion pictures and two were produced. Rampage (June ‘14) was filmed by Academy Award–winning director William Friedkin (The French Connection, The Exorcist, Killer Joe) for Miramax and Paramount. It starred Michael Biehn (The Terminator, The Abyss). His novel Broken Trust (Sept. ‘14) starred Tom Selleck and Academy Award nominee Marsha Mason. The screenplay was written by Joan Didion and John Gregory Dunne.
    
    
    
    Insider’s perspective: As a deputy district attorney who handled thousands of criminal cases, ranging from disturbing the peace to murder, Wood gives readers an accurate, inside look into his genre of writing.
    Show book
  • The Last Mrs Parrish - cover

    The Last Mrs Parrish

    Liv Constantine

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    THE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER AND DECEMBER PICK FOR REESE WITHERSPOON'S HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB 
    "Filled with envy, deception, and power, it’s a great reading escape. And there is a thrilling twist at the end!!" —Reese Witherspoon 
    “Will keep you up. In a ‘can’t put it down’ way. It’s ‘The Talented Mr. Ripley’ with XX chromosomes.”—The Skimm 
    “Deliciously duplicitous. . . . equally as twisty, spellbinding, and addictive as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl or Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train.”—Library Journal (starred review) 
    Amber Patterson is fed up. She’s tired of being a nobody: a plain, invisible woman who blends into the background. She deserves more—a life of money and power like the one blond-haired, blue-eyed goddess Daphne Parrish takes for granted.  
    To everyone in the exclusive town of Bishops Harbor, Connecticut, Daphne—a socialite and philanthropist—and her real-estate mogul husband, Jackson, are a couple straight out of a fairy tale. 
    Amber’s envy could eat her alive . . . if she didn't have a plan. Amber uses Daphne’s compassion and caring to insinuate herself into the family’s life—the first step in a meticulous scheme to undermine her. Before long, Amber is Daphne’s closest confidante, traveling to Europe with the Parrishes and their lovely young daughters, and growing closer to Jackson. But a skeleton from her past may undermine everything that Amber has worked towards, and if it is discovered, her well-laid plan may fall to pieces.  
     
    With shocking turns and dark secrets that will keep you guessing until the very end, The Last Mrs. Parrish is a fresh, juicy, and utterly addictive thriller from a diabolically imaginative talent.
    Show book