Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Gremlin's Grampa - cover

The Gremlin's Grampa

Robert L. Fish

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A quartet of killings threaten to derail Lieutenant James Reardon’s relationship—and end his life Jan has been dating James Reardon long enough to know that she wants to be with him forever, but she will not marry him as long as he’s a cop. She has spent too many nights lying awake, afraid that this will be the case that gets him killed, and she cannot make that her whole life. But she and Reardon both know that death is the only thing that could make him take off his badge—and for this hard-boiled San Francisco detective, death may come sooner than he thinks.   It starts with a stabbing in the Embarcadero. A particularly sleazy bartender has gotten knifed in the gut, and he is dead before the cops arrive. Three more killings follow, and each time the victim is one of the city’s worst criminals. Is it a vendetta, or a vigilante? Reardon will risk his life to find out.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Sinner - cover

    The Sinner

    Petra Hammesfahr

    • 0
    • 20
    • 1
    Hailed as Germany’s Patricia Highsmith, Hammesfahr has written a dark spellbinding novel which stood at the top of the bestseller list for 15 months. It has been reprinted seven times and sold over 600,000 copies at home. 
    Cora Bender killed a man on a sunny summer afternoon by the lake and in full view of her family and friends. Why? What could have caused this quiet, lovable young mother to stab a stranger in the throat, again and again, until she was pulled off his body? For the local police it was an open-and-shut case. Cora confessed; there was no shortage of witnesses. But Police Commissioner Rudolf Grovian refused to close the file and started his own maverick investigation. So begins the slow unravelling of Cora's past, a harrowing descent into a woman's private hell.
    Show book
  • A Soldier's Revenge - A Will Cochrane Novel - cover

    A Soldier's Revenge - A Will...

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Former intelligence agent Will Cochrane must evade US authorities hunting him down for a murder he didn’t commit in this captivating sixth entry in the acclaimed action-thriller series. 
    Former operative Will Cochrane wakes up in New York’s Waldorf Astoria and is horrified to see blood on his hands—something he remembers absolutely nothing about. When he then finds a woman murdered in his bathroom he knows he’s stepped into a wilderness of terror that is far more dangerous than anything he’s ever faced. 
    With no memory of the night before nor of the unfortunate woman, Will believes he is being framed and needs to outrun the police who will be looking for him very soon. Until this moment, Will has been on the precipice of a new life, one outside the intelligence service, and one that includes fatherhood. He’s agreed to adopt the twin sons of his former colleague and Navy SEAL operative Roger Koenig, and had been on his way to pick them up before he’d awakened to the carnage in New York. 
    Will knows his only chance to clear his name is to find the real killer while he’s still free. But he also has to find the twins, suspecting that they’re in danger as well. In Virginia, he discovers one boy alive and his brother missing and most likely kidnapped. What he also finds is the killer’s trail in the form of a man’s voice, which Will recognizes and believes belongs to an old nemesis, a Russian agent he has tangled with before. With local police, the FBI, and even his friends pursuing him, the clever and ruthless operative must track down his adversary, save the boys, and prove his innocence before it’s too late.  
    A superb blend of action and thrills that will keep readers on the edge of their seats, A Soldier’s Revenge is perfect for fans of Brad Thor, Daniel Silva, and Lee Child.
    Show book
  • Florida Firefight - cover

    Florida Firefight

    Randy Wayne White

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A disgraced Chicago cop launches a one-man war against organized crime in this novel by the New York Times–bestselling author of the Doc Ford series.  A man holds twelve children hostage at gunpoint. Across the street, James Hawker dangles from a skyscraper, watching the terrorist through a sniper’s scope. Hawker has a shot, and he wants to take it, but the police brass say no. By the time he gets permission, it will be far too late. The terrorist opens fire, killing two of the children before Hawker can take him out. When the smoke clears, the madman is dead, and Hawker’s career is toast. No longer a cop, he’s about to become America’s deadliest defender.   The father of one of the murdered children hires Hawker as a private vigilante, and gives him an unlimited bankroll to wage a nationwide fight against organized crime. The first battle will be fought in Florida, where drug smugglers have taken root like a cancer—and Hawker will have to cut them out. From the author of Mangrove Lightning and the Hannah Smith series, who “raises the bar of the action thriller,” this is a hard-charging story of one man’s quest for justice (The Miami Herald).  Florida Firefight is the 1st book in the Hawker series, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • Acts of Nature - cover

    Acts of Nature

    Jonathon King

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A PI’s vacation in the Everglades is disrupted by a deadly hurricane—and dangerous criminals—in this riveting read by an Edgar Award–winning author.   The peace and quiet of Max Freeman and Sherry Richards’s vacation ends abruptly when Hurricane Simone slams into the Sunshine State. Sherry suffers a devastating injury in the storm, and the two are left stranded in the swamp.   But as they struggle to find help, they’re thwarted by not only opportunistic crooks looking to benefit from the disaster, but also hired muscle from a powerful oil company hoping to protect a lethal secret—regardless of who stands in the way—in this “survival-of-the-fittest tale” by a master of mystery and suspense (Newsday).This ebook contains an illustrated biography of the author featuring never-before-seen photos.
    Show book
  • Nightwatcher - cover

    Nightwatcher

    Wendy Corsi Staub

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “If you like Mary Higgins Clark, you’ll love Wendy Corsi Staub.” —Lisa Jackson, bestselling author of Devious 
    One of the most exciting of the new breed of thriller and suspense writers, Wendy Corsi Staub asks, “Are you ever truly safe...even in your own home?” With Nightwatcher, the acclaimed, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Hell to Pay delivers a ripped-from-the-headlines masterwork of suspense, the first book in an electrifying new series. Intense, powerful, and refreshingly original, Nightwatcher returns to the site of America’s worst national nightmare—New York City on September 11, 2001—as a serial killer, plying his bloody trade in  the chaos following the 9/11 terrorist attacks, operates unnoticed by everyone…except for one frightened woman who has seen his face. Author Lee Child has called her work, “solid gold suspense,” and any reader who’s ever stayed up late, devouring the novels of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Gardner with every light on in the house, should prepare to lose even more sleep over Wendy Corsi Staub’s Nightwatcher.
    Show book
  • Ark - cover

    Ark

    Charles McCarry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Earth’s wealthiest man attempts to save humanity from an impending apocalypseThe planet’s first and only trillionaire, Henry Peel, did not make his fortune by being a fool. A gifted inventor and scientist, he possesses an imagination on the scale of history’s greatest thinkers, and he has turned it to the problem of Earth’s core. Two decades ago, scientists learned that the core spins faster than the rest of the planet, storing up a cache of energy that, if released, could cause an earthquake that would obliterate human life. To begin mankind anew, Henry Peel is going to lead us to the stars. He gathers the world’s leading physicists and engineers and asks them to design a spaceship large enough to safeguard a sample of humanity and durable enough to survive a thousand-year voyage. Money is no object, but time is short. The apocalypse is on its way.
    Show book