Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Gremlin's Grampa - cover

The Gremlin's Grampa

Robert L. Fish

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A quartet of killings threaten to derail Lieutenant James Reardon’s relationship—and end his life Jan has been dating James Reardon long enough to know that she wants to be with him forever, but she will not marry him as long as he’s a cop. She has spent too many nights lying awake, afraid that this will be the case that gets him killed, and she cannot make that her whole life. But she and Reardon both know that death is the only thing that could make him take off his badge—and for this hard-boiled San Francisco detective, death may come sooner than he thinks.   It starts with a stabbing in the Embarcadero. A particularly sleazy bartender has gotten knifed in the gut, and he is dead before the cops arrive. Three more killings follow, and each time the victim is one of the city’s worst criminals. Is it a vendetta, or a vigilante? Reardon will risk his life to find out.

Who read this book also read:

  • Taming the Alien - cover

    Taming the Alien

    Ken Bruen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Under assault by the criminal underworld, two cops strike backThey call him the Alien. A petty hood with a habit of battering his enemies with a baseball bat, he earned his name for carrying out a hit while watching Ridley Scott’s sci-fi classic—and sticking around to finish the film afterwards. The Alien’s latest target is Detective Sergeant Brant, an old-fashioned policeman whose easy brutality has won him no love on London’s south side. The Alien breaks into Brant’s flat, clobbers him with his Louisville slugger, and tortures him until he passes out. When Brant awakes, the Alien is gone, and the cop has a thirst for blood. With the help of his partner, the cancer-stricken Chief Inspector Roberts, Brant will lay waste to London. But when his vendetta leads to something more fearsome than a bat-wielding psychopath, he’ll wonder if perhaps he should have stayed on the floor.
    Show book
  • Shadow Burns - Preternatural Affairs #4 - cover

    Shadow Burns - Preternatural...

    SM Reine

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    When more than a dozen people die at a retirement home, the official story is carbon monoxide poisoning. Cèsar Hawke is convinced the reason is less mundane and more infernal. But that’s his job. As an agent working for the Office of Preternatural Affairs, he’s always looking for supernatural answers to deadly questions.
    
     
    Isobel Stonecrow agrees to help him find the truth. With her powers of necrocognition, she can speak to the dead and get the real story.
    
     
    But when they return to the crime scene, they find a lot more than cadavers. They find a nightmare that they can’t escape—a nightmare from Isobel’s past, which even she can’t completely remember thanks to the contract that signed away her soul.
    
     
    Cèsar will have to disinter Isobel’s secrets to save her. He’ll learn who Isobel used to be, what she’s done, and the price she paid…no matter how deadly the knowledge might be.
    Show book
  • The First Deadly Sin - cover

    The First Deadly Sin

    Lawrence Sanders

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the first novel in Lawrence Sanders’s bestselling Deadly Sins series, New York cop Edward Delaney chases a serial killer who’s armed with a mysterious weaponNew York Police Department Captain Edward Delaney is called to the scene of a brutal murder. A Brooklyn councilman was struck from behind, the back of his skull punctured and crushed with an unknown weapon. The victim wasn’t robbed, and there’s no known motive. The commissioner appoints Delaney to head up a clandestine task force, but soon this effort ignites an internecine war of departmental backstabbing.   Distracted by the serious illness of his wife, Barbara, Delaney begins his secret investigation. Then the killer claims another victim—slain in the exact same way, leaving the strange puncture wound. As more young men are found murdered, Delaney starts putting the pieces together. Soon, he’s faced with a cop’s dilemma: He knows who the killer is, but the man is untouchable. That’s when Delaney lays a trap to bring a monster to justice . . .
    Show book
  • Ashes and Arsenic - Preternatural Affairs #6 - cover

    Ashes and Arsenic -...

    SM Reine

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Agent Cèsar Hawke is in his element when he’s investigating magical crime. And with his boss out of town, Cèsar gets to pick which cases he works on. He’s bent on doing nothing involving demons, zombies, or fallen angels this time. Instead, he’s going to find the witch who used magic to rob a bank.
    
     
    Easy stuff. Cèsar plans to catch the perp before his boss gets home.
    
     
    But when he digs into the robbery, he finds much more than missing money. He also finds a deadly turf battle between two covens and a trail of bloody violence.
    
     
    A trail that leads directly to his brother, Domingo Hawke.
    
     
    Domingo wants Cèsar’s help taking down his enemies. Forget that Cèsar works for the Office of Preternatural Affairs, forget allegiances, forget pesky “contracts” and “conduct.” Domingo is calling in a favor and the Hawke family is too tight to refuse.
    
     
    Blood is the most powerful ingredient in any witch’s spell, after all…
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book
  • The Great Bravura - A Novel - cover

    The Great Bravura - A Novel

    Jill Dearman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Since adolescence, Bravura and salt of the earth Susie have been partners in magic and best friends, as well as occasional bedmates. But when the two performers hire the mysterious and alluring Lena as a third banana to jazz up the act, Bravura falls madly in love. Lena believes in magic—and not just the rabbit-out-of-a hat kind. She encourages Bravura to believe in her own supernatural powers, and when Susie balks, conflict ensues. Things really go south during the classic “Disappearing Box” act, when Susie disappears for real. With her pal presumed dead, and Bravura the prime suspect, the magician must act quickly to find Susie—hopefully alive! To prove her innocence, Bravura must uncover the holes in her own story—even if it means incriminating herself, and her precious Lena, in the process.
    Show book