Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Treasure Island - cover

Treasure Island

Robert Louis Stevenson, ABCD Classics

Publisher: AB Books

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Treasure Island is an adventure novel by Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson, narrating a tale of "buccaneers and buried gold". Its influence is enormous on popular perceptions of pirates, including such elements as treasure maps marked with an "X", schooners, the Black Spot, tropical islands, and one-legged seamen bearing parrots on their shoulders.

Other books that might interest you

  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Silver Diaspora - A Journey up from Hudson Aristocracy - cover

    Silver Diaspora - A Journey up...

    Christopher T. Rand

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    At the outset, the members of author Christopher T. Rands family lived in a world of great wealth. They were among the richest people in the United States. But they then faced a dilemma: compelled to choose between staying on in their ancestral world or keeping up with the times in the nation around them and integrating themselves into the American mainstream. With each generation, the pressure on these individuals to choose between escape or immersion into the society became more and more intense. 
     
    
    In Silver Diaspora, Rand examines his familys roots in the northeastern United States and chronicles his journey through these times, against the backdrop of the family history. Embarking on a search of a better new world, Rands parents leave the East Coast and land in California. From here, this memoir follows Rand through college at Berkeley, travels abroad, work in the petroleum industry and his experiences as a writer. 
    
    
    Describing the people, places and experiences that impacted Rands life, Silver Diaspora provides one mans insight into the world in the latter two-thirds of the last century.
    Show book
  • The Client Decides: : A Litigator's Life - Jackie Onassis Vice President Spriro Agnew Donald Trump Roy Cohn and more - cover

    The Client Decides: : A...

    Martin London

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fascinating trial lawyer's memoir in which renowned litigator Martin London takes the reader inside cases of national importance, like the one involving his client Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in a precedent shattering First Amendment case, and representing her son John Kennedy Jr. as well. The breezy narrative also describes his trial work as part of the team that won a record-breaking jury award on behalf of valiant physicians who refused to buckle under to the murder threats of a group of anti-abortion extremists, and the author reveals why the government’s criminal case against his client Vice President Spiro Agnew ended the way it did. London also represented Agnew’s predecessor, Vice President Hubert Humphrey in the political-legal battle that led to Humphrey’s winning the1968  Democratic nomination but losing the election to Richard Nixon. For a change of pace,  London reveals the strategy and tactics that produced a record jury verdict in a nationally followed case against CBS and its Chicago TV anchor Walter Jacobson. That victory was affirmed all the way up to the Supreme Court. In another matter, the author describes his defense of his lawyer-friend who was sued by Donald Trump for $105,000,000! London’s work in that case was so successful, that in the end, Trump paid London’s fees! The book also reports the details of the author’s pro bono work that led to the disbarment of Roy Cohn, and the removal and sanction of unfit judges and lawyers. A great assortment of other criminal and civil cases are described, some of which were legally and physically challenging, and some are just interesting and funny. Indeed, throughout the entire book, London displays an easygoing sense of humor, no matter how serious the subject. Finally, London gives a quick view of the events leading up to his to career as a trial lawyer, including his legal and other adventures during his tours of duty in the U.S Army, and the unsuspecting help he received in that process, from The Godfather author Mario Puzo. In sum, this book is an inviting read for lawyers and non-lawyers alike. 
     
    Show book
  • When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea: A Memoir - cover

    When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea:...

    David Nunan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whoever coined the phrase 'the middle of nowhere' must have had Broken Hill in mind, because that's where it was -- and still is, although the Road to Nowhere is now all-weather tarmac. Seven hundred miles due west of Sydney. Three hundred and thirty miles northeast of Adelaide. It sprawls about the low range of lode-bearing hills, and, when I was a child, was dominated by the artificial mountains of skimp, grey silt-like stuff that was left over once the ore was extracted from the mines. Most of the skimp dumps are gone now, reprocessed, when extraction techniques improved, for the ore they still contained. To me the town is all the poorer for their demise.
    
    	It was here that the mighty BHP-Billiton, largest resource company in the world, was born. It is also where I first saw the light of day -- although, unlike BHP (Broken Hill Proprietary Ltd.), my appearance in this place at that time was purely coincidental. This collection of stories is a memoir of what it was like to grow up in Broken Hill in the 1950s and 1960s. It was prompted by a question from one of my daughters, who grew up in a very different time and place. 'What was it like?' she asked. 'Back there. Back then.'
    
    	* * * 
    	This is acclaimed linguist and author David Nunan’s fascinating account of growing up in the Australian outback in the 1950s and 1960s.
    
    	(Publisher’s note: Spellings and vocabulary are Australian English; a glossary of terms that may be unfamiliar to North Americans is provided at the back of the book.)
    Show book
  • The Little Book of Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    The Little Book of Mary Queen of...

    Mickey Mayhew

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mary Queen of Scots is perhaps one of the most controversial and divisive monarchs in regal history. Her story reads like a particularly spicy novel, with murder, kidnap, adultery, assassination and execution. To some she is one of the most wronged women in history, a pawn used and abused by her family in the great monarchical marriage game; to others, a murderous adulteress who committed regicide to marry her lover and then spent years in captivity for the crime, endlessly plotting the demise of her cousin, Queen Elizabeth I of England. This book covers the entire breath-taking scope of her amazing life and examines the immense cultural legacy she left behind, from the Schiller play of the 1800s to the CW teen drama Reign. Temptress, terrorist, or tragic queen, this book will give you the lowdown on one of history’s most misunderstood monarchs.
    Show book
  • Tutankhamun - Egypt’s Boy Pharaoh - cover

    Tutankhamun - Egypt’s Boy Pharaoh

    50MINUTES.COM

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Keen to learn but short on time? Get to grips with the life and legacy of Tutankhamun in next to no time with this concise guide.50Minutes.com provides a clear and engaging analysis of the life and legacy of Tutankhamun, Egypt’s boy pharaoh. In spite of a brief reign that was cut short when the young sovereign died at the age of just 20, Tutankhamun is now one of the most famous pharaohs of all time and has captivated the popular imagination. His enduring impact stems from the discovery of his tomb and the opulent treasure within by the Egyptologist Howard Carter in 1922, as well as from the mysterious curse that allegedly resulted in the untimely deaths of several members of the expedition. Modern scientific techniques have allowed researchers to piece together information about his life and death, giving us a better understanding than ever before of this ancient Egyptian sovereign.In just 50 minutes you will:•	Learn about Tutankhamun’s main actions during his brief reign and their impact•	Find out about the discovery of his tomb in 1922 and the information it has given us about ancient Egypt•	Understand the mysterious deaths linked to Tutankhamun’s tomb and the science behind themABOUT 50MINUTES.COM | History & Culture50MINUTES.COM will enable you to quickly understand the main events, people, conflicts and discoveries from world history that have shaped the world we live in today. Our publications present the key information on a wide variety of topics in a quick and accessible way that is guaranteed to save you time on your journey of discovery.
    Show book