Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Boss of Black Brooklyn - The Life and Times of Bertram L Baker - cover

Boss of Black Brooklyn - The Life and Times of Bertram L Baker

Ron Howell

Publisher: Empire State Editions

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In 1948 Bertram L. Baker became the first black person elected to  political office in Brooklyn. He took his New York State Assembly seat  in January of 1949 and served 22 consecutive years as the political boss  of black Brooklyn, which in those days meant Bedford Stuyvesant.

Other books that might interest you

  • Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle - cover

    Conversations with Madeleine...

    Jackie C. Horne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle is the first collection of interviews with the beloved children's book author best known for her 1962 Newbery Award-winning novel, A Wrinkle in Time. However, Madeleine L'Engle's accomplishments as a writer spread far beyond children's literature. Beginning her career as a literary novelist for adults, L'Engle (1918-2007) continued to write fiction for both young and old long after A Wrinkle in Time. In her sixties, she published personal memoirs and devotional texts that explored her relationship with religion. At the time of her death, L'Engle was mourned by fans of her children's books and the larger Christian community.L'Engle's books, as well as her life, were often marked by contradictions. A consummate storyteller, L'Engle carefully crafted and performed a public self-image via her interviews. Weaving through the documentable facts in these interviews are partial lies, misdirections, and wish-fulfillment fantasies. But, when read against her fictions, these "truths" can help us see L'Engle more deeply--what she wanted for herself and for her children, what she believed about good and evil, and what she thought was the right way and the wrong way to be a family--than if she had been able to articulate the truth more directly.The thirteen interviews collected here reveal an amazing feat of authorial self-fashioning, as L'Engle transformed from novelist to children's author to Christian writer and attempted to craft a public persona that would speak to each of these different audiences in meaningful, yet not painfully revealing, ways.
    Show book
  • HP Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction - cover

    HP Lovecraft: The Complete Fiction

    Howard Phillips Lovecraft

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Fiction, Poetry, Essays and Letters from the Master of the Macabre, H.P. Lovecraft
    Read the complete collection of writings from H.P. Lovecraft. This edition includes a fully linked table of contents so you can find your favorites easily and return to Lovecraft's work again and again. The following stories (plus poems, letters and essays!) are included in this massive ebook: 
    The Tomb 
    Dagon 
    Polaris 
    Beyond the Wall of Sleep 
    Memory 
    Old Bugs 
    The Transition of Juan Romero 
    The White Ship 
    The Doom That Came to Sarnath 
    The Statement of Randolph Carter 
    The Terrible Old Man 
    The Tree 
    The Cats of Ulthar 
    The Temple 
    Facts Concerning the Late Arthur Jermyn and His Family 
    The Street 
    Celephaïs 
    From Beyond 
    Nyarlathotep 
    The Picture in the House 
    Ex Oblivione 
    The Nameless City 
    The Quest of Iranon 
    The Moon-Bog 
    The Outsider 
    The Other Gods 
    The Music of Erich Zann
    Herbert West — Reanimator 
    Hypnos 
    What the Moon Brings 
    Azathoth 
    The Hound 
    The Lurking Fear 
    The Rats in the Walls 
    The Unnamable 
    The Festival 
    The Shunned House 
    The Horror at Red Hook 
    He 
    In the Vault 
    The Descendant 
    Cool Air 
    The Call of Cthulhu 
    Pickman's Model 
    The Silver Key 
    The Strange High House in the Mist 
    The Dream-Quest of Unknown Kadath 
    The Case of Charles Dexter Ward 
    The Colour Out of Space 
    The Very Old Folk 
    The Thing in the Moonlight 
    The History of the Necronomicon 
    Ibid 
    The Dunwich Horror 
    The Whisperer in Darkness 
    At the Mountains of Madness 
    The Shadow Over Innsmouth 
    The Dreams in the Witch House 
    The Thing on the Doorstep 
    The Evil Clergyman 
    The Book 
    The Shadow out of Time 
    The Haunter of the Dark 
    
    
    Keywords (max 15):
    hp lovecraft  xThe Complete H.P. Lovecraft Collection  xH.P. Lovecraft  xlovercraft  xhp lovecraft complete  xhp lovecraft collection
    Show book
  • Deepwater Deception - The Truth about the Tragic Blowout and Perversion of American Justice - cover

    Deepwater Deception - The Truth...

    Robert Kaluza

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is an adventure, an investigation and a manhunt. It divulges the real reason for the Deepwater Horizon tragedy and leads the reader toward identifying the people responsible for causing it. It is the story of an oil-rig supervisor on a five-day assignment being scapegoated by his employer, BP, as part of a corrupt deal the company made with the U.S. Department of Justice. It was a deal that allowed BP to return to business as usual after the worst oil-spill disaster in the nation's history, and gave the accountable executives free passes. The narrative moves from the offshore rig to the courtroom, taking the reader on the life-altering journey of Bob Kaluza, an innocent man who was swiftly acquitted, yet still carries the scars of being accused of causing the deaths of eleven men and the environmental catastrophe in the Gulf of Mexico.
    Show book
  • 24 Days - How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America - cover

    24 Days - How Two Wall Street...

    Rebecca Smith, John R. Emshwiller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.  
    It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.  
    Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.  
    Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.
    Show book
  • Hawk of the Mind - Collected Poems - cover

    Hawk of the Mind - Collected Poems

    Yang Mu

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Yang Mu is a towering figure in modern Chinese poetry. His poetic voice is subtle and lyrical, and his work is rich with precise images and crystalline thoughts invoking temporality and remembrance. A bold innovator and superb craftsman, he elegantly combines cosmopolitan experimentation with poetic forms and an allusive reverence for classical Chinese poetry while remaining rooted in his native Taiwan and its colonial history. 
    Hawk of the Mind is a comprehensive collection of Yang Mu’s poetry that presents crucial works from the many stages of his long creative career, rendered into English by a team of distinguished translators. It conveys the complexity and beauty of Yang Mu’s work in a stately and lucid English poetic register that displays his ability to range from meditative to playful and colloquial to archaic. The volume includes an editor’s introduction and definitive commentary that offer insights into the poet’s major themes and motifs, explaining how he draws on deep engagement with Chinese and Western literary traditions, history, and art as well as mythology, philosophy, and music and a profound love for the natural world to create a nuanced and multifaceted artistic universe. It also contains translations of prefaces and afterwords written by Yang Mu for collections of his poetry. Hawk of the Mind demonstrates the breadth and depth of Yang Mu’s oeuvre, illustrating the distinctive style and affective power of a great poet.
    Show book
  • The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

    The Baltimore Book of the Dead

    Marion Winik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
    For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
    The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
    Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.
    
    Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
    “It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)
    Show book