Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Lady of the Beasts - Poems - cover

Lady of the Beasts - Poems

Robin Morgan

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Robin Morgan’s second collection of poems is a rich tapestry of female experience, both literal and mythic Daughter, wife, mother, lover, artist, and even priestess are all here in shorter lyrics that cluster around four subjects: blood ties, activism and art, love between women, and archetypes. But Morgan surpasses the political grief and rage she delineated in Monster, her acclaimed first book of poems—especially in the four major metaphysical poems here: “The City of God,” balancing grace and despair; “Easter Island,” on the ironies of transcendence in embattled love; “The Network of the Imaginary Mother,” which became a virtual anthem of the women’s movement; and “Voices from Six Tapestries,” inspired by the famous Lady and theUnicorn weavings that hang in the Musée de Cluny in Paris.   Themes of familial love and hurt, mortality, survival, and transformation inform the poems collected here as the author weaves a wise and powerful self into being. Lady of the Beasts is Robin Morgan at her most lyrical yet.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Inner Sky - Poems Notes Dreams - cover

    The Inner Sky - Poems Notes Dreams

    Rainer Maria Rilke

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Selected work from the modernist poet thematically centered on our relation to the physical world and our minds, featuring original texts and translations.The Inner Sky is a selection of poems and prose by the great poet Rainer Maria Rilke, set with the original text and a translation, and including more than a dozen works that have never before appeared in English. The translations, by the NEA and PEN Award–winning author and translator Damion Searls, are lively, moving, and appealing, and they give a new voice for Rilke in English: mystical but concrete, like Emily Dickinson or Gerard Manley Hopkins. Searls’s selection of texts clusters around a handful of related images and ideas—birds and trees, giving and receiving, working and waiting, girlhood and gardens—and presents a coherent vision of how we relate to the outer world and inner world of the imagination. Scholars and students of Rilke will benefit from the German and French originals opposite the translations, and two full indices of English and original titles and first lines. An annotated chronology and the translator’s afterword complete this rich new volume, a necessary addition to even the most complete Rilke library, and the perfect introduction for those just getting to know this perennial master.“No matter their level of familiarity with Rilke, The Inner Sky belongs on the bookshelf of any literature lover, thanks largely to Searls’ deft translation and grouping of Rilke’s work.” —Rachel Mennies, ForeWord Magazine“A must-read for Rilke fans, The Inner Sky will deepen the English-speaking world’s perception of the man behind the well-wrought verses.” —Stephan Delbos, The Prague Post
    Show book
  • The Voice Celestial - An Epic Poem by Ernest Holmes and Fenwick Holmes - cover

    The Voice Celestial - An Epic...

    Ernest Holmes, Fenwicke Holmes

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An Epic Poem in the tradition of The Iliad of Homer and John Milton’s Paradise Lost, The Voice Celestial bridges the centuries that have passed since Jesus Christ gave his message to mankind and links that message to our present age. The Wayfarer makes his journey through the world’s great religions to the mysteries of Egypt, and finally to Jesus Christ, being changed in the process, and discovering along the way that we live in a loving universe, where all men and women are masters of their own destinies.
    Show book
  • Short Poetry Collection 152 - cover

    Short Poetry Collection 152

    Various Various

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is a collection of 26 poems read by LibriVox volunteers for January 2016.
    Show book
  • Earth and Sky - cover

    Earth and Sky

    Douglas Post

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Head in the clouds, Sara McKeon lives in the rarefied world of library work and poetry readings. She seems completely unsuited to investigating the sudden brutal murder of her lover. A haunting mystery infused with humor, poetry, and urban grit.An L.A. Theatre Works full-cast performance featuring Ana-Alicia,Ed Begley Jr., Annette Bening, Jana Hupp, John Mahoney, Stephen Markle, Joseph Mascolo, George Murdock and Steven Weber.
    Show book
  • Butchers On The Moon - cover

    Butchers On The Moon

    Jack Norton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Butchers On The Moon was originally published as a 40 page manifesto of sorts from an impossibly young poet, songwriter and filmmaker from Minnesota named Jack Norton. Sold mostly at his concerts, only one copy of the original chapbook is known to exist today and can be found in the archives at the University of Mississippi in Oxford. 
    Jack burned all writings (poems, songs, short stories and a novel) he worked on before 2008, so these lost gems are a true treasure. 
    This expanded edition includes several additional poems written in the same period but not included in the original publication. An unpublished chapbook manuscript - The Well Ran Dry - was recently found in the archives of the editor of Fugawee Bird Press, publisher of the original Butchers On The Moon chapbook. These are also included within this edition.
    Show book
  • Fish in the Dark - A Play - cover

    Fish in the Dark - A Play

    Larry David

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the comic genius behind Curb Your Enthusiasm—a play with “a perfect second-act twist, and a solid last-minute kicker” (Vulture).   Fish in the Dark marked Seinfeld co-creator Larry David’s playwriting debut, his Broadway debut—and his first time acting on stage since eighth grade. David starred as Norman Drexel, a man in his fifties who is average in most respects, except for his hyperactive libido. As Norman, his more successful brother Arthur, their elderly mother, and a host of other characters try to navigate the death of a loved one, old acquaintances and unsettled arguments resurface—with hilarious consequences.
    Show book