Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Story - Style Structure Substance and the Principles of Screenwriting - cover

Story - Style Structure Substance and the Principles of Screenwriting

Robert McKee

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Robert McKee's screenwriting workshops have earned him an international reputation for inspiring novices, refining works in progress and putting major screenwriting careers back on track. Quincy Jones, Diane Keaton, Gloria Steinem, Julia Roberts, John Cleese and David Bowie are just a few of his celebrity alumni.  Writers, producers, development executives and agents all flock to his lecture series, praising it as a mesmerizing and intense learning experience.   
 In Story, McKee expands on the concepts he teaches in his $450 seminars (considered a must by industry insiders), providing readers with the most comprehensive, integrated explanation of the craft of writing for the screen. No one better understands how all the elements of a screenplay fit together, and no one is better qualified to explain the "magic" of story construction and the relationship between structure and character than Robert McKee.

Who read this book also read:

  • Notes on a Cowardly Lion - The Biography of Bert Lahr - cover

    Notes on a Cowardly Lion - The...

    John Lahr

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A son’s funny, frank, and “endlessly fascinating” memoir of his father, Wizard of Oz star Bert Lahr (Harper’s Magazine).   Bert Lahr, best known for his role as the Cowardly Lion in The Wizard of Oz, made audiences laugh from burlesque stages to vaudeville to Broadway—and impressed them as Estragon in the American theater debut of Waiting for Godot. But reality wasn’t always funny for the legendary actor and comedian, or his family.   Drawing on personal recollections and the memories of his father’s colleagues, a veteran writer for the New Yorker and renowned theater critic brilliantly explores both the long and glorious professional career of a Hollywood icon and the experience of growing up with him. Here, in rich detail, is Bert Lahr evolving from a low-comic star to a Ziegfeld Follies sophisticate, hamming it up with the Scarecrow and Tin Man on the set of TheWizard of Oz, and garnering rich praise as he performed in Samuel Beckett’s masterpiece. But while Lahr could be equally raucous and polished in public, in private he was painfully insecure and self-absorbed, keeping his family at arm’s length as he quietly battled his inner demons. “A work of literature, a work of history, a subtle psychological study,” Notes on a Cowardly Lion is more than one man’s quest to understand his father. It is an extraordinary examination of a life on the stage and screen (Harper’s Magazine).   From a writer with an intimate knowledge of the theater and show business world, this is both a “frank and objective” (The New York Times Book Review) family memoir that will appeal to readers of Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking or Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son, and a “book-length love letter. To open it is to enter a life, to participate in a sensibility and, perhaps most important, to laugh. Uproariously” (Life).  
    Show book
  • Lust Erotic Art - A Journey Through 388 Erotic Works of Art - cover

    Lust Erotic Art - A Journey...

    Sylvia Carrilho, Benjamin Adamah

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    LUST takes you on an erotic trip along 388 masterpieces of sensuality. Large images, ranging from works of esthetic genius like Egon Schiele, to the clinical sketches of Tom Poulton, from the dominatrix drawings of Montorguiel and German Jim, to the masochistic gothic eroticism of Henry Fuseli. Nineteen different artist are depicted in their characteristic styles spanning five centuries of creativity with LUST as the timeless leitmotiv. This ebook offers the collector unique and rare material. Among them works of Friedrich Wilhelm Kleukens, Baldung-Grien’s German witches, less known work of Franz von Bayros, the satanic Félicien Rops and fetishist Bruno Schultz. Each artist comes with a short biographical introduction. LUST is a special of VAMzzz Sweet Rebel Magazine. Preview on www.vamzzz.com
    Show book
  • Screen Plays - cover

    Screen Plays

    David S. Cohen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this fascinating survey of contemporary screen craft, David Cohen of Script and Variety magazines leads readers down the long and harrowing road every screenplay takes from idea to script to screen. In interviews with Hollywood screenwriters from across the board—Oscar winners and novices alike—Cohen explores what sets apart the blockbuster successes from the downright disasters. 
    Tracing the fortunes of twenty-five films, including Troy, Erin Brockovich, Lost in Translation, and The Aviator, Cohen offers insider access to back lots and boardrooms, to studio heads, directors, and to the over-caffeinated screenwriters themselves. As the story of each film evolves from the drawing board to the big screen, Cohen proves that how a script is written, sold, developed, and filmed can be just as dramatic and intriguing as the movie itself—especially when the resulting movie is a fiasco.  
    Covering films of all kinds—from tongue-in-cheek romps like John Waters's A Dirty Shame to Oscar winners like Monster's Ball and The Hours—Screen Plays is an anecdote-filled, often inspiring, always revealing look at the alchemy of the movie business. With Cohen as your expert guide, Screen Plays exposes how and why certain films (such as Gladiator) become "tent poles," those runaway successes every studio needs to survive, and others become train wrecks. Full of critical clues on how to sell a script—and avoid seeing it destroyed before the director calls Action!—it's the one book every aspiring screenwriter will find irresistible.
    Show book
  • Complete Keyboard Player: New Songbook 1 - cover

    Complete Keyboard Player: New...

    Publications Wise

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Complete Keyboard Player: New Songbook #1 features 19 great songs, in standard notation with fingering, chord symbols and lyrics. 
     
     
    Ideal for practice or for Keyboard players who want to add to their repertoire. 
     
     
     
     
    Includes these songs: 
     
    5 Years Time [Noah And The Whale] 
    Big Yellow Taxi [Mitchell, Joni] 
    Chasing Cars [Snow Patrol] 
    Don't Look Back In Anger [Oasis] 
    Downtown [Clark, Petula] 
    I Fought The Law [Clash, The] 
    I Have A Dream [Abba] 
    I'm A Believer [Monkees,The] 
    Knockin' On Heaven's Door [Dylan, Bob] 
    La Bamba [Los Lobos] 
    Lean On Me [Withers, Bill] 
    My Grandfather's Clock [Traditional] 
    Rivers Of Babylon [Boney M] 
    Rolling In The Deep [Adele] 
    Sad Songs (Say So Much) [John, Elton] 
    Sweet Caroline [Diamond, Neil] 
    Twist And Shout [Beatles, The] 
    Wild Rover [Traditional] 
    Yellow [Coldplay]
    Show book
  • Genesis: The Complete Guide to their Music - cover

    Genesis: The Complete Guide to...

    Chris Welch

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The indispensable consumers' guide to the music of Genesis, one of the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1980s. An album by album, track by track rundown of the music of Genesis, including special sections detailing the work of members Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford, Tony Banks, Steve Hackett and Peter Gabriel. The guide features:An album by album analysisA full discography, from the earliest Johnathan King recordings, through the Gabriel years, to their final recordings as a trio.Details of when and where the music was recordedA special section concerning compilation, archive, reissue and bootleg releasesSixteen pages of full-colour images
    Show book
  • Sex in the Cities Vol 1 (Amsterdam) - cover

    Sex in the Cities Vol 1 (Amsterdam)

    Hans-Jürgen Döpp

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Amsterdam is not only famous for its canals, nor for its impressive collections of paintings by Rembrandt, Vermeer, and Van Gogh, but also for its museum dedicated to Venus, which welcomes more than 500,000 visitors per year. Travelers come from the world over, rushing to enter this unusual building next to the train station, called “The Temple of Venus”.
    Gathered since 1985 by Monique Van Marle and her father, this collection of erotic art work is exceptional in the quality of the objects, prints, and very old photographs. Disregarding voyeurism, this museum aims to be a privileged place exhibiting eroticism’s artistic history. The author leads us on a guided tour, supported by a rich and varied iconography.
    Show book