Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Crude Volatility - The History and the Future of Boom-Bust Oil Prices - cover

Crude Volatility - The History and the Future of Boom-Bust Oil Prices

Robert McNally

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

As OPEC has loosened its grip over the past ten years, the oil market has been rocked by wild price swings, the likes of which haven't been seen for eight decades. Crafting an engrossing journey from the gushing Pennsylvania oil fields of the 1860s to today's fraught and fractious Middle East, Crude Volatility explains how past periods of stability and volatility in oil prices help us understand the new boom-bust era. Oil's notorious volatility has always been considered a scourge afflicting not only the oil industry but also the broader economy and geopolitical landscape; Robert McNally makes sense of how oil became so central to our world and why it is subject to such extreme price fluctuations.Tracing a history marked by conflict, intrigue, and extreme uncertainty, McNally shows how—even from the oil industry's first years—wild and harmful price volatility prompted industry leaders and officials to undertake extraordinary efforts to stabilize oil prices by controlling production. Herculean market interventions—first, by Rockefeller's Standard Oil, then, by U.S. state regulators in partnership with major international oil companies, and, finally, by OPEC—succeeded to varying degrees in taming the beast. McNally, a veteran oil market and policy expert, explains the consequences of the ebbing of OPEC's power, debunking myths and offering recommendations—including mistakes to avoid—as we confront the unwelcome return of boom and bust oil prices.

Other books that might interest you

  • Extravagant Abjection - Blackness Power and Sexuality in the African American Literary Imagination - cover

    Extravagant Abjection -...

    Darieck Scott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Challenging the conception of empowerment associated with the Black Power Movement and its political and intellectual legacies in the present, Darieck Scott contends that power can be found not only in martial resistance, but, surprisingly, where the black body has been inflicted with harm or humiliation.Theorizing the relation between blackness and abjection by foregrounding often neglected depictions of the sexual exploitation and humiliation of men in works by James Weldon Johnson, Toni Morrison, Amiri Baraka, and Samuel R. Delany, Extravagant Abjection asks: If we’re racialized through domination and abjection, what is the political, personal, and psychological potential in racialization-through-abjection? Using the figure of male rape as a lens through which to examine this question, Scott argues that blackness in relation to abjection endows its inheritors with a form of counter-intuitive power—indeed, what can be thought of as a revised notion of black power. This power is found at the point at which ego, identity, body, race, and nation seem to reveal themselves as utterly penetrated and compromised, without defensible boundary. Yet in Extravagant Abjection, “power” assumes an unexpected and paradoxical form.In arguing that blackness endows its inheritors with a surprising form of counter–intuitive power—as a resource for the political present—found at the very point of violation, Extravagant Abjection enriches our understanding of the construction of black male identity.
    Show book
  • Path to Mandala or Eternal Pilgrimage - 22 levels on pilgrim’s spiritual path - cover

    Path to Mandala or Eternal...

    Asanga Angya

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    POETIC DISCOURSE ON THE CRUCIAL KEYS OF MAN'S SPIRITUALITY
     
    The essence of this poem is marked by the wisdom of nature, the truth of all religious teachings, and the core of quintessential philosophical questions about indivisible identity of nature, man and Creator.
     
    This book is a poetic discourse on the crucial keys of man's spirituality, about the inevitability of searching in the spirit, as a pilgrimage that perpetually transform into the Path to Oneself.
     
     
     
    A note about the author
     
    Asanga Angya (b. 1967) philosopher, religiologist and writer, was raised and educated in Europe, where he graduated in Philosophy and Religious Studies. Since 1990 he has published numerous essays, poems and a few novels in the field of philosophy and spirituality, psychology and art.
     
    About three decades he has explored traditional Eastern and Western ways of self-knowledge as well as the practice of Vedanta and Zen meditation in comparison with the modern teachings of Jungian psychology.
    Show book
  • Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily Ever After as Survivors of Abuse - cover

    Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily...

    Lynn Johnson, Jillian Adams,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Market size:  1 in 3 women and 1 in 5 men have been sexually abused, and 1 in 5 women will be a victim of domestic violence
    Moves beyond the “Me Too” Movement to encourage next steps of healing
    Disarms the shame felt by victims as they realize their experience is stereotypical and they are not alone
    Inspires courage as victims hear stories of others who have navigated a hopeless situation and overcome
    Elevates community as an important avenue of transformation.  Each woman sought help as a result of witnessing their friend’s recovery.
    Backed by clinical insights from a professional psychologist which validate and support the content
    Show book
  • Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our Inner Connection - cover

    Lost Powers - Reclaiming Our...

    J. Douglas Kenyon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have we lost our way? Lost our psychic “sense of smell”? The conventional notion of the human psyche is that it is a product of our mass culture, and we are conditioned to see and understand only the stimulus that is provided to it. However, there is a deeper process at work, something coming from our innate ability to discern greater truth. Tapping into this subconscious truth-detector is key in determining whether we buy into the premises of the many mainstream “truths” presented to us in popular culture and popular science.In the quest to reestablish that universal connection, editor J. Douglas Kenyon has culled from the pages of Atlantis Rising® magazine this collection of 34 concise and well-illustrated articles by world-class philosophers and theoreticians who offer thought-provoking insights from the lost secrets of ancient and primordial wisdom.Featuring:Secrets of the Alchemists, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Psi in CSI, by Barbara JasonCan We See into the Future?, by Robert M. SchochPsychokinesis, by Robert M. SchochThe Superhero Factor, by Len KastenDeathbed Visitations, by Michael TymnWar and Reincarnation, by John ChambersTime Travel Evidence, by Joseph Robert JochmansThe Case for Immortality, by Patrick Marsolek
    Show book
  • The Last Kingdom - cover

    The Last Kingdom

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    The first installment of Bernard Cornwell’s New York Times bestselling series chronicling the epic saga of the making of England, “like Game of Thrones, but real” (The Observer, London)—the basis for The Last Kingdom, the hit  Netflix series. 
    This is the exciting—yet little known—story of the making of England in the 9th and 10th centuries, the years in which King Alfred the Great, his son and grandson defeated the Danish Vikings who had invaded and occupied three of England’s four kingdoms. 
    The story is seen through the eyes of Uhtred, a dispossessed nobleman, who is captured as a child by the Danes and then raised by them so that, by the time the Northmen begin their assault on Wessex (Alfred’s kingdom and the last territory in English hands) Uhtred almost thinks of himself as a Dane. He certainly has no love for Alfred, whom he considers a pious weakling and no match for Viking savagery, yet when Alfred unexpectedly defeats the Danes and the Danes themselves turn on Uhtred, he is finally forced to choose sides. By now he is a young man, in love, trained to fight and ready to take his place in the dreaded shield wall. Above all, though, he wishes to recover his father’s land, the enchanting fort of Bebbanburg by the wild northern sea. 
    This thrilling adventure—based on existing records of Bernard Cornwell’s ancestors—depicts a time when law and order were ripped violently apart by a pagan assault on Christian England, an assault that came very close to destroying England.
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book