Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Great British Heroes and Antiheroes Trilogy - Empire of Sand Death on the Ice and Signal Red - cover

The Great British Heroes and Antiheroes Trilogy - Empire of Sand Death on the Ice and Signal Red

Robert Ryan

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A trio of gripping historical novels from an acclaimed British author who “skillfully blends fact with fiction” (Time Out London).  Empire of Sand: The legendary exploits of Lawrence of Arabia are the starting point for this captivating World War I suspense novel. In the British Army’s general headquarters in Cairo, a young intelligence officer, Lt. Thomas Edward Lawrence, must contend with a notorious German spy, Wilhelm Wassmuss. Local tribes are capturing British soldiers at the German’s behest, and the War Office has sent an assassin. Lawrence must get Captain Quinn within range of his target, a challenge given Wassmuss’s deep knowledge of the desert and its people. In matching wits with a sinister European nemesis, Lawrence starts down a path that will change the face of the Middle East forever.   “Plenty of action, some sharp dialogue and swift characterisation . . . Absorbing and thoughtful as well as tense and exciting.” —The Daily Telegraph  Death on the Ice: The ill-fated Terra Nova Expedition led by Robert Falcon Scott to the South Pole is brilliantly reimagined in this epic novel. The expedition was Scott’s second journey to Antarctica, driven by the dream of winning the race to the South Pole for England. But small mistakes and bad luck plagued the mission from the start, and when they finally reached their destination on January 17, 1912, Scott and his team were heartbroken to find that Norwegian Roald Amundsen had beaten them there—by more than a month. Little did they know, things were about to get much, much worse . . .   “Brings vividly to life the relationships and rivalries, the highs and lows, of the exploration that ended so tragically.” —Daily Mail  Signal Red: Inspired by the Great Train Robbery in the United Kingdom in August 1963, Ryan’s gripping re-creation is an edge-of-your-seat caper. Traveling between Glasgow and London, a Royal Mail train was forced to make an unscheduled stop by tampered signals. Led by a charismatic jewel thief, a gang of fifteen unarmed men boarded the train, incapacitated the driver, and made off with more than £2 million. Incensed by the brazenness of the crime, Scotland Yard employed every means to get the thieves to turn on one another. Soon, a meticulous plan descended into a desperate free-for-all as the gang went down one by one. This edition features an afterword by Bruce Reynolds, the mastermind behind the robbery.

Other books that might interest you

  • Bad Moon Rising - cover

    Bad Moon Rising

    Ed Gorman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The murder of a wealthy young woman sparks a backlash against the hippie commune that has recently arrived in Black River FallsA hippie commune has invaded Black River Falls. While  the majority of the townspeople believe that the bohemians have to  right to stay—despite how bizarre some of their ways can seem—as always  there is a minority that constantly accuses them of everything from  criminal activities to Satanism. As usual, lawyer and private  investigator Sam McCain finds himself in the middle of the controversy,  especially when the teenage daughter of Paul Mainwaring, one of the  town’s wealthiest men, is found murdered in the commune’s barn. A deeply  troubled young man (and Vietnam vet) named Neil Cameron is immediately  charged with the crime but Sam has serious doubts. In  this lively and atmospheric new mystery novel, Ed Gorman offers readers  his richest portrait yet about Black River Falls and its people.
    Show book
  • Finding Jake - A Novel - cover

    Finding Jake - A Novel

    Bryan Reardon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “I devoured Finding Jake. The tension is almost unbearable in this thriller-cum-character study as layer after layer of a father’s soul are revealed as reflected in the character of his missing son. Utterly engrossing.”—Alice LaPlante, New York Times bestselling author of Circle of Wives and Turn of Mind 
    Simon Connolly’s successful wife has gone to her law office each day, while he has stayed home to raise their children—Jake and Laney. He has tried to do the best for the kids. For sunny, outgoing Laney, it’s been easy. But Jake is different. He has always been on the quiet side, preferring the company of his small group of friends to popularity and organized sports. Now that his children are in high school, Simon should be able to relax, to worry less. He’s never given that chance. 
    On a warm November day, he receives a text: There has been a shooting at the high school. 
    Racing to the rendezvous point, Simon is forced to wait with scores of other anxious parents as one by one, they are reunited with their children. Their numbers dwindle, eventually leaving Simon alone. That is when he learns that Jake is the only child missing. 
    As his worst nightmare unfolds, Simon’s thoughts race. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Jake could not have done this—or could he? Did Simon miss the signs? As rumors begin to ricochet, amplified by an invasive media and the fear swallowing their community, Simon must find answers. 
    But there is only one way to understand what has happened . . . he must find Jake. 
    “Harrowing.” —New York Times Book Review
    Show book
  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Paula Daly

    • 1
    • 28
    • 0
    From acclaimed novelist and “master of psychological thrillers” (Library Journal) Paula Daly, Open Your Eyes follows a bestselling crime novelist’s tragic turn from fictional perpetrator into real-life victim.
     
    Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon—a bestselling crime writer—take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?
     
    But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband—and why—Jane must take matters into her own hands.
     
    A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.
    Show book
  • Bridge of Sighs - cover

    Bridge of Sighs

    Priscilla Masters

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Two violent suicides leave Coroner Martha Gunn with some disturbing questions to answer – but the most difficult one of all lies closer to home . . . Gina Marconi was a beautiful young barrister with everything to live for – a loving fiancé, a young son and a successful career. So why did she leave her home in the middle of the night and drive her car into a stone wall? Soon afterwards, Patrick Elson, a clever twelve-year-old schoolboy, jumps off a bridge on to the A5. The victims are unrelated, but neither suicide makes sense. Could there be a connection? Then there’s a third unexplained death: DI Alex Randall’s wife, Erica. With Alex on gardening leave pending an investigation, Martha must search for answers to the questions raised by the suicides on her own. Not only that, she must confront the most difficult question of all: could Alex Randall be a murderer?
    Show book
  • Ring In the Dead - A J P Beaumont Novella - cover

    Ring In the Dead - A J P...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    J. P. Beaumont may be an old homicide hand now, but back when he was a rookie working with his first partner, Milton Gurkey—a.k.a. Pickles—things took a turn for the worse . . . 
    One day, at the end of Beaumont and Pickles's shift, a stop at the Doghouse restaurant quickly turns deadly. Not feeling well, Pickles steps out into the parking lot for a breath of fresh air and stumbles into a crime in progress. Suffering from a heart attack, he is found unconscious, with a dead woman on the ground nearby and the murder weapon in his hand. 
    With Pickles under investigation from Internal Affairs, it's up to the new kid on the block, J. P. Beaumont, and his friends on the force to find out the truth.
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book